AAG40 FAQ


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Cow:

    can china repair airbase / naval base?

    You will need confirmation from Krieghund whether this is definitely correct, but I’d like to take a stab.

    I think no.

    Reasons:

    1. China can’t buy tech, per Krieghund
    2. Page 9 of Pacific manual - “China has its own complete turn and can normally purchase only infantry, but if the Burma Road is open, it can also buy artillery.”
    3. Page 9 - “Although China’s purchases are made in the same way as the other powers, it does not have industrial complexes, or air or naval bases”. I realize it’s possible for China to control a territory with a base because only industrial complexes are destroyed (not bases), but the rulebook says they “don’t have IC’s or bases” so it stands to reason they can’t repair them.

    I think I just realized there is a deeper question.

    Can air or naval bases in a territory controlled by the Chinese even be used?

    Edit: Yes, air and naval bases in China can be used by China and any ally.
    No, air and naval bases in China can never be repaired by China (or Allies)


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Hi Gamerman. It is definitely no to Cow’s question.
    But I too was also wondering about the repercussions.
    Bases are not destroyed. Am sure Krieg has said that, so that means they remain on the board damaged until the Japanese recapture them(if ever).
    Seems silly the Allies cannot repair and use them. Only the Japanese.
    Maybe it reflects the Chinese not wanting too much Allied help and interference in their national affairs.
    Oh well.


  • Official Q&A

    The Allies (including China) can use them, but China cannot repair them.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Thanks Krieg, but if they are damaged when they are recaptured by the Allies surely they stay damaged as long as Japan does not  repair them? How can the Allies repair a base belonging to another(China) nation?
    Have we got that right?


  • 2018 2017 '16 '11 Moderator

    @wittmann:

    Thanks Krieg, but if they are damaged when they are recaptured by the Allies surely they stay damaged as long as Japan does not  repair them? How can the Allies repair a base belonging to another(China) nation?
    Have we got that right?

    You may not.  Hence, you should be careful not to dmg property in China you may need before Japan will repair it. (Likewise, Japan should caution not to repair what they cannot hold!)


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Thanks Jen.
    Makes sense as Nations cannot lend money to  each other, so how could it be repaired by the Allies?
    Was surprised to hear the Chinese Ft could use the Base though.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Edited previous post with the answer, to prevent confusion

    Talk to Jenn for the finer points, but basically,
    Axis can bomb and damage an air or naval base in China and it will be permanently out of commission (until an Axis power takes it over and fixes it) (minimum 3 damage required, of course)

    Tac bomber stock just went up, but you have to send a strat bomber to have 100% chance of disabling (if you get by the AA/interceptors)


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    Do Industrial Complexes on Chinese territory get REMOVED?  or are they just -useless- ?

    I’ve forgotten…



  • @Gargantua:

    Do Industrial Complexes on Chinese territory get REMOVED?  or are they just -useless- ?

    I’ve forgotten…

    removed



  • can the chinese fighter attack Japanese ships off the coast?



  • @Global-commander:

    can the chinese fighter attack Japanese ships off the coast?

    No.  The Chinese fighter is not permitted to move outside of territories that are originally chinese plus burma/kwangtung.  Seazones are included in that restriction, so the chinese fighter cannot enter any seazone.



  • @kcdzim:

    @Global-commander:

    can the chinese fighter attack Japanese ships off the coast?

    No.  The Chinese fighter is not permitted to move outside of territories that are originally chinese plus burma/kwangtung.  Seazones are included in that restriction, so the chinese fighter cannot enter any seazone.

    Could the chinese fighter in a legal coastal territory scramble against an amphib if the territory it was in had an airbase? I’m not sure how scrambling and moving are related. The piece has technically moved into the sea zone, but it hasn’t used any movement points to do so.



  • @Gamerman01:

    @Ziggurat:

    @kcdzim:

    @Global-commander:

    can the chinese fighter attack Japanese ships off the coast?

    No.�  The Chinese fighter is not permitted to move outside of territories that are originally chinese plus burma/kwangtung.�  Seazones are included in that restriction, so the chinese fighter cannot enter any seazone.

    Could the chinese fighter in a legal coastal territory scramble against an amphib if the territory it was in had an airbase? I’m not sure how scrambling and moving are related. The piece has technically moved into the sea zone, but it hasn’t used any movement points to do so.

    No, China cannot use bases.
    Just a few posts up Krieghund says chinese can use bases.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Whoops - you’re right.  That’s what I get for not double checking for once - was in a hurry

    I don’t know if China can scramble, or if they can only use the base to go 5 spaces.  You’ll probably need Krieghund on that one



  • IMHO it would be better if the Chinese rule wasn’t that they raze the infrastructure to the ground, but that they could build Artillery at factories on Chinese soil.

    They can already get arty from the burma road bonus. This would just allow them to get those units instead of removing the factory piece. (which actually should never happen)

    Can you imagine how much effort the Chinese forces have to be exerting to DE-INDUSTRIALIZE an area?
    Peasants and conscripts working 24/7 tearing down factories with their bare hands.

    I am curious as to how this rule came about when designing the game….what went through Larry’s head.
    Were there alternatives?


  • Official Q&A

    China cannot scramble its fighter.



  • @Krieghund:

    China cannot scramble its fighter.

    Well, that clears that one up. I guess since they can’t go into sea zones they can’t scramble.



  • @oztea:

    Can you imagine how much effort the Chinese forces have to be exerting to DE-INDUSTRIALIZE an area?
    Peasants and conscripts working 24/7 tearing down factories with their bare hands.

    It’s not just “de-industrialization”.  The level of expertise to actually build a functional tank or plane is pretty high.  Australian aircraft and tank design was lacking on their own, using mainly US or UK designs and equipment.  Every major power could design duds.  You’re suggesting China could design an air superiority fighter or a battleworthy tank just capturing a japanese factory?  Kinda doubt it. These are the same peasants and conscripts you describe tearing down the factory.  They aren’t going to put a squadron of tested planes together very quickly.  😉


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    He didn’t say tanks and planes, he just said artillery, I think



  • @Gamerman01:

    He didn’t say tanks and planes, he just said artillery, I think

    yada yada yada. armor piercing shells then.


  • '12

    @kcdzim:

    @Gamerman01:

    He didn’t say tanks and planes, he just said artillery, I think

    yada yada yada. armor piercing shells then.

    Well if the factory is captured, there’s a reasonable chance the tools and dies that Japan was using to make their equipment was captured with it.  But that was not the point…

    I think his point was that the factory that Japan built is immediately removed even if Japan retakes the territory right away.  The massive infrastructure upgrade to the territory simply vanishes.



  • hey guys, quick question.  Say America captures Denmark on its turn.  Can UK go thru the straights on it’s turn or does the US have to hold it for an entire turn?  Thanks in advance  🙂



  • Yes. I’ve lost Germany more than once thusly.  😐


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Bump


  • '12

    does anyone ever consolidate the faq thread?  i see there are two of
    them and they are quite long.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

35
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts