Soviet-Japan pact questions…



  • I know the Soviets and Japs have their own rules as far as War goes.  But I have the following questions to make sure.

    1 - Japan or USSR attakcs.  They get 12 IPC immediately or at the collect income phase of their next turn?

    2 - If Japan attacks USSR, does it bring the US or UK into the War on the Pacific side?

    3 - If No with the US, does Japan still collect their 10 ipc’s for not being at War?

    Thanks
    Doc



  • 1.)  They recieve the N.O. when war is declared, and that is immediately.

    2.)  No.  Only if you attack India or Anzac will it bring the US into the war early.

    3.)  I’m assuming you mean Japan at war with Russia, yes, Japan collects the +10 IPC N.O. when not at war with the USA.  You will even collect the +10 IPC if India and Anzac declare war on you!



  • @Dark_Destroyer:

    1.)  They recieve the N.O. when war is declared, and that is immediately.

    No, they don’t.  They receive it at the start of their next turn.  That is, if Russia attacks Japan, Japan collects 12 IPCs at the beginning of Japan’s next turn.  Or, if Japan attacks Russia, Russia collects 12 IPCs at the beginning of Russia’s next turn (AFTER GERMANY)

    This is specifically written this way so that Japan cannot attack Russia to inflate Russias income only to have Germany invade Moscow and capture an additional 12 IPCs (which is the most common occurance of this exploit, though theoretically it could work against Japan as well).

    When the Soviet Union becomes at War with Japan
    4. Collect 12 IPCs, once, at the beginning of the turn following an unprovoked declaration of war by Japan on the Soviet Union. Theme: Recognized national emergency.

    When Japan becomes at War with the Soviet Union
    2. Collect 12 IPCs, once, at the beginning of the turn following an unprovoked declaration of war by the Soviet Union on Japan. Theme: Recognized national emergency.

    @Dark_Destroyer:

    3.)  I’m assuming you mean Japan at war with Russia, yes, Japan collects the +10 IPC N.O. when not at war with the USA.  You will even collect the +10 IPC if India and Anzac declare war on you!

    Also, Japan is completely free to declare war on France and as long as they don’t attack FIC (instead they, say, sink French Ships), they will continue to collect the 10 IPCs until one of the restrictions is met (unprovoked war on UK/ANZAC, war with US, or attacks FIC specifically).



  • Moot points kcdzim.

    If Moscow falls and Japan hasn’t even attacked Russia yet… game is over anyway, regardless of the 12 IPC.  More after than not, you’re going to forget about the bonus when it gets to Russia’s turn, so it’s best to do it after you get attacked !!

    No points of interest declaring war on France, the Destroyer over near Africa takes to long to get over to be a problem with the rules.



  • @Dark_Destroyer:

    No points of interest declaring war on France, the Destroyer over near Africa takes to long to get over to be a problem with the rules.

    What about an early Japanese landing on New Hebrides if you’re looking into invading Australia?



  • @Dark_Destroyer:

    Moot points kcdzim.

    If Moscow falls and Japan hasn’t even attacked Russia yet… game is over anyway, regardless of the 12 IPC.  More after than not, you’re going to forget about the bonus when it gets to Russia’s turn, so it’s best to do it after you get attacked !!

    It’s not a moot point.  According to the national objective rule YOU described here’s the predicament:
    Germany is going to attack and potentially take Moscow next round.  Japan knows this, and attacks.  According to you, Russia would immediately collect 12 IPCs.  Germany attacks, conquers and receives that 12 IPCs.  That is not the intent of the rules (because this ended up being common when the IPC bonus was introduced and was worded as you described).

    That’s an exploit, and it’s specifically written such that you cannot do that.  As for forgetting it, any reasonably competant gaming group will set aside the money for collection at start of turn - not simply forget to grab the money at all.  And more often than not, when either Russia or Japan attacks each other, they’re probably not likely to be in a position to lose their capital next round, so yes, in theory you could just immediately add it to your pool.

    However, in the event that they are going to lose their capital, by letter of the law, it’s not part of the nation’s IPC pool until start of their next turn.  So it’s not an immediate bonus provided to the conquerer.  In fact, if they lose their capital, they don’t collect that objective at all, as nations that have lost their capital cannot collect any income (only capture).

    @Dark_Destroyer:

    No points of interest declaring war on France, the Destroyer over near Africa takes to long to get over to be a problem with the rules.

    As Hobbes mentioned, New Hebrides.  But also, the French destroyer may be moved to India or be used as a potential block against Japan.  By declaring war, it can no longer move through a seazone with a japanese ship, and it could be attacked alone if it ends a turn in a seazone with a british ship.  Just because it’s not likely to happen doesn’t mean it can’t.



  • What destroyer was trying to say, if russia falls, the axis are on the verge of winning anyway, usually.



  • @Dark_Destroyer:

    Moot points kcdzim.

    If Moscow falls and Japan hasn’t even attacked Russia yet… game is over anyway, regardless of the 12 IPC.  More after than not, you’re going to forget about the bonus when it gets to Russia’s turn, so it’s best to do it after you get attacked !!

    No points of interest declaring war on France, the Destroyer over near Africa takes to long to get over to be a problem with the rules.

    Funny you should mention this, because we just played a global game where the Allies focused entirely on Japan. Japan was all but finished, and Germany was in position to take Moscow, so Japan declared war. (We misunderstood the rules and gave Russia an immediate bonus).



  • It is a moot point, and I stand by it.

    By your situational irony scenario’s, lets say Japan declares war on Russia the turn Germany takes Moscow.  After Germany takes Moscow lets say USA takes Germany/Berlin on the same turn!!  Uh oh!  The allies just wasted a good chance to collect the IPC’s Russia had, BUT, by YOUR method, the bonus totally goes down the crapper and is a MOOT POINT.  Because if you’re talking about taking capitals with ease to a point of if Moscow falls so easily than Berlin can just as easily get taking by USA/UK to get that bonus back.

    Pelanderfunk, it doesn’t matter in your game.  It could actually work against Germany.  He see’s that 12 IPC go to you, and Germany could make a risk that he shouldn’t.  Either way there is no reason not to give the bonus right away.  Played enough games of global to forget many things, and waiting to give Russia money would be one of them for sure!


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 1
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
  • 15
  • 6
  • 7
  • 13
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

45
Online

13.9k
Users

34.2k
Topics

1.3m
Posts