AAG40 FAQ


  • '10

    Question:

    Nation takes control of a friendly neutral on NonCom movement phase.  Can that same power land aircraft in that territory on that NonCom movement phase?



  • @DutchmanD:

    Question:

    Nation takes control of a friendly neutral on NonCom movement phase.  Can that same power land aircraft in that territory on that NonCom movement phase?

    No.
    1.  Only a land unit can take control of a friendly neutral during the noncom movement phase.
    2.  Air units can NEVER remain in a territory that was not controlled by you or a friendly power at the beginning of your turn.  Pro Ally or Pro Axis neutrals are not friendly powers; they are neutral.



  • Can you place Minor IC’s on territories with no IPC value? I’d like a seperate answer for Alpha 2+ if different from Alpha 3, since my group still plays 2+ frequently.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @kdfsjljklgjfg:

    Can you place Minor IC’s on territories with no IPC value? I’d like a seperate answer for Alpha 2+ if different from Alpha 3, since my group still plays 2+ frequently.

    No, Minor IC’s require a territory with IPC value of 2 or more.



  • This must have been answered before, sorry for the repeat questions, but can I load and unload transports during the combat movement phase, in a sea zone with only an enemy submarine in it?


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @Young:

    This must have been answered before, sorry for the repeat questions, but can I load and unload transports during the combat movement phase, in a sea zone with only an enemy submarine in it?

    Da Komrad.  The Red Oktober will not effect Deutshland’s move.



  • @Cmdr:

    @Young:

    This must have been answered before, sorry for the repeat questions, but can I load and unload transports during the combat movement phase, in a sea zone with only an enemy submarine in it?

    Da Komrad.  The Red Oktober will not effect Deutshland’s move.

    But only if you have surface warships as well.  If you only have transports, then the sub blocks all unloading in that seazone during the combat move (amphibious assaults).  You can instead choose to load and unload during the Non-combat phase, and the sub will have no effect.



  • Probly been answered times before…

    Do submerged submarines can disrupt convoys?

    Let’s say Japan has a Battleship, Cruiser and aircraft carrier in SZ5 and I just send a submarine there and submerge it, will it be able to disrupt convoy?

    And let’s say the answer is yes, if I, as Japan decide to build a destroyer in the zone to counter that, what happen? It gives the option to the American to engage battle or retreat one case away as soon as the destroyer is build or the convoy happen and it’s at the American’s turn to decide what he do.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @MightyPol:

    Probly been answered times before…

    Do submerged submarines can disrupt convoys?

    Let’s say Japan has a Battleship, Cruiser and aircraft carrier in SZ5 and I just send a submarine there and submerge it, will it be able to disrupt convoy?

    And let’s say the answer is yes, if I, as Japan decide to build a destroyer in the zone to counter that, what happen? It gives the option to the American to engage battle or retreat one case away as soon as the destroyer is build or the convoy happen and it’s at the American’s turn to decide what he do.

    Yes, they still convoy raid.



  • @Cmdr:

    @MightyPol:

    Do submerged submarines can disrupt convoys?

    Yes, they still convoy raid.

    Submerging is only a term for submarine’s special ability to withdraw from combat rather than roll, before other shots are fired.

    At the end of combat all submarines are no longer considered “submerged”.

    So yes, that sub will disrupt convoys, but it is NOT considered submerged.



  • On their second turn, Germany sends in 2 strategic bombers to bomb London’s IC with one escort fighter, and 1 tactical bomber to bomb the air base with 2 escort fighters, Britain has 3 fighters to scramble. Germany’s plan is to bomb the air base first, so it becomes unoperational in order to allow the strategic bomb run on the IC, without facing scrambled interceptors. Is this possible if I split my bombing campaigns into 2 separate operations? Would the UK be required (if they choose) to intercept the Tac bomber and escort knowing that their air base could get bombed disallowing them to scramble during the second bomb run? In the combat sequence it says 1. SBR 2. Amphibious Assaults 3. General combat, is it up to the attacker on which SBR is conducted first if their are 2 in the same combat phase?



  • @Young:

    On their second turn, Germany sends in 2 strategic bombers to bomb London’s IC with one escort fighter, and 1 tactical bomber to bomb the air base with 2 escort fighters, Britain has 3 fighters to scramble. Germany’s plan is to bomb the air base first, so it becomes unoperational in order to allow the strategic bomb run on the IC, without facing scrambled interceptors. Is this possible if I split my bombing campaigns into 2 separate operations? Would the UK be required (if they choose) to intercept the Tac bomber and escort knowing that their air base could get bombed disallowing them to scramble during the second bomb run? In the combat sequence it says 1. SBR 2. Amphibious Assaults 3. General combat, is it up to the attacker on which SBR is conducted first if their are 2 in the same combat phase?

