I am just running into this situation in a game and I was glad to see that the answer is here. As complicated as this scenario is (to me), Krieg’s answer is completely supported by the rulebook. Thanks to all!
Back to the flying tiger landing in Burma…… just think of it as an American volonteer group (not a Chinese air force) then allowing it to land in British controlled Burma even before UK/US is at war w/Japan makes more sense. The US sent these planes to the port of Rangoon in Burma with American “volunteer” pilots to basically side step neutrality in 1941 (although the game starts w/tiger in 1940, and its in China). This group was based in Burma before Pearl Harbor and did most of its training there. The flying tigers first action took place shortly after Pearl, and their objective at the time was to defend the Burma Road and keep the the supply line open. The tigers were based at both ends of the Burma Road in Rangoon Burma, and Kunming China (northern end of the Burma road). The Tigers weren’t fully relocated to China until after most of Burma (including Rangoon) was lost early in 1942.
Indeed that link points to an unrelated old document referring to the 1999 edition.
When on the AH-site better visit this place for the latest rules and FAQ:
You will find the correct link to the 1940 2nd ed. FAQ there:
(Still not the latest version, that should be of November 2014, but you can go with it.)
Yes planes can pass over any zone that contain enemy ships, enemy planes, or enemy units. Planes cannot pass over neutral countries. In sbr’s they have to fight their way in if escorted or not if they are intercepted. After the interception or not then they get shot at by aaa and then if they survive that they get to bomb the factories and the tac bomber’s can bomb the airfields and naval bases. You are right that in the older version the aa was always active but not anymore. Hope this helps!
Can Soviet invade Finland on their first turn, without Germany declaring war to Soviet first?
No. USSR may not move into territories outside its own on the Europe map until it is at war with Germany and/or Italy. Also, it may not move into territories outside its own on the Pacific map until it is at war with Japan.
Regarding flights/landings, are islands still part of the sea zone? Meaning, does it take an aircraft 1 turn to enter the seaszone surrounding the island, or does it get that “for free”?
Islands are separate spaces from the sea zones that they’re in. It takes a movement point to enter or leave an island.
(…) as well as using Kamikazes. The possibility that the USA player can be forced to take hits on his carriers, meaning planes will crash if there is not enough space freed up, can mean that you have more defending Japan than it actually looks.
About kamikazes, if i understand the latest rules correctly, USA can avoid kami’s on their AC’s by sending their planes and other ships into the SZ in the combat move (taking kamikazes and scramblers on those), then moving their aircraft carriers into the SZ in the non-combat move (and landing the planes on them).
That’s right, plus subs and planes can’t be hit by kamikazes