• '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @JamesAleman:

    If UK picks up men from Korea, and amphibiously drops them on Japan. Does Japan get to launch Kamikaze’s at the DD and CV in sea zone 6 (Japan’s home waters), provided they did not move during the combat phase?

    If the UK is using her transports to transport UK ground units, and the DD and CV are UK, then yes.  To avoid combat, you’d have to move the DD and CV out during combat move or else they could be targeted.

    I am aware that Japan, if they have surviving air units after USA hits them can still scramble to create a naval battle, but do they also get to Kamikaze as well if the only ships being activated are transports?

    No, kamikazes can only target surface warships.

    If I have to, I will use Anzac forces to occupy the remnants of Japan and plunder their capital. I just have very few UK units to clear the sea battle from a scramble, and losing the cv and dd may disrupt the amphibious assault. Just curious.

    Situation not clear enough.  Not sure what you are doing.

    This also creates another question. As above, USA is in z6 on turn 21. On turn 22, when they begin the attack to seize Japan, if they only move 11 transports into z6 from Hawaii, and bridge 4 additional units in from Korea using 2 existing transports, and only send in 7 fighters to join the 10 fighters and 6 tactical bombers already in z6; Does Japan get to launch Kamikazes at the 8 cv’s, bb, 4 dd’s that occupy Japan’s sz6 at the end of the combat movement phase? Does scrambling change the answer?

    Japan could use kamikazes against any USA surface warships that are in Z6, yes.

    The rule book for Japan 1940 page 14 under Kamikaze attack state that “If an allied player has moved ships into one of the above sea zones, The Japanese player can announce during this phase that he or she intends to launch a kamikaze attack. A kamikaze attack can target any specific enemy surface warships (not submarines or transports.)”  We are using a3 which I assume automatically permits the use of Kamikaze regardless of the old activation rules.

    Yes, activation rules died with Alpha2

    Does this mean they can target any specific enemy warship including UK, Anzac, and USA-[the active player] or just the US players ships?

    I think you’re confused about the fact that only the power whose turn it is, is involved.  Kamikazes can be used against any nation, but only the nation whose turn it is.  If it’s the USA’s turn, only the USA surface warships can be targeted, because in Axis and Allies you can only carry out attacks with one power at a time.

    That sounds like if the U.S. moves ships (transports) it triggers the option to attack. It sounds like UK having not move ships into the zone would be immune. It also mentions that Kamikaze attacks can disrupt naval bombardment-which I assume requires me to move ships into the zone to trigger. Anyone clear on how all of this would work?

    Yes.  Moving a ship into the zone in combat movement phase triggers possibility of kamikazes, but only against the aggressor’s ships in that zone.

    Disclaimer:  I have not yet scoured over the Alpha3 rules, but I haven’t heard that kamikazes were changed by Alpha 3.

  • Official Q&A

    @Gamerman01:

    @JamesAleman:

    That sounds like if the U.S. moves ships (transports) it triggers the option to attack. It sounds like UK having not move ships into the zone would be immune. It also mentions that Kamikaze attacks can disrupt naval bombardment-which I assume requires me to move ships into the zone to trigger. Anyone clear on how all of this would work?

    Yes.  Moving a ship into the zone in combat movement phase triggers possibility of kamikazes, but only against the aggressor’s ships in that zone.

    It is combat that triggers kamikaze use, not combat movement.  This is a change in the Alpha rules from the box rules.


  • The last time I was caught up on this thread it was 87 pages.  Now it is 183 pages and I have read every single post as of today.  My brain hurts but I feel very informed.  Thanks to everyone for asking the questions that most of us probably hadn’t thought of yet or encountered in a game, but probably will someday.


  • Can units that were hit by shore bombardment fire back?

    And: I remember there was a rule concerning loaded transports… Something about that you can’t have them after combat move? I can’t remember correctly, can somebody help?
    Thanks.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @ViribusUnitis:

    Can units that were hit by shore bombardment fire back?

    And: I remember there was a rule concerning loaded transports… Something about that you can’t have them after combat move? I can’t remember correctly, can somebody help?
    Thanks.

    Yes, units hit by bombardment fire back.
    You can have a partially loaded transport after a combat move if it didn’t load that turn.  So if you want to only drop one unit in combat move and still have one loaded, you have to have loaded it in the previous turn.
    You can’t pick up two units with a transport during combat move and only drop one off that turn.


