• '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Just to clarify:

    11 Fighters, 8 Tactical Bombers, 2 Strategic Bombers always kill 2 AA Guns on defense, if they have no defending units, right? (Picked large numbers to overwhelm the possibility that all AA Gun shots hit.)  Alpha 3 rules, of course.    They don’t just live because there are no attacking ground forces or anything like that, right?


  • if a sz with only a trns is attacked, can you scramble air units to defend it (alpha 2)??? ive always assumed yes but the rules are odd:

    "A quick reaction team of no more than 3 defending fighters and/or tactical bombers (strategic bombers can’t scramble) located on islands and coastal territories that have operative air bases can be scrambled to defend against attacks in the adjacent sea zones.Air units can be scrambled to help friendly naval units in adjoining sea zones that have come under attack. "

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @thatonekid:

    if a sz with only a trns is attacked, can you scramble air units to defend it (alpha 2)??? ive always assumed yes but the rules are odd:

    "A quick reaction team of no more than 3 defending fighters and/or tactical bombers (strategic bombers can’t scramble) located on islands and coastal territories that have operative air bases can be scrambled to defend against attacks in the adjacent sea zones.Air units can be scrambled to help friendly naval units in adjoining sea zones that have come under attack. "

    Transports are valid targets for attack.  They may only be selected after everything else is dead, but they are included as actual ships for naval battles.  My understanding is that yes, you can scramble fighters to protect “undefended” friendly transports as if they were any other ship.  Same is true for Submarines, etc.  Of course, if the “undefended” transport is being attacked by nothing but submarines, it’s rather a moot issue.

  • Official Q&A

    @Cmdr:

    Just to clarify:

    11 Fighters, 8 Tactical Bombers, 2 Strategic Bombers always kill 2 AA Guns on defense, if they have no defending units, right? (Picked large numbers to overwhelm the possibility that all AA Gun shots hit.)  Alpha 3 rules, of course.    They don’t just live because there are no attacking ground forces or anything like that, right?

    Yes.  The AA guns fire, then are destroyed.


  • @thatonekid:

    if a sz with only a trns is attacked, can you scramble air units to defend it (alpha 2)??? ive always assumed yes but the rules are odd:

    "A quick reaction team of no more than 3 defending fighters and/or tactical bombers (strategic bombers can’t scramble) located on islands and coastal territories that have operative air bases can be scrambled to defend against attacks in the adjacent sea zones.Air units can be scrambled to help friendly naval units in adjoining sea zones that have come under attack. "

    Yes.
    Actually, you can scramble Ftr (and Tac Bomber for that matter) period… giving the airbase doesn’t have 3 or more hits on it. I mean, you can scramble up to 3 planes per airbase even if the defender doesn’t have any ships at all in the sz where the attack comes from.

  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    Can you scramble to defend a transport even if it’s JUST attacked by a sub?

    YES I am aware you cannot hit the sub.  But what if you scramble anyways, so that you move from the territory you are in, to a sea zone?

    There is a reason for this.  Say for example a german sub attacks a Russian transport in Sz115.  1 fighter is in Leningrad, about to be blitzed by 8 tanks.  Can I scramble?  And then after said territory is lost?  Land in Vyborg or some other place?


  • @Gargantua:

    Can you scramble to defend a transport even if it’s JUST attacked by a sub?

    YES I am aware you cannot hit the sub.  But what if you scramble anyways, so that you move from the territory you are in, to a sea zone?

    There is a reason for this.  Say for example a german sub attacks a Russian transport in Sz115.  1 fighter is in Leningrad, about to be blitzed by 8 tanks.   Can I scramble?  And then after said territory is lost?  Land in Vyborg or some other place?

    Per the letter of the rules, yes.  Despite the fact that you couldn’t hit a sub in that instance, you can scramble against any battle (or possibility for a battle).

    Obviously, regarding landing, your planes only have one move, so it’s either SZ114, vyborg, baltic states, finland, or a captured sweden.


