• As I recall, bases are not removed, as they can be used by the allies and don’t run counter to chinese rules.  As China doesn’t use factories for placement, they have no need for factories and are simply removed.  Air bases and naval bases can potentially be used, so they remain.

  • TripleA

    ok awesome now I remember what goes poof or not, that sounds right too. I remember playin that way.


  • So with these finalized rules and setups, does the setup apply for Pac. and Eur. when played separately also?

  • TripleA

    hell no lol. That is what the reprint is for. I think LH is going to make some adjustments to be honest.


  • [quote]
    So with these finalized rules and setups, does the setup apply for Pac. and Eur. when played separately also?
    [/quote]

    That was the intention, and Pacific alone originally drove the changes, which then morphed into the Global game.

    So yes, setup and rule changes will most likely apply to pac and europe with very minimal adjustment (switchouts of anzac in egypt, removal of russia from pacific for instance).  the outlier is whether national objectives work for the theater games.  In Pac the US may have too little when the objectives redesigned for the global game are used as they were balanced for the global us income which is significantly higher in global due to the east coast territories not seen in the pac theater (hence the original +40 bump which no longer exists in Alpha3)

  • TripleA

    Japan national objectives are super dumb as well. By dumb, I mean he gets 1 for dutch and then 1 for calcutta and anymore means he won the game with VCs.

  • TripleA

    if you are allies and non-combat move a ground unit into a pro allied territory such as persia, can you land an air unit that same turn?


  • @allweneedislove:

    if you are allies and non-combat move a ground unit into a pro allied territory such as persia, can you land an air unit that same turn?

    Strange wording - are you confusing “turn” with “round”?  Otherwise, allied or not, it shouldn’t matter.

    The following is an example of how it works:

    On Russia’s turn, they noncombat move into Persia and take control.  Russia CANNOT land an air unit there at the end of their noncombat phase as they did not control the territory at the start of the Russia’s turn. Russia’s turn ends.

    On UK’s next turn (which is in the same round), the UK CAN land planes in Persia, as it was friendly (an allied power controlled it) at the beginning of their turn.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Agree with kcd

    I do remember Krieghund answering this question

  • '10

    @Cow:

    Japan national objectives are super dumb as well. By dumb, I mean he gets 1 for dutch and then 1 for calcutta and anymore means he won the game with VCs.

    What’s that ?!?…

    Cow, you have an entire forum to post hundreds (thousands) of those (useless IMO)comments.

    Can you please keep this thread clean and post ONLY questions or eventually (if you are 200% sure) answers in this thread ?

    Thanks.

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    If US get Jet Fighter Tech does the Chinese Fighter get it too?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    No.  It’s considered a Chinese fighter, and the Chinese can’t get any tech.

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Thank you. That is what I told my enemy.
    (Of course he thought it an  dirty underhand trick!)

  • TripleA

    5 PUs if Japan controls all of Guam, Midway, Wake Island, Gilbert Islands, and Solomon Islands.

    When have you ever seen this? You show me a game where japan got this VC and I will show you a liar. I promise you a pacific victory will happen before that national objective is ever obtained.

    Axisplaya much of global is dumb like you, it is fact. The only thing that makes global playable is the fact that axis have to go for VCs and NOs.

    A nutless monkey can play germany.

    When you play the allies it is always, “the axis did this so I have do that.” There are no options, unless you want to lose.

    Japan has multiple strategies. Let me list them for you 1) rush calcutta 2) rush new south wales 3) expand and maintain 4) sino russia 5) sneak attack africa

    What does germany do? Barb, sea lion, or medit fleets. How easy are they in execution? Nutless monkey can do it.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Congratulations, Kevin, on being named geek of the week at board game geek!

    Was just there to start looking for A&A 1941 🙂

    Thanks for your attention to all of the FAQ threads at A&A.org - it is so nice to have access to you.

  • Official Q&A

    Thanks, but with you and kcdzim on the job I hardly have to show up here at all these days!


  • I may be mistaken, but as I understand it, the maximum damage possible on a minor complex is 6, and the maximum on a major is 20.

    Since majors are downgraded into minors if captured, if you do the maximum damage in strategic bombing to a major IC, then later conquer it before it can be repaired, then does that 20 damage become 6? Or do you not get free repairs for taking over a complex you destroyed, and it stays at 20 damage?


