UK sz110. 1 Destroyer, 2 Submarines
Germany enters sz110 with 1 Tactical and 3 loaded transport.
Can Germany do an amphibious assault?
Is the Seazone hostile until the Destroyer is removed or until all the combatmoves are completely done?
Per Alpha rules: Germany could NEVER do an amphibious assault in that instance. They have absolutely no method of removing the submarines from the board, and you WILL have battle as the UK destroyer makes the seazone hostile. Even if the UK didn’t have the destroyer, the 2 subs alone would have prevented the amphibious assault unless germany brought a surface warship with them. That tac can only hit the destroyer, and if, in the best circumstances, the destroyer and subs missed and the Tac hit, Germany must retreat or they eventually will lose three transports.
Per OOB rules: Germany could NEVER do an amphibious assault in that instance. They have absolutely no method of removing the submarines from the board, and you WILL have battle as the UK destroyer makes the seazone hostile. Once you’re in combat, the subs have no reason to submerge and combat won’t be resolved until there are no legal targets remaining. Since sub rolls count as hits to transports when there’s no other targets, eventually they’ll kill the transports unless Germany retreats, leaving the Tac alive but alone (if it managed to kill the destroyer without getting shot itself).
AND in OOB I think the UK gets to perform the sub sneak attack rule (not to be confused with the surprise strike rule) against the transports, rolling three dice and hitting on a roll of 2 or better (I’m out of practice with the sneak attack at this point as it’s been sacked as a rule). So…. SUPER bad idea.
That all said, there may be a fundamental misunderstanding of the rules going on here:
You cannot send a tactical bomber to attack a destroyer and two subs in order to kill the destroyer and then send 3 transports through in the same turn as a combat move.
All combat moves are performed before any dice are rolled. if you want to perform an amphib assault, that’s a combat move. So the tactical and three transports need to move into SZ110. then, during the combat phase, the tactical and 3 transports fight the destroyer and subs. It’s impossible to clean up the destroyer to make it legal to do the amphibious assault, unless you had some way to also destroy the subs in the same combat (you don’t) and you put the transports in harms way in the process.