• '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Scenario:

    It is round 5 or later (Russia is almost certainly at war with Germany by now….)

    Germany puts a submarine in SZ 125 to deny Russia their national objective.  Russia attacks with a submarine and the defending German submarine submerges.  Can Russia get the National Objective, since technically there are no hostile warships in SZ 125 with a submerged submarine, or does it resurface after Russia’s NCM but before Russia’s Collect Income?

    Corrollary:

    Same type of situation, except just any old convoy zone.  Does the submarine do convoy dmg if it submerges during Conduct Combat, or no?


  • @Cmdr:

    Scenario:

    … the defending German submarine submerges.  Can Russia get the National Objective, since technically there are no hostile warships in SZ 125 with a submerged submarine, or does it resurface after Russia’s NCM but before Russia’s Collect Income?

    Corrollary:

    Same type of situation, except just any old convoy zone.  Does the submarine do convoy dmg if it submerges during Conduct Combat, or no?

    Submerging only occurs during combat.  After combat a submarine can no longer be submerged and is no longer considered submerged (which means it’s definately disrupting convoys at the end of the turn).  I realized I perhaps should have been a little more clear.

  • '10

    New Questions.

    Ok, all the action is going to take place in SZ 112 and 110. Germany is attempting Sealion.

    Can Germany load transport into SZ 112, then go into SZ110 and load some more units from Normandy into transport before amphibious assault on UK when :

    1- there is a UK sub in SZ 110
    2- there is a surface UK warship in SZ 110
    3- there is a UK sub in SZ 110 AND some UK planes scramble
    4- there is a surface UK warship in SZ 110 AND some UK planes scramble.

    In all cases, the german transports are not alone, they are escorted with the german fleet and and SZ 110 will be cleared before amphibious assault.
    Just need to know if they are scenarios when the transports can’t load units in SZ110 on the same turn before the amphibious assault.

  • Official Q&A

    1- Yes.
    2- No.
    3- Yes.
    4- No.

    The only time the transports can’t load is when the sea zone is hostile.  Subs don’t make sea zones hostile.

  • '10

    Thanks for this very quick answer !

    So scramble planes don’t make sea zones hostile either…

    Well, we had this one wrong every time since we play E40 or P40 or G40…

  • Official Q&A

    @Axisplaya:

    So scramble planes don’t make sea zones hostile either…

    No.  They aren’t yet in the sea zone during the combat movement phase.


  • To help me win a stupid argument over ships.  A transport is invading the uk with a tank and infantry on board. Many planes attacking the island itself. The uk scrambled 1 plane to kill the transport.  My stupid opponents refuse to accept they didn’t read the rules before hand so they argue because it is not a warship I can’t scramble. Someone could please give us the official ruling.


  • I am playing against a smart ass who feels he can cheat by making up new rules.
    We had the same problem
    they are right!!! :mrgreen: :roll:


  • Units that have no attack value (aircraft carriers and transports) may not attack a sea zone by themselves. In order to carry out an attack, at least one unit with an attack value must participate. This includes sinking defenseless transports. However, this does not prevent transports from attempting to conduct an amphibious assault alone if there are only enemy units within the sea zone that may initiate optional defenses, such as air units that may scramble.
    This is taken from the new alpha 2 rules.


  • No hablo ingles


  • @TheDefinitiveS:

    Units that have no attack value (aircraft carriers and transports) may not attack a sea zone by themselves. In order to carry out an attack, at least one unit with an attack value must participate. This includes sinking defenseless transports. However, this does not prevent transports from attempting to conduct an amphibious assault alone if there are only enemy units within the sea zone that may initiate optional defenses, such as air units that may scramble.
    This is taken from the new alpha 2 rules.

    OK, I got you.  The planes CAN scramble to sink the transport as would be logical.

  • '10

    I’m pretty sure this one has been answered somewhere, but i can’t find it…

    During Combat movement, can you send some planes in an empty SZ just in case your oponent decide to scramble ?

    Exemple: you have 2 loaded transport and just one destroyer, you want to do an amphibious assault, but your oponent could scramble 3 planes. Can you send some planes to “escort” your transports and your destroyer ?


  • @Axisplaya:

    I’m pretty sure this one has been answered somewhere, but i can’t find it…

    During Combat movement, can you send some planes in an empty SZ just in case your oponent decide to scramble ?

    Exemple: you have 2 loaded transport and just one destroyer, you want to do an amphibious assault, but your oponent could scramble 3 planes. Can you send some planes to “escort” your transports and your destroyer ?

    Yes.  You can combat move as many planes as you want just in case there’s a potential for a scramble.

  • '10

    Thanks.

    another one : is a sea zone considered hostile when:

    1- there is an empty aircraft carrier on the SZ
    2- there is an aircraft carrier with at least one plane on the SZ.

  • Official Q&A

    Yes to both.  Any enemy surface warship (not transport or sub) will make a sea zone hostile, assuming you are at war with the owning power.

Suggested Topics

  • 22
  • 24
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

38

Online

17.0k

Users

39.3k

Topics

1.7m

Posts