Question : Sub vs Fighter



  • Just to make sure… with alpha+ setup and new rules for scramble (coast) I have a situation I never had before.

    Say 2 subs attack a lone Cruiser next to a Airbase with fighter. (In clear, 2 subs attack SZ91 and fighter is present at Gibraltar)

    1. If there’s 2 hits on first round, is the fighter is hit. (Not sure of the rules when mixed units)

    2. Scramble is only 1 round, but for my comprehension, let’s imagine a round 2 leaves defending plane (from destroyed carrier) and only attacking subs. Then surviving sub may submerge in SZ where battle occured and fighter can’t spot it, right? (And fighter would have to land in friendly coast or island or crash).

    Thank you.



  • 1. No, subs can’t hit planes. Since there’s no DD, planes can’t hit subs either,so scrambling is useless.



  • Great.

    Thank you, quick and clear answer… very nice of you.


  • '10

    @BigBadBruce:

    2. Scramble is only 1 round…

    Just wanted to touch on this, too.  Planes, once scrambled, stick around for the whole fight, rather than just one round.


  • Customizer

    @eudemonist:

    @BigBadBruce:

    2. Scramble is only 1 round…

    Just wanted to touch on this, too.  Planes, once scrambled, stick around for the whole fight, rather than just one round.

    Yes, that is correct.  When planes are scrambled, they remain until they are destroyed or the attackers are destroyed or retreat.  The only air combat that is just 1 round is escorts vs. interceptors in Strategic Bombing Raids.



  • Oh! So true, I just read rules again… obviously I misread it (and misplayed it) with my boardgames for quite a while

    Thank you for the added answer! 🙂

    Bruce.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 30
  • 17
  • 7
  • 12
  • 33
  • 2
  • 12
  • 17
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

38
Online

14.8k
Users

35.4k
Topics

1.4m
Posts