Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Russian Neutrality



  • Can Russia invade pro Allied and Pro Axis Neutrals before they are at war with Germany? I don’t see anything in the rules to forbid it, only that if they didn’t conquer a pro Axis neutral at the end of the battle they could convert to Axis pieces and then I’d have to go to war with them in order to attack the territory.

    Edit: Don’t post without first making sure spelling is correct.



  • I believe so if they are at war with Japan. However neutrals cannot invade other neutrals when at peace.



  • I didn’t see anywhere that neutrals cannot invade other neutrals. If that is the case I would think that Russia could not invade the middle east, as the alpha 2 rules state:

    3. If the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power. In other words, war with Japan lifts those restrictions from the USSR on the Pacific map only, and war with Germany and/or Italy lifts those restrictions on the Europe map only.

    I did find that combat moves are labelled “at war powers only” so it would seem that you cannot invade a pro Axis nuetral as Russia, since that would be a combat moves. I gues it would make sense that they cannot move into a pro allies neutral as they are not yet an ally.



  • I believe Russia is able to move into and activate pro-allied neutral territories, but they can’t invade pro-axis territories until they are at war. Activation of a pro -allied territory for Russia is done in NCM.



  • @Geist:

    Can Russia invade pro Allied and Pro Axis Neutrals before they are at war with Germany? I don’t see anything in the rules to forbid it, only that if they didn’t conquer a pro Axis neutral at the end of the battle they could convert to Axis pieces and then I’d have to go to war with them in order to attack the territory.

    Edit: Don’t post without first making sure spelling is correct.

    I’ll let you sweat the spelling. I just had a rules question.



  • I disagree, I’m pretty sure that being neutral means you get the collect income, nincombat move, and mobalize units phases in your turn. No more, no less.



  • Ya until russia is at war in europe, russia cant take anything, same with pacific.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    OOB Russia declares war on Japan R1 and can take any and all neutrals at that time.  Also R can team up with UK immediately, sharing territories at will from R1 (OOB is a joke compared to Alpha2).

    Alpha2 Russia can’t take any neutrals until at war with the Axis power on that side of the globe.  So R can’t take NW Persia until at war with Germany/I, and that timing is of course totally up to G/I.


  • Official Answers

    Per the Official Rules Clarifications, the rule is the same in OOB as it is in Alpha.

    The Soviet Union, due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, was in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers.  As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see Powers That Begin the Game Neutral, pg. 15) on the other map.  In other words, a state of war with Japan lifts those restrictions from the USSR on the Pacific map only, and a state of war with Germany and/or Italy lifts those restrictions on the Europe map only.



  • @Krieghund:

    Per the Official Rules Clarifications, the rule is the same in OOB as it is in Alpha.

    The Soviet Union, due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, was in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers.  As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see Powers That Begin the Game Neutral, pg. 15) on the other map.  In other words, a state of war with Japan lifts those restrictions from the USSR on the Pacific map only, and a state of war with Germany and/or Italy lifts those restrictions on the Europe map only.

    So if I read that correctly;

    Russian can NOT enter any neutral territories on the EUROPE map until it is at war with either Germany or Italy (or of course, both) but it CAN enter neutral territories on the PACIFIC map (which are very few and completely pointless anyway).



  • Of course it depends on which version your playing because it was edited in Alpha 2.



  • @gamegeek:

    @Krieghund:

    Per the Official Rules Clarifications, the rule is the same in OOB as it is in Alpha.

    The Soviet Union, due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, was in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers.  As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see Powers That Begin the Game Neutral, pg. 15) on the other map.  In other words, a state of war with Japan lifts those restrictions from the USSR on the Pacific map only, and a state of war with Germany and/or Italy lifts those restrictions on the Europe map only.

    So if I read that correctly;

    Russian can NOT enter any neutral territories on the EUROPE map until it is at war with either Germany or Italy (or of course, both) but it CAN enter neutral territories on the PACIFIC map (which are very few and completely pointless anyway).

    Only when its at war with Japan



  • @ghr2:

    @gamegeek:

    @Krieghund:

    Per the Official Rules Clarifications, the rule is the same in OOB as it is in Alpha.

    The Soviet Union, due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, was in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers.  As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see Powers That Begin the Game Neutral, pg. 15) on the other map.  In other words, a state of war with Japan lifts those restrictions from the USSR on the Pacific map only, and a state of war with Germany and/or Italy lifts those restrictions on the Europe map only.

    So if I read that correctly;

    Russian can NOT enter any neutral territories on the EUROPE map until it is at war with either Germany or Italy (or of course, both) but it CAN enter neutral territories on the PACIFIC map (which are very few and completely pointless anyway).

    Only when its at war with Japan

    I knew I was missing something!



  • By the way welcome to the forums Gamegeek. Have fun and don’t mess anything up  😄



  • @Pvt.Ryan:

    By the way welcome to the forums Gamegeek. Have fun and don’t mess anything up  😄

    Thank you very much.  I’ve been lurking for a while.  🙂


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games

48
Online

13.3k
Users

33.5k
Topics

1.3m
Posts