  • Ok, But wasn’t there more? There was something with the US where shipping between Philippines and Hawaii was the only exception…

    In NCM you can load a Trans and slowly ship the units around the world without ever having to unload them. But in CM you have to load and unload units in the same turn. Correct?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @ViribusUnitis:

    Ok, But wasn’t there more? There was something with the US where shipping between Philippines and Hawaii was the only exception…

    I have no idea what you’re talking about here, but I have yet to read the Alpha3 changes.

    In NCM you can load a Trans and slowly ship the units around the world without ever having to unload them. But in CM you have to load and unload units in the same turn. Correct?

    That’s what I said.  You can’t pick up two units with a transport in combat move and only drop off one.  If you picked up one or two units in combat move and didn’t drop off any, it wouldn’t be a combat move.  In NCM you could pick up two and drop off one, leaving one on board if you want.
    Yes, in NCM you can always leave units on board and “slowly ship the units around the world”.  There’s no requirement to drop units by the end of your turn.

    So does that clear it up for you?


  • Nah, not really. But doesn’t really matter. Looks like I understood something wrong. Thanks anyway.


  • @ViribusUnitis:

    Nah, not really. But doesn’t really matter. Looks like I understood something wrong. Thanks anyway.

    In Alpha 3, while the US is neutral, they cannot end a noncombat move in a seazone adjacent to a japanese territory.  They can pass through such a seazone, and that is usually how one would reinforce the philippines; they cannot END a move next to a japanese territory.

    While neutral, the US does not have a combat move phase.


  • In Alpha 3+ when  Japan is not at war with the British, can they fly over British territories?


  • @loki17:

    In Alpha 3+ when  Japan is not at war with the British, can they fly over British territories?

    Yes, and they have been able to in all iterations of the rules as well.

    1. A power that is not neutral is free to fly over other territories with aircraft.
    2. Japan begins at war with China.
    3. UK/Anzac begin at war with Germany & Italy (even on the pacific boards, as only Russia has board specific neutrality).

    4. Neither Japan or UK are neutral, therefore both can fly over each other’s territories.

    The exception to the rules is that the UK or Anzac are not permitted to enter Chinese territories as a condition of their relations with Japan.  Doing so requires a declaration of war on Japan by UK/ANZAC prior to movement into China, even for flyovers.


  • When a sub attacks a destroyer and transport and on the first round both attacking sub and defending destroyer hits, does the defending transport survive?


  • @shohoku201:

    When a sub attacks a destroyer and transport and on the first round both attacking sub and defending destroyer hits, does the defending transport survive?

    Yes.  In such a battle, once all defending units besides transports are destroyed, an attacking unit with an attack value must remain alive after all casualties have been removed in order to clear the seazone of transports.


  • That’s right. The point of “defenseless transports” is to eliminate potentially endless rolling. If you can’t roll, no defenseless transports, no killing.

    Note that Aircraft Carriers can’t destroy defending transports.


  • Is a Destroyer allowed to ignore Subs?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @ViribusUnitis:

    Is a Destroyer allowed to ignore Subs?

    Everything can ignore subs and transports (note that they have been playing with rules about unescorted subs unloading in combat move over a defending sub - this is the only possible exception)

  • '17

    The current A3 rules on Larry Harris Game design give the US the follow NO:

    5 IPCs for each turn that the US has at least one land unit in the territory “France”. Theme: Great Alliance collaboration

    Is this meant to include Normandy and South France as well? (the quotation marks are making me second guess myself here)


  • I’m pretty sure it means France as in the territory containing Paris ONLY, otherwise it would’ve said “French Homeland Territories”

  • Sponsor

    @wheatbeer:

    The current A3 rules on Larry Harris Game design give the US the follow NO:

    5 IPCs for each turn that the US has at least one land unit in the territory “France”. Theme: Great Alliance collaboration

    Is this meant to include Normandy and South France as well? (the quotation marks are making me second guess myself here)

    The “territory” France means Paris.


  • @kcdzim:

    @loki17:

    In Alpha 3+ when  Japan is not at war with the British, can they fly over British territories?

    Yes, and they have been able to in all iterations of the rules as well.

    1. A power that is not neutral is free to fly over other territories with aircraft.
    2. Japan begins at war with China.
    3. UK/Anzac begin at war with Germany & Italy (even on the pacific boards, as only Russia has board specific neutrality).

    4. Neither Japan or UK are neutral, therefore both can fly over each other’s territories.

    The exception to the rules is that the UK or Anzac are not permitted to enter Chinese territories as a condition of their relations with Japan.  Doing so requires a declaration of war on Japan by UK/ANZAC prior to movement into China, even for flyovers.

