Q about the new transport rule



  • @Larry:

    12. Transports are not allowed to end their movement in a sea zone containing any enemy subs unless at least one friendly warship is also present in the sea zone at the end of the movement phase. An unescorted transport could still move unescorted through a sea zone with enemy subs, but could not end its movement in such a sea zone. (12/06/10)

    So, a sub is now capable of defending a coastline against undefended transports landing troops. However, a sub does not prevent unescorted transports from loading troops. Correct? And if so, is this not rather inconsistent?


  • Official Answers

    There was a mix-up in the wording of that rule.  It should read:

    Submarines no longer fire a special “sneak attack” shot at unescorted transports.  Transports are not allowed to unload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing any enemy subs unless at least one friendly warship was also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    But a transport can still enter a zone, and pickup friendly ground units, even though an enemy sub is there - provided the transport then leaves the zone, and goes to another to unload?



  • @Krieghund:

    There was a mix-up in the wording of that rule.  It should read:

    Submarines no longer fire a special “sneak attack” shot at unescorted transports.  Transports are not allowed to unload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing any enemy subs unless at least one friendly warship was also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.

    Examples:

    1. one transport can’t unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub.

    2. one transport with one cruiser can unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub. But Battle don’t occurs. Right?

    3. one transport with one destroyer can unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub. But they fight a naval battle? Still right?


  • Official Answers

    @Gargantua:

    But a transport can still enter a zone, and pickup friendly ground units, even though an enemy sub is there - provided the transport then leaves the zone, and goes to another to unload?

    Yes.

    @Stefano1189:

    Examples:

    1. one transport can’t unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub.

    2. one transport with one cruiser can unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub. But Battle don’t occurs. Right?

    3. one transport with one destroyer can unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub. But they fight a naval battle? Still right?

    1. Into a hostile territory, no.  Into a friendly territory, yes.

    2. It’s up to the attacker whether there’ll be a battle or not.  If there is no battle or the attacker wins, the transport may unload.

    3. Same as 2.



  • @Krieghund:

    @Gargantua:

    But a transport can still enter a zone, and pickup friendly ground units, even though an enemy sub is there - provided the transport then leaves the zone, and goes to another to unload?

    Yes.

    @Stefano1189:

    Examples:

    1. one transport can’t unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub.

    2. one transport with one cruiser can unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub. But Battle don’t occurs. Right?

    3. one transport with one destroyer can unloading troops if in a SZ there is a sub. But they fight a naval battle? Still right?

    1. Into a hostile territory, no.  Into a friendly territory, yes.

    2. It’s up to the attacker whether there’ll be a battle or not.  If there is no battle or the attacker wins, the transport may unload.

    3. Same as 2.

    Shouldn’t it be up to the defender decides weather there is a battle or not (which would be the sub) since the sub has the option to submerge? And secondly doesn’t the destroyer nullify the subs ability to submerge and therefore has to fight no matter what…. Correct?


  • Official Answers

    No, initially it’s up to the attacker.  Subs can be ignored.  If the attacker decides to attack the sub, then what you’ve said is true.



  • @Krieghund:

    No, initially it’s up to the attacker.  Subs can be ignored.  If the attacker decides to attack the sub, then what you’ve said is true.

    Ah, never knew that. Thanks Krieg!



  • IMO, if transports or any other ship enters SZ with enemy sub, sub should always have the opyion of suprize attack shot. Thats the way i play it.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 5
  • 19
  • 6
  • 3
  • 8
  • 89
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

41
Online

13.6k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts