The Soviets get a 5 IPC bonus for being at war. In all of the global games I’ve played so far, the Soviet player has simply “declared war” on Japan on R1, regardless of whether or not they had plans to attack.
Is there any reason that the Soviets wouldn’t declare war on Japan as soon as they can? Is there any reason that being “at war” is a requirement of this NO if the Soviets can always be at war?
This has been addressed in the FAQ thread. The Soviets have to be at war with either Germany or Italy in order to receive the 5 IPC bonus. Of course, it would have been nice for the rulebook to say this directly.