Complications with building fleets in occupied waters.



  • In our game, Germany surrounded the UK with subs, one in sea zones 109, 110, 111, and 119.

    UK on his turn built destroyers in sea zone 109.

    On the US turn, a strategic bomber flew over and attacked the German sub in 109 (since there are destroyers in the area, right?).

    Now, the book states that multinational forces defend together, but never attack together. So because the Americans were attacking, the British destroyers, although in the same sea zone, could not partake in combat, and therefore were not at risk.

    So the strategic bomber automatically sunk the submarine without retaliation because: 1) subs can’t attack air units; 2) the destroyers eliminate the sub’s ability to submerge; 3) the destroyers allow the strategic bomber to attack the submarine; and 4) the destroyers were not participating in combat.

    Is this correct?  :?



  • The british destroyers do not allow the US bombers to attack.  That would be a violation of the Joint Forces attacking rule.  You need your own destroyers in the sea zone in order to negate the subs abilities to submerge and/or not be attacked by air units.

    The only time those british destroyers would be helpful to the US is if they were defending as well.



  • Oh really? I thought the destroyers need only be present in the sea zone to neutralize the subs’ abilities.

    I believe that’s what it says in the manual 😕

    Then again, I haven’t familiarized myself with any errata.



  • @Applesauce234:

    Oh really? I thought the destroyers need only be present in the sea zone to neutralize the subs’ abilities.

    I believe that’s what it says in the manual 😕

    Then again, I haven’t familiarized myself with any errata.

    This IS in the manual and has no mention in the Errata (though it might be in the faq portion).

    On defense, any units that are allied together defend together.  But on Offence ONLY the attacking power participates.  This is how it has always been.  So on the US turn, only us units are involved in the attack, the british destroyer does not participate and thus cannot allow the bomber to detect the subs.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 41
  • 18
  • 21
  • 11
  • 11
  • 21
  • 7
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

70
Online

13.9k
Users

34.2k
Topics

1.3m
Posts