I think you basically HAVE to sink the Sz91 Cruiser.
It’s not an option, it’s not a potential strike. It’s a MUST.
I’m also toying with the idea of clearing the navy off of Southern France…
For the European axis to have a GOOD game (Which makes life easy) Italy has to be a major player, and HAS to be protected by Germany, with efforts made by German units to secure Italian NO’s.
If this is the case, (and I think it may be) how would you do it? IE: Where would you reposition your ressources? It seems to me you cna only get your two subs down there. 1 sub on each 111 and 110 then?
Probably have to ignore one of the two SZ’s or risk losing aircraft in the process which is counter productive when you trade aircraft for cruisers.
So submerging is not a retreat. Interstesting. After reviewing the rulebook, it’s considered during step 2 the suprise strike. Which technically means by definition that submerging is a form of attack (Either roll dice or submerge). Because it’s during step 6 that you decide to attack or retreat, and then as you repeat step 2, since you have already decided to attack - you can submerge.
What I like about how the rules are written to, is that EACH sub gets to decide whether it fights or submerges. It’s not decided on a grand scale. You can submerge one, and fight/retreat/ with the others. This has come into play during larger naval battles for me.
another example of this in action is attacking an enemy sub. He might (and probably will) submerge, but its up to the defender so the attacker needs to send enough hardware to the sz to win if the enemy defends.
I’ve tried this cheesy move two or three times, and barring the best possible situation (Japan has 4 unloaded transports you can deny them, and they DOW next round anyway to get the Philippines), it’s more a hindrance than a help to the Allies. I don’t think I’ll be using it in the future.