Sgt. Wonko's & TMTM's 1940 Global Module for ABattlemap



  • @Cmdr:

    @Stoney229:

    @Cmdr:

    @TMTM:

    I’ve completed Alpha +3. It will overwrite the current module… so if you have games you still want to play as alpha 2 you should wait.

    www.axisandallies.us/T40.gim.zip - Alpha +.3

    Let me know any mistakes in the module as this is a beta version and recommend only to advanced users of abattlemap.

    Okay, so to just obliterate Alpha 2 (copy paste the directory under a different heading perhaps, so you can go back) just copy paste this new directory over the old one and go?

    If you don’t want them both installed simultaneously, just change the name of your old T40.gim, and put the new one in the ABattlemap folder with all the others and you’re good to go.  Don’t try opening the Alpha 2 one tho unless you reverse what you did (changing the name and putting in Alpha3), b/c it will probably crash ABattlemap.

    Wait, so if I change T40.gim to Alpha2.gim and then copy the new T40.gim into the Abattlemap directory, I cannot open the old Alpha 2 files?

    correct, you would not be able to open the alpha2 module (unless you make some changes to it: name the .GIM something with 3 or fewer characters and recreate or delete the start.aam)

    @Cmdr:

    I should be able too, they would just have the tiles slightly askew because of the changes to the map.bmp.  Right?

    since both modules have the same .GIM name, I’d guess you’re right that your old Alpha2 save files would open in the new module.  try it and let us know what you find.  perhaps this is why tmtm chose to keep the name.



  • @TMTM:

    im going to make this easy for everyone and just package alpha 3 as T43.gim and no overwrite problems and you can have both alpha2 and alpha3. New download file coming in a few minutes…

    http://www.axisandallies.us/T43.gim.zip

    probably a good idea.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    I dont think you understood what I was asking.

    I have a file that used the Alpha 2 map from the original T40.gim.  If I overwrite that directory will I be able to open the file but it will be on the new map?  I suspect the new map only changed the bottom charts, right?  The actual map itself shouldnt have changed any, just removing tiles from Start.aam or whatever the extension is.  So in theory, if I open an older file it will just have the bmp map under it changed all the tiles etc should still be where they are.



  • @Cmdr:

    I dont think you understood what I was asking.

    I have a file that used the Alpha 2 map from the original T40.gim.  If I overwrite that directory will I be able to open the file but it will be on the new map?  I suspect the new map only changed the bottom charts, right?  The actual map itself shouldnt have changed any, just removing tiles from Start.aam or whatever the extension is.  So in theory, if I open an older file it will just have the bmp map under it changed all the tiles etc should still be where they are.

    right… your old map files will open with the updated module T40.gim… just the NO chart is updated and a few small changes to the unit price chart and turn order chart. The Map/territory area is unchanged



  • @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    I dont think you understood what I was asking.

    I have a file that used the Alpha 2 map from the original T40.gim.  If I overwrite that directory will I be able to open the file but it will be on the new map?  I suspect the new map only changed the bottom charts, right?  The actual map itself shouldnt have changed any, just removing tiles from Start.aam or whatever the extension is.  So in theory, if I open an older file it will just have the bmp map under it changed all the tiles etc should still be where they are.

    right… your old map files will open with the updated module T40.gim… just the NO chart is updated and a few small changes to the unit price chart and turn order chart. The Map/territory area is unchanged

    Wait… the turn order is changed?  if you changed the order of toolpieces to reflect a different turn order, then the pieces in her save file will be “swapped” also.  does that make sense?



  • @Stoney229:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    I dont think you understood what I was asking.

    I have a file that used the Alpha 2 map from the original T40.gim.  If I overwrite that directory will I be able to open the file but it will be on the new map?  I suspect the new map only changed the bottom charts, right?  The actual map itself shouldnt have changed any, just removing tiles from Start.aam or whatever the extension is.  So in theory, if I open an older file it will just have the bmp map under it changed all the tiles etc should still be where they are.

    right… your old map files will open with the updated module T40.gim… just the NO chart is updated and a few small changes to the unit price chart and turn order chart. The Map/territory area is unchanged

    Wait… the turn order is changed?  if you changed the order of toolpieces to reflect a different turn order, then the pieces in her save file will be “swapped” also.  does that make sense?

    i didnt mess with the toolpeices… i figured that wasn’t a big deal… I just changed the ipc chart at the top. This is still a work in progress… but totally workable and players can make the adjustment to the units/flags… I didn’t want to re-setup all the units… im lazy when it comes to that stuff.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @Stoney229:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    I dont think you understood what I was asking.

    I have a file that used the Alpha 2 map from the original T40.gim.  If I overwrite that directory will I be able to open the file but it will be on the new map?  I suspect the new map only changed the bottom charts, right?  The actual map itself shouldnt have changed any, just removing tiles from Start.aam or whatever the extension is.  So in theory, if I open an older file it will just have the bmp map under it changed all the tiles etc should still be where they are.

    right… your old map files will open with the updated module T40.gim… just the NO chart is updated and a few small changes to the unit price chart and turn order chart. The Map/territory area is unchanged

    Wait… the turn order is changed?  if you changed the order of toolpieces to reflect a different turn order, then the pieces in her save file will be “swapped” also.  does that make sense?

    Yea, I’ve had that problem myself when screwing with toolpiece colors etc.  I can live with British pieces on Japan and Japanese pieces on England for the one or two games left to complete in Alpha 2. ^_^

    Okay.  So I can overwrite without any ill effect really, that’s all I was worried about.



  • @Cmdr:

    @Stoney229:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    I dont think you understood what I was asking.

    I have a file that used the Alpha 2 map from the original T40.gim.  If I overwrite that directory will I be able to open the file but it will be on the new map?  I suspect the new map only changed the bottom charts, right?  The actual map itself shouldnt have changed any, just removing tiles from Start.aam or whatever the extension is.  So in theory, if I open an older file it will just have the bmp map under it changed all the tiles etc should still be where they are.

    right… your old map files will open with the updated module T40.gim… just the NO chart is updated and a few small changes to the unit price chart and turn order chart. The Map/territory area is unchanged

    Wait… the turn order is changed?  if you changed the order of toolpieces to reflect a different turn order, then the pieces in her save file will be “swapped” also.  does that make sense?

    Yea, I’ve had that problem myself when screwing with toolpiece colors etc.  I can live with British pieces on Japan and Japanese pieces on England for the one or two games left to complete in Alpha 2. ^_^

    Okay.  So I can overwrite without any ill effect really, that’s all I was worried about.

    yes, sounds like you’re clear



  • @Cmdr:

    @Stoney229:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    I dont think you understood what I was asking.

    I have a file that used the Alpha 2 map from the original T40.gim.  If I overwrite that directory will I be able to open the file but it will be on the new map?  I suspect the new map only changed the bottom charts, right?  The actual map itself shouldnt have changed any, just removing tiles from Start.aam or whatever the extension is.  So in theory, if I open an older file it will just have the bmp map under it changed all the tiles etc should still be where they are.

    right… your old map files will open with the updated module T40.gim… just the NO chart is updated and a few small changes to the unit price chart and turn order chart. The Map/territory area is unchanged

    Wait… the turn order is changed?  if you changed the order of toolpieces to reflect a different turn order, then the pieces in her save file will be “swapped” also.  does that make sense?

    Yea, I’ve had that problem myself when screwing with toolpiece colors etc.  I can live with British pieces on Japan and Japanese pieces on England for the one or two games left to complete in Alpha 2. ^_^

    Okay.  So I can overwrite without any ill effect really, that’s all I was worried about.

    You could just use the T43.gim module for now so now with overwritting issues so you can evaluate it.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    First thing I am going to note is that in the INCOME chart?  Why not change the words for Italy and ANZAC as well?  You dont have to edit the colors (I would, personally) but the words should at least be changed.



  • @Cmdr:

    First thing I am going to note is that in the INCOME chart?  Why not change the words for Italy and ANZAC as well?  You dont have to edit the colors (I would, personally) but the words should at least be changed.

    I swapped the order on the chart but forgot to move the abattlemap flags for those 2.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    First thing I am going to note is that in the INCOME chart?  Why not change the words for Italy and ANZAC as well?  You dont have to edit the colors (I would, personally) but the words should at least be changed.

    I swapped the order on the chart but forgot to move the abattlemap flags for those 2.

    Not worried about flags, but cosmetically, it would be nice to alter the colors and text accordingly.  /shrug.  Up to ya all, I can save a new start file myself. :Þ



  • @Cmdr:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    First thing I am going to note is that in the INCOME chart?  Why not change the words for Italy and ANZAC as well?  You dont have to edit the colors (I would, personally) but the words should at least be changed.

    I swapped the order on the chart but forgot to move the abattlemap flags for those 2.

