I stand corrected. However, they (USSR) could declare war upon Japan and then attack a neutral such as Turkey, right?
No again, sorry:
Due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, the Soviet Union is in a unique position in its relationship with the
Axis powers. As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions
of being a neutral power (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15) on the other map, and Axis powers on
the other map are also still under those restrictions regarding the Soviet Union on both maps. For example, a state of
war with only Japan lifts the neutrality restrictions from the Soviet Union on the Pacific map only, and allows Japanese
units to attack or fly over Soviet-controlled territories on either map. However, the Soviet Union is still restricted on
the Europe map, …
I don’t understand your reply to my post shadowhawk. My point I was trying to make was that it is not worth defending coastal territories in this game unless you have no choice (don’t want to lose your capital for example).
Example: In anniversary edition if the allies take France, they receive 6 IPCs for invading it. In this version, they take normandy and get 2 or southern france and get 3, but get destroyed on the counter attack. So it’s not worth defending a territory worth so little money PLUS you have to defend against the AIR FORCE and BOMBARDMENTS. When you counter attack you can bring in your own planes and don’t have to suffer hits from bombardments.
My point was that it really depends on what part of the board you are playing, in europe it is hardly worth defending costal zones because you can counter.
In the pacific there are a lot of valuable islands that can be taken and countering means attacking from sea, so in that side of the board, defending coastal areas is important and then the bombardments do help a lot.
All of the important zones on the pacific side are on the coast, only china isnt and that is worth only 1 so lets not call them important.
correction in 112 reason, you will need to judge whether you can afford to lose air or a ship if he is lucky enough to get 2 hits. Just remember what you bought and how much you can afford to replace air. I would lose a ship over air cause a ship does not help you sealion or barb as much as your air does.