  • When the IC is downgraded, the damage is reduced to 6, the new maximum.

    Cow, Axisplaya isn’t trying to start a discussion with you.  This is the wrong thread for that.  Regardless of opinions you should talk about it elsewhere.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @Cow:

    Japan national objectives are super dumb as well. By dumb, I mean he gets 1 for dutch and then 1 for calcutta and anymore means he won the game with VCs.

    Agreed.  I think some Japanese NOs could change.

    Would like:

    1. 5 IPC for control of Alaska + Aleutian Islands (a place where Japan really did invade)
    2. 10 IPC for control of ALL Chinese territories
    3. 5 IPC for control of all the Dutch East Indies + Malaya
    4. 5 IPC for control of any 3 allied islands worth 0 IPC
    5. 5 IPC for control of Hawaii
    6. 5 IPC for control of any Australian continental territory (parts of actual Australia)

    Note: that’s a grand total of 35 IPC from NOs, more than any other nation (including the United States), but the odds of getting ALL of it are very minute unless the allies are totally trashed.

    For instance, numbers 1 and 4 should rarely occur, unless America’s ignoring the Pacific.  Numbers 2 and 3 can be stopped by India/Russia or even Australia/USA.  5 rarely happens now, so I doubt it’ll change much and 6 rewards Japan for invading Australia - something that I rarely see unless a really serious push is made to take ALL of Australia


  • That’s very nice Jen, but this is still the FAQ thread.
    Feel free to start a Japan NO thread with Cow.

  • Customizer

    I need clarification on the Chinese rule for removing Factories.

    My understanding:

    1. Chinese take over an Originally Chinese territory from Japan, that happens to contain a Factory.  The Factory is REMOVED.

    2. UK/USA/ANZAC/Russians take over an Originally Chinese territory from Japan (liberating it for China), that happens to contain a Factory.  The Factory is REMOVED.

    3. Chinese take over an Originally UK territory from Japan (liberating it for UK), that happens to contain a Factory.  The Factory STAYS.

    4. Chinese take over an Originally UK territory from Japan but India is controlled by the Axis, therefore the territory becomes Chinese, and it happens to contain a Factory.  The Factory is REMOVED.

    5. UK/USA/ANZAC/Russians take over an Originally UK territory from Japan, that happens to contain a Factory.  No matter whether UK has India or not, the Factory STAYS.

    Please correct me if I am wrong.

  • TripleA '12

    By no means do I have the complete Global/Pac 40 rules sussed out yet, but from what I understand I would say that you are correct on all five points.

  • '17

    @Veqryn:

    4. Chinese take over an Originally UK territory from Japan but India is controlled by the Axis, therefore the territory becomes Chinese, and it happens to contain a Factory.  The Factory is REMOVED.

    I am not sure about this one.

    “If a Japanese industrial complex is built on a Chinese territory and that territory is later recaptured by the Chinese or liberated by another Allied power, the industrial complex is removed from the game.”

    • P40 rules

    Also, I want to know, did this rule get updated anywhere to include German-built or Italian-built factories on originally Chinese territory?

  • Customizer

    @wheatbeer:

    @Veqryn:

    4. Chinese take over an Originally UK territory from Japan but India is controlled by the Axis, therefore the territory becomes Chinese, and it happens to contain a Factory.  The Factory is REMOVED.

    I am not sure about this one.

    “If a Japanese industrial complex is built on a Chinese territory and that territory is later recaptured by the Chinese or liberated by another Allied power, the industrial complex is removed from the game.”

    • P40 rules

    Also, I want to know, did this rule get updated anywhere to include German-built or Italian-built factories on originally Chinese territory?

    The territory becomes Chinese, therefore the factory should be destroyed.  That is my understanding.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Read it again, Veqryn.  Wheatbeer posted the correct applicable sentence.

    It says if a Japanese industrial complex is built on a Chinese territory.  In your example, it sounds like the Japanese industrial complex was built on a UK territory that was later converted to Chinese.  It would stay, because it was not built on a Chinese territory.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

42
Online

15.5k
Users

36.8k
Topics

1.5m
Posts