    For that last part, can UK fly over territories that were originally Chinese if they are held by Japan (including the coastal territories)? 
    Also, can you retreat after you have destroyed every enemy unit in a battle?


  • I believe no to 1, but I’m not sure.

    As for #2, no.


  • I would like to ask a question.

    Can the US, while not at war, move its Atlantic fleet into Seazone 106, and its ground forces into New Brunswick/Nova Scotia?

    If not, then what exactly is the purpose of Canadian territories?


  • No but they can when at war.

    And they’re there because Canada exists…

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @KillOFzee:

    I would like to ask a question.

    Can the US, while not at war, move its Atlantic fleet into Seazone 106, and its ground forces into New Brunswick/Nova Scotia?

    If not, then what exactly is the purpose of Canadian territories?

    ??  That’s a very strange question.
    You do realize that once America is at war, she can use Canadian territories at will?
    Before that, Canadian territories are very good at holding UK units!


  • A few questions, some are review but I don’t remember the answers. Thanks.

    1. US takes Korea turn 3-due to Japan DOW on allies turn 3. Can USSR move into USA’s Korea turn 4, without a DOW on Japan?

    2. Allied armada in z6(Japan). On UK turn, they send 5 air units to strafe Japan-to weaken for Anzac capture. Can Japan scramble (to escape being strafed) and engage the UK navy and transports, that are not moved during Combat phase and plan to move during Noncombat? Will this freeze them? Can they move out first? Can they pick up land units and drop off land units (during combat, but as a noncombat move elsewhere)? Can the UK navy retreat, and since they did not attack from a zone, what zone can they retreat to? (This can autokill transports if UK has a small navy, compared to the allied force and are forbidden a retreat)-seems broken. Can Japan Kamikaze the navy as a result of the air only attack on Japan, thus clearing the 1 or 2 surface vessels and autokilling the UK transports within a giant multinational fleet? If no air attack on Japan, can Japan scramble anyway to freeze the navy so they get no Noncombat move?

    3. Japan builds 1 DD to prevent US armada from loading off of Korea. Is that right per page 13 AAE40 rulebook? Should the rule be changed to permit declared amphibious assaults that not only unload, but also permit loading in the zone after the naval battle. Seems broken as 8 IPCs locks down the whole US fleet indefinitely as they can not pick up the men during combat or noncombat without using a second transport fleet or moving by land to a different sea zone for next turn.

    Suggestion: Either restrict building in hostile waters; or force a battle during combat move of the builders turn(permit attacking with your production in effect); or permit the DD to be ignored for loading purposes; or force a battle during the place units phase of the builders turn as a special combat after placement with the producer getting defense dice and the aggressor getting assault dice, thus enabling the zone to be clear on the aggressors next turn, but still permit the placement of naval units in hostile waters-thus forcing a resolution to the contested zone. Permit the multinational aggressors a special joint strike, or permit them to choose which ally engages first, then second, then third until the zone is not contested; or permit a special preturn resolve hostile sea zone just before the aggressors turn begins to resolve the dispute and proceed normally this means the first ally in the lineup has to engage first; or permit the aggressors a 1 space move(retreat) prior to beginning their next turn(thus ensuring they start out in a friendly zone); or permit the aggressors a 1 space move(retreat) just after the hostile units are placed before beginning the next turn, thus ensuring a friendly zone. The easiest is simply to change the hostile zone rule so that it no longer restricts loading.

    4. Anzac and UK are at war with Germany and Italy at start of game per page 33, top paragraph of AAE40 rulebook. They also share a territory in Egypt OOB,A2, and A3. Can India and Anzac units move into each others territories and carriers/transports without a DOW on Japan? UK can land air units on Dutch Java per rulebook, can Anzac also land its air units there and land units and convert the Dutch territory to Anzac thus having UK planes on an Anzac territory on the Pacific Board?

    5. Japan has 2 subs in z6. USA sends transports, air units, and a dd,ca escort, choosing to not battle the subs so they can take Korea. Can Japan Kamikaze the dd and ca, thus forcing a sea battle and permit the now active subs the option to fend off the helpless transports? Can a scramble activate the subs, and thus fend off the transports assuming the subs hit (the dd and ca being the only targets they can hit) and the USA hits are applied to the defending Japanese planes?

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 8
  • 10
  • 25
  • 5
  • 7
  • 5
  • 203
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

73
Online

15.1k
Users

35.9k
Topics

1.5m
Posts