No, sorry if I misspoke. In the normal global game the US gets the 30 ipc bonus the turn you go to war (in the collect income phase). To get the 30 ipc bonus you just need to be at war and control Eastern US, Central US, and Western US (pretty easy money), you don’t have to control the Philippines, or Brazil to get it. The US starts off with control of Philippines, so those 2 ipc’s are included in the 52 ipc base pay for the US. (52+30=82 ipc’s US collects when at war). If the US loses control of the Philippines (as it normally does when Japan attacks) the US just deducts the 2 ipc’s from its base pay (so 50+30=80 in that case). The US can also take control of Brazil (pro allied neutral) to collect another 2 ipc’s per turn once US is at war. It can also claim the 3 infantry on Brazil for free (they are printed on the map). You just need to move a US ground unit to Brazil in the US non combat phase by transport to claim both the 2 ipc’s and the 3 free inf (you just place 3 us inf in their place).
The link I gave you at the bottom of my 1st post takes you to a new set-up and rules that is probably going to replace the current rules at some point (but it isn’t official yet). Sorry if this confused you.