    1.  Intercepters aren’t “scrambled”.  The defender can send up interceptors in a territory with any facility to defend against an SBR, with or without an airbase.

    2.  Though strategic bombing runs are rolled before other combats, scrambled fighters are placed in the territories they will defend at the end of the combat move phase.  It is impossible to premptively stop a scramble with an SBR to pave the way for a scramble-less naval battle on the same turn.



  • @kcdzim:

    @Young:

    On their second turn, Germany sends in 2 strategic bombers to bomb London’s IC with one escort fighter, and 1 tactical bomber to bomb the air base with 2 escort fighters, Britain has 3 fighters to scramble. Germany’s plan is to bomb the air base first, so it becomes unoperational in order to allow the strategic bomb run on the IC, without facing scrambled interceptors. Is this possible if I split my bombing campaigns into 2 separate operations? Would the UK be required (if they choose) to intercept the Tac bomber and escort knowing that their air base could get bombed disallowing them to scramble during the second bomb run? In the combat sequence it says 1. SBR 2. Amphibious Assaults 3. General combat, is it up to the attacker on which SBR is conducted first if their are 2 in the same combat phase?

    1.  Intercepters aren’t “scrambled”.  The defender can send up interceptors in a territory with any facility to defend against an SBR, with or without an airbase.

    2.  Though strategic bombing runs are rolled before other combats, scrambled fighters are placed in the territories they will defend at the end of the combat move phase.  It is impossible to premptively stop a scramble with an SBR to pave the way for a scramble-less naval battle on the same turn.

    Thanks, you answered my next question with that as well.


  • '12

    @kcdzim:

    @Young:

    On their second turn, Germany sends in 2 strategic bombers to bomb London’s IC with one escort fighter, and 1 tactical bomber to bomb the air base with 2 escort fighters, Britain has 3 fighters to scramble. Germany’s plan is to bomb the air base first, so it becomes unoperational in order to allow the strategic bomb run on the IC, without facing scrambled interceptors. Is this possible if I split my bombing campaigns into 2 separate operations? Would the UK be required (if they choose) to intercept the Tac bomber and escort knowing that their air base could get bombed disallowing them to scramble during the second bomb run? In the combat sequence it says 1. SBR 2. Amphibious Assaults 3. General combat, is it up to the attacker on which SBR is conducted first if their are 2 in the same combat phase?

    1.  Intercepters aren’t “scrambled”.  The defender can send up interceptors in a territory with any facility to defend against an SBR, with or without an airbase.

    2.  Though strategic bombing runs are rolled before other combats, scrambled fighters are placed in the territories they will defend at the end of the combat move phase.  It is impossible to premptively stop a scramble with an SBR to pave the way for a scramble-less naval battle on the same turn.

    Also, I was under the impression you don’t split bombing/escorting forces until after interception.  So in the above example the Germans are attacking with 2 SBR and 1 TAC, escorted by 3 FTR.  Only after the battle with the 3 defending fighters, does Germnay declare which unit is bombing what.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @moralecheck:

    @kcdzim:

    @Young:

    On their second turn, Germany sends in 2 strategic bombers to bomb London’s IC with one escort fighter, and 1 tactical bomber to bomb the air base with 2 escort fighters, Britain has 3 fighters to scramble. Germany’s plan is to bomb the air base first, so it becomes unoperational in order to allow the strategic bomb run on the IC, without facing scrambled interceptors. Is this possible if I split my bombing campaigns into 2 separate operations? Would the UK be required (if they choose) to intercept the Tac bomber and escort knowing that their air base could get bombed disallowing them to scramble during the second bomb run? In the combat sequence it says 1. SBR 2. Amphibious Assaults 3. General combat, is it up to the attacker on which SBR is conducted first if their are 2 in the same combat phase?

    1.  Intercepters aren’t “scrambled”.  The defender can send up interceptors in a territory with any facility to defend against an SBR, with or without an airbase.

    2.  Though strategic bombing runs are rolled before other combats, scrambled fighters are placed in the territories they will defend at the end of the combat move phase.  It is impossible to premptively stop a scramble with an SBR to pave the way for a scramble-less naval battle on the same turn.

