Etiquette for optional rules vary from group to group, but the rulebook says that they may be used “if all players agree”.
Just to be clear, this is only an optional rule in Classic. In Revised, it’s a standard rule.
"SZ A - SZ B - SZ C
In A we got a AC and a sub, in b there are 100 enemy Battleships, in C there are some valuable targets you want to hit with air. You may fly now 2 Ftr in there, needing there total range of 4, and attack B with just the sub. This would be a legal move, cause the sub has the chance of killing all enemy BB."
Is this legal on Revised? I’m assuming yes (my memory recalls you answering it a long time ago) but I can’t find the topic and I want to be sure.
Yes, it’s legal.
Thank you for the quick answer.
You might want to consider adding this issue to the Revised FAQ/Errata (just using the wording on the AA50 manual would do it). This issue turns up every once in a while on forums.