AAG40 FAQ


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Holden:

    This entire issue is a trainwreck and has a major impact on the flow of the game. I assume most people will game it that the Soviets can declare war on Japan at the beggining of any of their combat move phases (just like Japan can do to Russia).

    Dude!  Chill out!  Just wait for Krieghund to answer your question.

    I was only trying to help you.  I wasn’t trying to defend the rulebook, or trying to tell you you’re stupid, or anything.

    Apparently you don’t have much experience with A&A rulebooks, because if you did, you’d know they always leave a lot to be desired.  There are ambiguities and misunderstandings in every A&A rulebook, and you’re just going to have to ask Krieghund and/or wait for the official FAQ/errata to be printed before every detailed question like this can be completely answered to your satisfaction.  The ironic thing is, the Europe 1940 rulebook appears to me to be one of the most well written and complete rulebooks of the series to date.

    So, take a chill pill and wait for Krieg’s response, which will very likely be here within hours.



  • Question:

    if Japan is under attack from sea zone 6 and I don’t have a fleet, can I scramble a single fighter to prevent bombardment?


  • Official Q&A

    @questioneer:

    1. Is New Brunswick/Nova Scotia adjacent to Quebec??

    The jury’s still out on that.

    @questioneer:

    2. For territories like Egypt and Novgorod that have a Naval Base- that naval base can be used for in either sea zone they touch right???  They each touch two different sea zones.

    Correct.

    @questioneer:

    3. Suggestion- a Larry Endorsed House Rule hopefully- Bring back the “tech token” rules from AA50 to be used in Global Game for tech.

    Feel free to play it that way.

    @questioneer:

    4. Why do you only need to control only Gibraltar for passage into Gibraltar Strait- why not control Both Gibraltar and Morrocco??  Same with Denmark- why not Denmark AND Norway controlled territories to pass through.

    To keep it simple.

    @gamerman01:

    Krieg - can you confirm whether the USSR can indeed declare war on Japan at any time (including round 1) according to the rulebook?  It doesn’t appear to say whether they can or can’t.

    The USSR and Japan can declare war on each other any time they like.  Any non-aggression treaty worked out between the players doesn’t carry any force other than their own words of honor and mutual benefit.

    @Noll:

    if Japan is under attack from sea zone 6 and I don’t have a fleet, can I scramble a single fighter to prevent bombardment?

    Yes.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Regarding the New Brunswick - Quebec question -

    It appears quite clear on my board that they do not border each other.  Do they border IRL or something?  Why is there a question?



  • If you look at a map, Maine does not boarder the St. Lawrence.  It’s northern boundary is made up of Quebec to the north west and New Brunswick to the north east.

    The most northernly major port at this time was in Portsmouth New Hamphire and it is clearly now where near the St. Lawrence.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Map_of_Quebec_(English).png

    I will be using the actual situation of New Brunswick and Quebec touching each other and Maine not touching the St. Lawrence.


  • Official Q&A

    Eastern United States does not border sea zone 106.  That much is certain.



  • @Krieghund:

    Eastern United States does not border sea zone 106.  That much is certain.

    then logically, Nova and Quebec border each other


  • Official Q&A

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    then logically, Nova and Quebec border each other

    That doesn’t necessarily follow.  The four spaces appear to meet at a point, which indicates that Eastern United States doesn’t border sea zone 106 and Quebec doesn’t border New Brunswick/Nova Scotia.  The question is whether the St. Lawrence Seaway is meant to be an extension of sea zone 106, dividing the latter two territories, or just a passable border between them.



  • Well, I guess we will wait for you to tell uswhat the actual situation is Krieg.  This seems like a silly thing to debate.  The only advantage of this “smudge” would be that the U.S.A. could launch into SZ 106.  You have cleared that up.  In all the other edtions of Axis & Allies east and West Canadian territories are contigious.  Why change that now?

    I would hope that the intent, where possible, is to use comon sense and simplicity.  In my opinion they do touch.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Krieghund -

    It appears that China is eligible to research technology.  Can you please tell us if this is not the case?  I see no reason they couldn’t, from reading the rules.  They’re now a power like everybody else, and have money on hand.

    China could benefit from rockets, war bonds, improved artillery, jet fighters, and long range aircraft, if China is indeed eligible.



  • @gamerman01:

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    Pehaps, but with tokens not being saved, it can’t afford tech. Also, what if it rolls any other tech which is useless? Does it get to roll again or is its money wasted?

    No, of course they couldn’t roll again.

    Calvin, if it’s possible, I want to know about it.  Plus I’m just curious.

    Sometimes China can get to be a beast, and doesn’t need more infantry.  Think about Japan being expelled from the mainland and losing the fleet.  At this point, I would rather have Chinese rockets than more useless infantry that can’t ever fight anyone (Assume Japan hasn’t fallen yet).  So contrary to first glance, this could actually be a significant issue.