    Also, I was under the impression you don’t split bombing/escorting forces until after interception.  So in the above example the Germans are attacking with 2 SBR and 1 TAC, escorted by 3 FTR.  Only after the battle with the 3 defending fighters, does Germnay declare which unit is bombing what.

    No, you have to declare what you are bombing when you send the bombers - to justify why they are there primarily.  However, you can take any unit you want as a loss if they scramble interceptors (hence why you bring the tacticals.)



  • @Cmdr:

    No, you have to declare what you are bombing when you send the bombers - to justify why they are there primarily.  However, you can take any unit you want as a loss if they scramble interceptors (hence why you bring the tacticals.)

    Based on my reading of the most recent rules, you’re incorrect.  You’re not required to declare what your target is until the split.  Since you cannot send either type of bomber unless it has a valid target, it’s unnecessary to justify what target it would go to:  If a defending territory only has a major factory, then tacs wouldn’t be allowed to go no matter what.  If the defending territory has a naval base and an airbase, any tacs sent will obviously only be targeting those.  And since the game seems to be designed so that there are a few chances for tactical misdirection, I doubt it’s written such that you need to show all your cards from the start.

    From HGD Alpha thread:
    1. Air Battle.

    2. Bombing Run
    Bombers are assigned to targets.
    Strategic bombers can be assigned to any target (IC’s, naval bases. airbase).
    Tactical bombers can be assigned only to naval bases and airbases.

    3. Bombs Away

    4. Damage Report

    There is no mention of preemptive declaration, and since choosing targets is specifically mentioned as step 2, it would be redundant to have it prior to step 1.



  • @moralecheck:

    @kcdzim:

    @Young:

    On their second turn, Germany sends in 2 strategic bombers to bomb London’s IC with one escort fighter, and 1 tactical bomber to bomb the air base with 2 escort fighters, Britain has 3 fighters to scramble. Germany’s plan is to bomb the air base first, so it becomes unoperational in order to allow the strategic bomb run on the IC, without facing scrambled interceptors. Is this possible if I split my bombing campaigns into 2 separate operations? Would the UK be required (if they choose) to intercept the Tac bomber and escort knowing that their air base could get bombed disallowing them to scramble during the second bomb run? In the combat sequence it says 1. SBR 2. Amphibious Assaults 3. General combat, is it up to the attacker on which SBR is conducted first if their are 2 in the same combat phase?

    1.  Intercepters aren’t “scrambled”.  The defender can send up interceptors in a territory with any facility to defend against an SBR, with or without an airbase.

    2.  Though strategic bombing runs are rolled before other combats, scrambled fighters are placed in the territories they will defend at the end of the combat move phase.  It is impossible to premptively stop a scramble with an SBR to pave the way for a scramble-less naval battle on the same turn.

    Also, I was under the impression you don’t split bombing/escorting forces until after interception.  So in the above example the Germans are attacking with 2 SBR and 1 TAC, escorted by 3 FTR.  Only after the battle with the 3 defending fighters, does Germnay declare which unit is bombing what.

    My reading of his question was not whether you can split the run to multiple targets in the same territory (you can, and it is after interception as you say).  Rather I was answering some rule confusion that made his proposition false:

    1.  You don’t “scramble” interceptors.
      “Scrambling” is a defensive move to a seazone during the combat move phase and requires an airbase.
      “Interception” is a defensive response in the territory being bombed and does not require an airbase.  It requires fighters to be in that territory being bombed.

    2. Splitting strategic bombing runs is fine, but there is no “order” you can use that would shut down one thing to affect another strategic bombing run in that same round -
      You cannot bomb an airbase to prevent “interceptors” from being “scrambled” against a bombing run on a factory (see item 1 as to why this is false).

    And, because I figured I knew where he was trying to go with this line of rule interpretation and wanted to pre-empt him, you cannot bomb an airbase to prevent “scrambling” in a seazone adjacent where a naval battle or amphibious assault will be.  The “scrambled” fighters are placed in the seazone during the combat move phase, before the bombers arrive to roll hits on the airbase in the combat phase.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Scrambling, in my mind, is what the Black Sheep Squadron did when the air raid siren went off.  It’s not a “game” move…


  • '12

    @kcdzim:

    @moralecheck:

    @kcdzim:

    @Young:

    On their second turn, Germany sends in 2 strategic bombers to bomb London’s IC with one escort fighter, and 1 tactical bomber to bomb the air base with 2 escort fighters, Britain has 3 fighters to scramble. Germany’s plan is to bomb the air base first, so it becomes unoperational in order to allow the strategic bomb run on the IC, without facing scrambled interceptors. Is this possible if I split my bombing campaigns into 2 separate operations? Would the UK be required (if they choose) to intercept the Tac bomber and escort knowing that their air base could get bombed disallowing them to scramble during the second bomb run? In the combat sequence it says 1. SBR 2. Amphibious Assaults 3. General combat, is it up to the attacker on which SBR is conducted first if their are 2 in the same combat phase?

