• Has anyone tried a neutral crush with the Allies with Alpha 2 Rules?  I am new to Alpha 2 (played as Allies for the first time yesterday.  It had some interesting effects but I only was 5-6 turns in.

With Russia, I acted like I was pulling back initially and Japan dispersed.  I stepped back in and took the neutral Mongolian territory that touches 3? Chinese ones as well as Manchuria.  I instantly threatened several territories and had a northern Chinese Army “Spring up.”

Since Russia was kept neutral so long for Sea Lion on G4 (friend prepped by dropping in Scotland G3 and then landed and attacked G4 with overwhelming odds) .  I poised near Finland and took it.  Then assaulted Sweden from land and sea leaving one “enemy” true neutral convert.  The same turn, I also rushed into Turkey and took it with a large mechanized Russian force (germany was occupied in UK).

Later the same turn, I swept into Spain with the US amphibiously.  This approach opened up many new approaches.  However, it is predicated on a quick takeout of neutral so as not give the Axis free standing armies.  It had to all come down very quickly.

My question:  This was novel and unexpected.  Has anyone had any success with this in a long game, or was this a fluke?  I note that my opponent is very, very good.  He has meetup groups (many opponents) and studies the game and boards on his own to the exclusion of other hobbies.  Thanks for any info.  Please refrain from the infantile “you are a douche” for trying something different.  Feel free to use “you are a douche” comments if you have something concrete to back it up other than general “that is dumb, you will get crushed” retorts.  I am actually interested in getting insight into the game so support any negative or positives.  If you have never tried it, please make this clear.