I think it sounds like you have sound plan. I don’t think I will spend nearly as much time in the Pacific next game as the allies early because I have seen that Germany becomes a beast if it is allowed to have it’s way with Russia. I agree that you will have to most likely come back to save the day in the Pacific at a certain point with the US but hopefully you will have accomplished your goals in Europe by that time with the US.
US Atlantic to Pacific Convoy - Alpha +.2
Rule: The United States Navy, while being neutral, has the following movement restrictions. It can only move to sea zones that are adjacent to US territories in the Atlantic (more specifically Sea zones 121, 101, 89 and 64). US warships (not transports) may also conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102. In the Pacific it can only end naval movements in sea zones that are not adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories and islands.
Question: Can the US send Atlantic warships and transports to the Pacific while being neutral? In other words, can a ship go from sea zone 101 through the Panama Canal and end up in sea zone 11 while not at war with the Axis powers?