    Not worried about flags, but cosmetically, it would be nice to alter the colors and text accordingly.  /shrug.  Up to ya all, I can save a new start file myself. :Þ

    im working on a new version of the module, which will remove the NO chart from the bottom and condense it into the area at the top right… just right of the unit info chart… this will overwrite that art in that area… which was really cool… but this should help reduce the size of the Map.bmp and make it more stable. I will make it with a new .gim folder so no overwrite issues etc



  • @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    First thing I am going to note is that in the INCOME chart?  Why not change the words for Italy and ANZAC as well?  You dont have to edit the colors (I would, personally) but the words should at least be changed.

    I swapped the order on the chart but forgot to move the abattlemap flags for those 2.

    Not worried about flags, but cosmetically, it would be nice to alter the colors and text accordingly.  /shrug.  Up to ya all, I can save a new start file myself. :Þ

    im working on a new version of the module, which will remove the NO chart from the bottom and condense it into the area at the top right… just right of the unit info chart… this will overwrite that art in that area… which was really cool… but this should help reduce the size of the Map.bmp and make it more stable. I will make it with a new .gim folder so no overwrite issues etc

    if you like the art in the top-right, just burn it in over the NO chart like i did with the tech chart in my G40 (i think it survived to Func’s latest too, but I’m not sure)



  • @Stoney229:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    First thing I am going to note is that in the INCOME chart?  Why not change the words for Italy and ANZAC as well?  You dont have to edit the colors (I would, personally) but the words should at least be changed.

    I swapped the order on the chart but forgot to move the abattlemap flags for those 2.

    Not worried about flags, but cosmetically, it would be nice to alter the colors and text accordingly.  /shrug.  Up to ya all, I can save a new start file myself. :Þ

    im working on a new version of the module, which will remove the NO chart from the bottom and condense it into the area at the top right… just right of the unit info chart… this will overwrite that art in that area… which was really cool… but this should help reduce the size of the Map.bmp and make it more stable. I will make it with a new .gim folder so no overwrite issues etc

    if you like the art in the top-right, just burn it in over the NO chart like i did with the tech chart in my G40 (i think it survived to Func’s latest too, but I’m not sure)

    i didnt make that artwork… this is all wonko’s work… maybe he’ll come around and want to tweak it.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Did India/British Columbia get “unfixed?”  They don’t seem to be adding value to the right economy.



  • @Cmdr:

    Did India/British Columbia get “unfixed?”  They don’t seem to be adding value to the right economy.

    might be the case… what do i need to do?


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    Did India/British Columbia get “unfixed?”  They don’t seem to be adding value to the right economy.

    might be the case… what do i need to do?

    West India’s income goes to India.
    British Columbia’s income goes to England.



  • @Cmdr:

    @TMTM:

    @Cmdr:

    Did India/British Columbia get “unfixed?”  They don’t seem to be adding value to the right economy.

    might be the case… what do i need to do?

    West India’s income goes to India.
    British Columbia’s income goes to England.

    Thanks, I’ll have a new version ready soon… just completed it for the most part… just need to setup the units and make the Start.aam and some small adjustments… I’ll have it ready soon for testing.



  • I’ve updated the module. I’ve removed the NO chart from below the map and its now in the upper right next to the unit chart. By doing this will reduce the size of the module and map… and should help reduce memory issues. This version installs as a new module and does not overwrite Alpha2. Right now I dont have the units setup… I just completed this version this evening. So this is still in the testing phase and hope to get help from senior players of any errors and tweaks needed. GA3.gim will be the home of this version and will not change.

    www.axisandallies.us/GA3.gim.zip

    If some one wants to setup the units in the Alpha +3 setup… I’ll include it into the module on the next update.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Working on it.  Have a start.aam for you shortly.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Missing Chinese National Objective (+6 IPC Burma Road)

    Map attached.

    Feel free to check it, started to get cross eyed trying to line up pieces and all!

    Alpha 3.AAM



  • @Cmdr:

    Missing Chinese National Objective (+6 IPC Burma Road)

    Map attached.

    Feel free to check it, started to get cross eyed trying to line up pieces and all!

    Thanks for making the Start file… the Chinese NO’s is below the Russian’s… I colored it wrong hehe… i’ll fix that. Do you like this version with the NO’s at the top? I think its more streamline.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Updated to reflect National Objective status for China.

    Alpha 3.AAM



  • www.axisandallies.us/GA3.zip - Beta 3 - updated 11-12-2011

    added: updated the unitstats to reflect the 5 ipc of the aa gun… price adjustment now shows that in the InfoView


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

46
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts