It’s hard to believe that after about 20 years of playing I am still learning about rules!!! I’ve seen a few issues in variouis threads so perhaps we need one thread as a common point of reference. I’ve scouted out some FAQ’s online and compiled a few interesting things. What follows are copy’n’pastes of online FAQ’s available to anybody, these are NOT my thoughts and I’ve learned something myself under “*How do fighters fight on an ally’s carrier?”.
Q: If I captured a territory, is it then legal in the non combat movement phase to move an armor into or through that territory to some other friendly territory?
A: Yes. You may move into or through a newly captured territory (whether it was previously neutral or enemy owned ) in the non combat movement phase. (page 21)
Q: If I cleared a sea zone in the combat phase, is it then legal for me to move through it in the non combat movement phase?
A: Yes, as long as the sea zone you are moving to is either empty or an occupied - friendly zone. (Rules page 21)
Q: If a transport has been involved in a naval battle may it unload units during the non combat movement phase?
A: Yes, it can unload some or all of the units aboard. However it is not legal to pick up any units and then unload them again since this would be considered movement by the transport and after having been involved in a naval combat it has already used its movement. (AAMC FAQ)
Q: Can I retreat a sub into a sea zone that was embattled in the same turn?
A: NO. (RC page 2)
Q: Can I unload units from - or load units onto a transport that has retreated from battle?
A: NO. After retreat all action if finished. (AAMC FAQ)
Q: Can a transport unload in the combat movement phase or combat phase and afterwards load or unload units in the non combat movement phase?
A: No. Once a transport has unloaded it cannot take any action, that is it cannot load, unload or move. (AAMC FAQ)
Q: Can I load units onto a transport in the combat movement phase even though these units will not be involved in combat?
A: Yes, you may load units onto a transport during the combat movement phase regardless if they are to be used in combat or not. These units can enter the transport, be used in an amphibious assault, remain on board, or leave during the non combat movement phase. If any of these units are to be used in combat, you must specifically declare which units will be used and where. Units going aboard a transport must do so prior to any naval battle taking place in the sea zone. (AAMC FAQ)
Q: Can there be more than one AA gun in the same land territory?
A: NO. In land territories there can only be one AA gun in one territory. (Rules page 13, RC page 2)
Q: Can there be more than one AA gun in a Sea Zone?
A: Yes, it is legal to have several transports with AA guns aboard. (Rules page 13, RC page 2)
*How do fighters fight on an ally’s carrier?
If a carrier attacks while carrying an ally’s fighter(s), the
fighters cannot fight, but can be taken as losses, provided the
owner of the non-fighting fighter consents to the loss.
Source: Communication with Milton Bradley (dated July 27, 1995).
How many new industrial complexes can be built during a game?
Four. There are eight on the board at the start of the game, and
there are twelve complex pieces. The number of locations that
have a specific unit type is always dependent of the number provided.
This also means that any country could only have bombers in three
places, carriers in two, subs in six, etc. The number of units in
each place is unlimited, but the number of locations is not.
Source: Clarifications, page 4 (bottom right, “More Markers?”).