Either way, those Canadian troops aren’t going anywhere by sea this turn.
Those Canadian troops (or troop if it’s just that arm) can still make it out. Just pick them/it up in sz9 instead.
You’re right. Good catch! I didn’t have access to the map when I wrote this. What I should have said was that you can’t load them in sea zone 1. You could move to sea zone 9, if it’s friendly, and pick them up from there. However, this does limit your options for movement to Algeria, the United Kingdom and Panama (and the Eastern US, though you don’t need a transport to go there), and then only in combat movement. If you’re trying to stop a UK counter-attack against an invasion of the United Kingdom, you need to either sink the transport or block sea zone 9.
Under LHTR, your only options for these troops are amphibiously assaulting Panama, Eastern USA, United Kingdom or Algeria. Under the box rules, you would also be allowed to leave the troops on board the transport at sea.