    1.  Intercepters aren’t “scrambled”.  The defender can send up interceptors in a territory with any facility to defend against an SBR, with or without an airbase.

    2.  Though strategic bombing runs are rolled before other combats, scrambled fighters are placed in the territories they will defend at the end of the combat move phase.  It is impossible to premptively stop a scramble with an SBR to pave the way for a scramble-less naval battle on the same turn.

    Also, I was under the impression you don’t split bombing/escorting forces until after interception.  So in the above example the Germans are attacking with 2 SBR and 1 TAC, escorted by 3 FTR.  Only after the battle with the 3 defending fighters, does Germnay declare which unit is bombing what.

    My reading of his question was not whether you can split the run to multiple targets in the same territory (you can, and it is after interception as you say).  Rather I was answering some rule confusion that made his proposition false:

    1.  You don’t “scramble” interceptors.
      “Scrambling” is a defensive move to a seazone during the combat move phase and requires an airbase.
      “Interception” is a defensive response in the territory being bombed and does not require an airbase.  It requires fighters to be in that territory being bombed.

    2. Splitting strategic bombing runs is fine, but there is no “order” you can use that would shut down one thing to affect another strategic bombing run in that same round -
      You cannot bomb an airbase to prevent “interceptors” from being “scrambled” against a bombing run on a factory (see item 1 as to why this is false).

    And, because I figured I knew where he was trying to go with this line of rule interpretation and wanted to pre-empt him, you cannot bomb an airbase to prevent “scrambling” in a seazone adjacent where a naval battle or amphibious assault will be.  The “scrambled” fighters are placed in the seazone during the combat move phase, before the bombers arrive to roll hits on the airbase in the combat phase.

    My concern was that by splitting your bombers and escorts before the interception and trying to make them seperate battles, you are implying that your opponent has to split their interceptors between them, which is incorrect.  It’s fine to have it all planned out ahead as long as all the interception rolls are done together as one battle.


  • '11

    Please help with a rule-China retook Yunan on turn two and I put my buy and landed the Flying Tigers back in Yunan-my opponent believes this is illegal as Yunan was just recaptured.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @fighter:

    Please help with a rule-China retook Yunan on turn two and I put my buy and landed the Flying Tigers back in Yunan-my opponent believes this is illegal as Yunan was just recaptured.

    Your opponent is correct.  You cannot land a fighter on a territory that you did not control at the beginning of your (China’s) turn.  You CAN put your new infantry on the newly captured territory (only China can do this), but still can’t put an existing fighter on a newly conquered (liberated) territory.


  • '10

    OK, I think I know the answer to this one, but want to make sure….

    Are the islands in the PAC all ineligible for minor ICs in the Alpha 2?

    And everyone knows Australia is not an island, it’s a continent.



  • @DutchmanD:

    OK, I think I know the answer to this one, but want to make sure….

    Are the islands in the PAC all ineligible for minor ICs in the Alpha 2?

    And everyone knows Australia is not an island, it’s a continent.

    Yes, all islands are ineligible for ICs in Alpha 2; and Australia does not fulfill the definition of an island geographically or by the game rules.



  • During the combat movement phase of G1, Germany attacks SZ #109 with, 1 u-boat, 1 fighter, 2 tactical bombers, and 1 strategic bomber, the allies scramble 3 fighters from London into the battle. During the resolve combat phase Germany hits with the u- boat, and 1 strategic bomber for a total of 2 hits (the hit from the sub must be applied to the destroyer, and the allies also choose to move a French fighter behind the casualty line).

    For defense rolls, the UK misses with the destroyer but hits twice with fighters, now can Germany use the sub as a casualty even though the destroyer missed (I think so as long as there is a destroyer, subs can be used as casualties from hits by air units). In the next round, the sub will have nothing to hit because they can’t attack air units, and even though the air battle is still in progress, the sub can’t be hit by air units if their destroyer is off the board, is all this correct?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    All correct, grasshopper
    Yes, the sub can be taken in round one from an air hit, because a destroyer was present.
    Yes, once the destroyer is out of the battle, the sub will also be out of the battle because there are no enemy ships.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

46
Online

13.7k
Users

34.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts