I’ll assume you’re using the Alpha rules, otherwise UK can’t scramble at all in this situation.
Germany must first commit its fighters to either the sea zone or the territory (in any combination). UK then has the choice to scramble any or all of its fighters, regardless of what Germany did. This gives UK the advantage of knowing how Germany’s fighters will be assigned before it makes a decision regarding scrambling.
Thanks, Krieghund! I really appreciate all of your hard work with answering questions and helping Larry with the new Alpha rules.