    Well, can Rockets fire outside China? Wouldn’t this be inconsistent with China rules?



  • @calvinhobbesliker:

    Well, can Rockets fire outside China? Wouldn’t this be inconsistent with China rules?

    I wonder what the odds would be for China to get Rocket tech (if allowed), and also have an AA gun (that it owns) to fire. The only way china could own an AA gun is to take one from Japan in a battle. China doesn’t start with one, and can’t buy one either (Larry may change that, but for now no can do). So again what are the odds like 1 in 20, or 1 in 50 chance it could happen?



  • Yeah, I know China can get hold of an AA gun, it would still be a rare occasion. Put that with the chance getting a break through (if don’t keep tokens), then rolling rockets? I don’t think the chances are over 300 to 1, but could be 100 to 1. IDK, I’m not a numbers guy, but someone could plug it in to some nifty formula. Not that it will matter anyway, I can’t see China being able to buy tech anyway. For the record, we will most likely use tech tokens from AA50, we liked that system.



  • Another question about scrambling:

    Let’s say I have 10 fighters in Japan and an american fleet attack me with an anphibious assault trough SZ6. Can I scramble just 1 fighter in order to avoid bombardment?

    Thanks!


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Yep.  Better yet, you can use 1 Kamikaze and stop all bombardment (if Kamikaze’s have been activated)


  • Official Q&A

    China can’t research technology, which makes sense considering that it can’t build artillery without outside help.



  • Yeah, saw that one coming, and that argument is as good as any. There are many to choose from.



  • Kreighund, some more questions:

    1. Can you fire as many rocket attacks as you have AAguns (in different territories) to different ICs???

    2. For Heavy Bombers you need to roll each bomber separately and choose.  Otherwise if you roll multiple bombers at the same time, one could choose all the highest numbers at once.  This skews the probability greatly in favor of the attacker.

    3. Only subs through Gib Strait???  Not trannies???  Danish strait allows NO subs nor trannies- is that correct???  And nothing goes throught the Turkey Strait right???  Please clarify again.

    4. Players need to be careful reading the Political rules for global- its a maze at first.  Interesting that US can declare war at the END of round 3, USSR can only declare war at the BEGINNING of round 4.  Why is the reasoning behind this???  Why not at the same time???

    5. Japan declares war on UK/ANZAC doesn’t pull the US into war.  At this point, the US has the option now to “choose” to go to war with Japan.  Am I reading this right.  Please clarify this political rule as it sounds a little different from Pac40.

    Thanks in advance again. 🙂


  • Official Q&A

    1. Yes.

    2. Yes, each bomber must be rolled separately.

    3. Nothing can pass through a narrow strait held by the enemy, with the exception that subs may pass through Gibraltar.

    4. Larry wanted the US to get an income boost a turn before going to war if unprovoked.

    5. Yes, and it’s the same in AAP40.



  • By the way, the E40 rulebook is much better than the P40 one.  I can definitely see improvements from P40.  Hopefully by a 2nd print of both these games, they can perfect everything.  In both games, the Errata and such have really been minor.  Nice products! 🙂



  • Is North italy supposed to touch Paris?


  • Official Q&A

    Yes.



  • Do zones 118 or 108 border Eire?
    Does Z106 border Newfoundland?
    Does Scotland touch Eire?
    Why can’t Germany use the Kiel Canal to move in/out of the Baltic when Denmark is captured?



  • Some additional questions:

    • Is it possible in the non-combat fase to convert a friendly neutral territory with only an AA-gun? I think so because it’s a land unit.

    • Is it possible to cross the panama-canal with land units?  I think so because the canal lies within the territory just like the canal in Turkey. The rules don’t mention it although.

    • Is it possible to cross the Danmark straight with a sub when Danmark is occupied with enemy units? I don’t think so because the rules only mention the gibraltar exception for sub crossing.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @smutminer:

    Some additional questions:

    • Is it possible in the non-combat fase to convert a friendly neutral territory with only an AA-gun? I think so because it’s a land unit.

    • Is it possible to cross the panama-canal with land units?  I think so because the canal lies within the territory just like the canal in Turkey. The rules don’t mention it although.

    • Is it possible to cross the Danmark straight with a sub when Danmark is occupied with enemy units? I don’t think so because the rules only mention the gibraltar exception for sub crossing.

    Welcome to the boards!

    1. Pretty sure that’s not what they meant (has to be infantry, artillery, mech, or tank), but Krieg will confirm.

    2. It’s in the rules.  It’s like Turkey - Panama is just one whole territory.

    3. Gibraltar is the only exception, yes, so no subs through Denmark strait.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 12
  • 5
  • 5
  • 4
  • 58
  • 4
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

69
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts