• Correct, it is stuck. It can neither attack or defend, as per the rulebook on page 29, 1st paragraph.


  • @BadSpeller:

    Correct, it is stuck. It can neither attack or defend, as per the rulebook on page 29, 1st paragraph.

    Okay


  • Oh, I see. My bad, I typed the word ‘attack’ in my statement.

    I meant to type ‘attack or defend’.


  • If the allies get a sub into the Med Sea does that take away the NO bonus for Italy?

    Thanks


  • @Frank:

    If the allies get a sub into the Med Sea does that take away the NO bonus for Italy?

    Thanks

    No. It has to be a destroyer, cruiser, carrier, or battleship.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    @Frank:

    If the allies get a sub into the Med Sea does that take away the NO bonus for Italy?

    Thanks

    No. It has to be a destroyer, cruiser, carrier, or battleship.

    I concur.  Surface warships only.


  • Thank you guys


  • @hobo:

    Is there still no official ruling on USSR entering “European” allied territory when at war with Japan?

    Japan and Germany are not allied at the start of the game are they?  USSR declaring war with Japan does not force them to declare war on Germany.

    UK starts off at war with Germany/Italy, but USSR does not and cannot provoke war with the European Axis until turn 4.  UK is not allied with USSR at the start of the game.  Just because USSR declares war with Japan, which is at peace with UK, doesn’t automatically ally USSR with UK.  Why would USSR be able to move ANY units into UK when they are not allied?

    My suspicion is that in this game, declaring war against an Axis power makes you an Allied power, and vice versa: very much like the ‘polarizing’ mechanic for neutral countries.

    So I believe that, for example, USSR planes could land on UK territory, since both are at war with an Axis power.

    The questions that urgently need to be answered are (1) whether or not USSR units would participate in the defence of a UK territory against the Germans (their sea units don’t when UK units are attacked by the Germans in the same sea zone), and if so (2) would such a battle constitute a declaration of war against the USSR by Germany, or would it be diplomatically inconsequential?

    The answers to these queries will have serious ramifications for early game Allied strategy, and should be clarified A.S.A.P.!


  • @Make_It_Round:

    @hobo:

    Is there still no official ruling on USSR entering “European” allied territory when at war with Japan?

    Japan and Germany are not allied at the start of the game are they?  USSR declaring war with Japan does not force them to declare war on Germany.

    UK starts off at war with Germany/Italy, but USSR does not and cannot provoke war with the European Axis until turn 4.  UK is not allied with USSR at the start of the game.  Just because USSR declares war with Japan, which is at peace with UK, doesn’t automatically ally USSR with UK.  Why would USSR be able to move ANY units into UK when they are not allied?

    my suspicion is that in this game, declaring war against an Axis power makes you an Allied power, and vice versa: very much like the ‘polarizing’ mechanic for neutral countries.

    So I believe that, for example, USSR planes could land on UK territory, since both are at war with an Axis power.

    The questions that urgently need to be answered are (1) whether or not USSR units would participate in the defence of a UK territory against the Germans (their sea units don’t when UK units are attacked by the Germans in the same sea zone), and if so (2) would such a battle constitute a declaration of war against the USSR by Germany, or would it be diplomatically inconsequential?

    The answers to these queries will have serious ramifications for early game Allied strategy, and should be clarified A.S.A.P.!

    Currently, I believe Kreighund has confirmed that once Russia is at war with Japan, AND the UK is ALSO at war with Japan, they are allowed to share spaces.  In order to share a friendly space, you must share a state of war with at least one power.  So no, I don’t believe the USSR can attack Japan and immediately move into UK spaces.  If, however, the UK declared war on Japan (as it is allowed to do), both the Soviets and the Brits can share a space, even in London.  Personally, I don’t think this is a good rule, and I hope it’s revised such that the USSR isn’t permitted to share any space in the european theatre until it’s at war in that theatre (including neutrals).  It strikes me as odd that a british unit moving into China is a declaration of war, while if the USSR attacks Japan (and the UK is at war with Japan), that Russia can move units into British Territories, yet somehow Germany wouldn’t see this as an aggressive action that somehow might threaten the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact, which in 1940 Stalin was still somewhat interested in maintaining for at least a little while longer.

    It has been also confirmed by Kreighund that you cannot attack a space containing any units that you’re not at war with, without a declaration of war against that power.  If a UK territory has russian units in it, Germany must declare war on Russia at the beginning of its combat movement in order to attack that territory.  Unlike seazones, all units in a territory WILL defend, or else you cannot attack them.


  • Actually, if both UK and Russia are at war(not necessarily with the same power) they can share territory.


  • @calvinhobbesliker:

    Actually, if both UK and Russia are at war(not necessarily with the same power) they can share territory.

    Right, that’s what I thought.

    So: if Germany wants to attack a UK territory with a neutral USSR unit in it, must Germany declare war on Russia before it can do so?


  • @Make_It_Round:

    @calvinhobbesliker:

    Actually, if both UK and Russia are at war(not necessarily with the same power) they can share territory.

    Right, that’s what I thought.

    So: if Germany wants to attack a UK territory with a neutral USSR unit in it, must Germany declare war on Russia before it can do so?

    Yes

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    I agree with you, Round, that it is absurd that Russia can join the UK on the Europe side of the board when it is not at war with Germany or Italy.  I have campaigned Krieghund and posted publicly on this board that this needs to be changed in the official FAQ.

    It appears you would “sign my petition” that the USSR and UK should not be allowed to share territories until the USSR is at war with Euro Axis.  As you said, this has a lot of ramifications.  If UK planes are not allowed to land in Russian controlled territories, and Russians are not allowed to join the Allies in places such as Egypt or London (forcing a DOW if Euro Axis wishes to attack any of these locations), it changes the game significantly.

    Until the FAQ comes out, I am just asking my opponents to agree to this rule.  That UK/USA and USSR may not share a land territory until USSR is at war with Germany/Italy.  It only makes sense, and it really should have been this way in the original rulebook.


  • this seems like a common sense, USSR and UK arent allied till they are at war with the same power


  • In which Sea zones (next to Europe) the US can’t stay during non war state? 103 - 108 and 118?


  • @Stefano1189:

    In which Sea zones (next to Europe) the US can’t stay during non war state? 103 - 108 and 118?

    Of those, it cannot be in Z104, which borders Spain

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    The US can’t enter any sea zone that is touching any European or African territory while neutral.  This includes Iceland.


  • Here is the question I got, can the USA and USSR invade neutral countries while not at war with one of the Axis powers?  Could the USA take all of South America while not at war with anyone?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Gharen:

    Here is the question I got, can the USA and USSR invade neutral countries while not at war with one of the Axis powers?  Could the USA take all of South America while not at war with anyone?

    No.  See the side bar on that one page (12 or something?  Don’t have the rulebook with me)

    No one can take over a neutral country while not at war.


  • Global on the way for me!!! … in four days  😞

    Anyways when it does come, can I use A@A revised pieces/IPC’s for global?


  • @Benerfe:

    Global on the way for me!!! … in four days  😞

    Anyways when it does come, can I use A@A revised pieces/IPC’s for global?

    No one’s stopping you.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    I’m using Classic IPC’s for global.  AA50 doesn’t have enough 10’s, but my 20 year old Classic set does (and it has way more 5’s than you’ll ever need  :roll:)


  • Just curious, reading page 9 AAE40 rulebook. If Italy declares war on USSR, it appears USSR can declare war on Germany. Is that how you read it?

    Page 10 is clear about the US being able to declare war “on any and all axis powers.” (after it is declared on by one axis) but page 9 is ambiguous about USSR. After all, USSR would not need to declare against Italy since it is already at war in the above question.

    The reason I asked, I was curious about Italy declaring war, then before USSR’s turn, Germany moves into a “friendly” Italian controlled territory within USSR while not being at war with them. It does not matter if USSR is able to declare war, however, if it is not able to declare against Germany, would it be able to counter attack a zone with German units? Would it simply ignore the German units and share the zone with them?

    Just something to think about.


  • @JamesAleman:

    Just curious, reading page 9 AAE40 rulebook. If Italy declares war on USSR, it appears USSR can declare war on Germany. Is that how you read it?

    Page 10 is clear about the US being able to declare war “on any and all axis powers.” (after it is declared on by one axis) but page 9 is ambiguous about USSR. After all, USSR would not need to declare against Italy since it is already at war in the above question.

    The reason I asked, I was curious about Italy declaring war, then before USSR’s turn, Germany moves into a “friendly” Italian controlled territory within USSR while not being at war with them. It does not matter if USSR is able to declare war, however, if it is not able to declare against Germany, would it be able to counter attack a zone with German units? Would it simply ignore the German units and share the zone with them?

    Just something to think about.

    You got the wording for the US conditions wrong (might be a typo): “it may declare war on any or all Axis powers.”

    The USSR conditions say: “the SU may not declare war on any Axis power before its 4th turn unless an Axis power declares war on it first”. Or, if you rewrite it: if an Axis power declares war on the USSR before its 4th turn, the USSR may declare war on any Axis power.

    On the situation you mentioned above, of Italy declaring war and taking an Russian territory with German units moving there, the USSR cannot attack that territory without a DoW made against Germany. The reason is on page 15 (on the black box regarding neutral powers): “A power can’t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war”.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Hobbes:

    The USSR conditions say: “the SU may not declare war on any Axis power before its 4th turn unless an Axis power declares war on it first”. Or, if you rewrite it: if an Axis power declares war on the USSR before its 4th turn, the USSR may declare war on any Axis power.

    You misquoted the rulebook.  On page 33 it says “The SU may not declare war on any European Axis power before turn four unless first declared war upon by a European Axis power.”

    The way you wrote it, the Soviet Union could declare war on Germany and Italy as soon as Japan declares war on the Soviet Union, which is NOT the case.  When you quote the rulebook, please quote it exactly!

    It appears then, that JamesAleman has a point.  Italy could declare war on the SU and take territory.  Then Germany could move into the Italian controlled original Soviet territory without declaring war, thereby collecting the “at peace” NO one more time.  On Russia’s turn, they would have no reason not to declare war on Germany, and they are entitled to do just that.  Then G won’t get the NO anymore, and R can attack G/I shared TT.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

50
Online

15.8k
Users

37.3k
Topics

1.6m
Posts