  • Question: Alpha 2 or 3

    If UK takes Marianas Islands on turn 2, can a neutral US move to that sea zone on turn 3 since it is no longer a Japanese held island?

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @JamesAleman:

    Question: Alpha 2 or 3

    If UK takes Marianas Islands on turn 2, can a neutral US move to that sea zone on turn 3 since it is no longer a Japanese held island?

    Yes


  • Sorry for this question on this thread – I am not sure where the appropriate thread is for this question, but help is appreciated.

    I’ve just opened Abattlemap, 0.79 version, and the unit tray is missing. The unit tray is the little box with all the units, control markers and facilities that allows players to add more units to the game board.

    Does anyone know how to get it back? Tough to make moves without it!

    Thanks!

    Cheers


  • @Jmite:

    Sorry for this question on this thread – I am not sure where the appropriate thread is for this question, but help is appreciated.

    I’ve just opened Abattlemap, 0.79 version, and the unit tray is missing. The unit tray is the little box with all the units, control markers and facilities that allows players to add more units to the game board.

    Does anyone know how to get it back? Tough to make moves without it!

    Thanks!

    Cheers

    I copied this from a friends private message to me when I started Abattlemap:

    _A quick tutorial on using ABattleMap:

    • Navigating is done by holding down the right mouse button and moving the mouse.
    • Placing new units in a territory is done by left clicking on the desired unit in the ToolBar window, and then left clicking in the desired territory. To place 5 units at a time, hold SHIFT. To place 10 units at a time, hold CTRL.
    • Deleting units is done by clicking the middle mouse button on the desired unit, or by changing the mouse function to delete by clicking “DEL” in the upper right corner of the ABattleMap window. To delete 5 units at a time, hold SHIFT. To delete 10 units at a time, hold CTRL. To get back to the default mouse function, click “ESC” in the upper right corner of the ABattleMap window.
    • Moving units from from a territory to another is done by dragging them with the left mouse button. To drag 5 units at a time, hold SHIFT. To drag 10 units at a time, hold CTRL. To drag a whole stack of units, hold CTRL+SHIFT.
    • Undoing a recent action is done by clicking “UNDO” in the upper right corner of the ABattleMap window.
    • Zooming in is done by pressing “+” on the numpad. Zooming out is done by pressing “-” on the numpad.
      *** Recovering the InfoView and ToolBar window after they mysteriously disappeared is done by removing the “ABattleMap.ini” file from your ABattleMap folder (default: C:\Program Files\ABattleMap).**_
  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @JamesAleman:

    @Jmite:

    Sorry for this question on this thread – I am not sure where the appropriate thread is for this question, but help is appreciated.

    I’ve just opened Abattlemap, 0.79 version, and the unit tray is missing. The unit tray is the little box with all the units, control markers and facilities that allows players to add more units to the game board.

    Does anyone know how to get it back? Tough to make moves without it!

    Thanks!

    Cheers

    I copied this from a friends private message to me when I started Abattlemap:

    _A quick tutorial on using ABattleMap:

    • Navigating is done by holding down the right mouse button and moving the mouse.
    • Placing new units in a territory is done by left clicking on the desired unit in the ToolBar window, and then left clicking in the desired territory. To place 5 units at a time, hold SHIFT. To place 10 units at a time, hold CTRL.
    • Deleting units is done by clicking the middle mouse button on the desired unit, or by changing the mouse function to delete by clicking “DEL” in the upper right corner of the ABattleMap window. To delete 5 units at a time, hold SHIFT. To delete 10 units at a time, hold CTRL. To get back to the default mouse function, click “ESC” in the upper right corner of the ABattleMap window.
    • Moving units from from a territory to another is done by dragging them with the left mouse button. To drag 5 units at a time, hold SHIFT. To drag 10 units at a time, hold CTRL. To drag a whole stack of units, hold CTRL+SHIFT.
    • Undoing a recent action is done by clicking “UNDO” in the upper right corner of the ABattleMap window.
    • Zooming in is done by pressing “+” on the numpad. Zooming out is done by pressing “-” on the numpad.
      *** Recovering the InfoView and ToolBar window after they mysteriously disappeared is done by removing the “ABattleMap.ini” file from your ABattleMap folder (default: C:\Program Files\ABattleMap).**_

    This used to be a HUGE problem back in classic and it was discovered that the trays had a higher chance of disappearing if you put them on the edge of the map.  I prefer the Indian Ocean for mine now, used to be Brazil, but, as I said, edge of the map = problems. (No, I dont know if they fixed it, but I doubt it given the question.)


  • Question which may have been asked before, not sure. Suppose my fighter is on a friendly carrier. If that friendly carrier moves 2 spaces in its turn, can I still move my fighter 4 spaces in my turn? The same goed for the other way around. When I land my fighter on a friendly carrier after moving 4 spaces, can the carrier move 2 more in its own turn? This would imply my fighter has moved 6 spaces before my next turn. Thanks


  • @Admiral:

    Question which may have been asked before, not sure. Suppose my fighter is on a friendly carrier. If that friendly carrier moves 2 spaces in its turn, can I still move my fighter 4 spaces in my turn? The same goed for the other way around. When I land my fighter on a friendly carrier after moving 4 spaces, can the carrier move 2 more in its own turn? This would imply my fighter has moved 6 spaces before my next turn. Thanks

    Yes.  your unit movement does not affect other players movement.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    That’s one of the advantages to landing on your ally’s carrier.

    Disadvantages include:

    1. Plane is cargo if your ally attacks with the carrier.  It takes up landing space preventing your ally from landing his planes on his own carrier, and if he takes his carrier as a casualty, your plane(s) goes down with it.
    2. Gap in switching planes back
      US lands planes on UK carrier.  When the US decides it needs the planes elsewhere (or they attack and are destroyed) then the UK fleet is not as well defended between the USA turn and the UK turn.  Germany goes in between and has a better shot on the fleet, before the UK gets a chance to fly her own planes onto the vacated spots. (AA50 example)  In Alpha3 the US and UK go back to back!!?? but between UK and US, Germany and Japan go.  You get the idea.

    So yes, you can effectively move a fighter 6 spaces in a game round using allied carriers, but not without some potential disadvantages!

  • '12

    Disadvantage 1a) If your ally attacks with with his carrier and it gets damaged while your fighter/tac is on it as cargo, your fighter/tac is stuck on board until the carrier gets repaired.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @moralecheck:

    Disadvantage 1a) If your ally attacks with with his carrier and it gets damaged while your fighter/tac is on it as cargo, your fighter/tac is stuck on board until the carrier gets repaired.

    Yes, thank you.  Been playing AA50 exclusively lately.  I’d better be more careful when posting to the 1940 threads.


  • On page 9 of the 1940 Pacific manual:1st sentence, second paragraph under Political Situation on the bottom left side of the page: it states that UK/Anzac may take possession of Dutch territories and French Indo China….is that true in Global? I never noticed before last night that you can grab FIC also.


  • @JamesAleman:

    On page 9 of the 1940 Pacific manual:1st sentence, second paragraph under Political Situation on the bottom left side of the page: it states that UK/Anzac may take possession of Dutch territories and French Indo China….is that true in Global? I never noticed before last night that you can grab FIC also.

    They cannot take control of FIC unless Japan seizes the territory first.  Otherwise it will remain French.

  • Official Q&A

    The Political Situation rules in the Pacific Rulebook have been entirely replaced with those in the Pacific FAQ.


  • @Ruanek:

    @garett:

    Can you move 2 (with mech or tanks) onto a transport?

    Can you move 2 (with mech or tanks) off of a transport?

    I’m not really sure what your question is.

    A transport can hold 1 of any land unit, plus one (non-mechanized) infantry.  So it can have a tank/mech. infantry/artillery/AA gun/infantry and an infantry.  It can’t hold both a tank and a mechanized infantry.  If they’re being loaded in the same turn, it has to be in the same phase (both during the combat phase or both during the non-combat phase) and they have to be offloaded in the same phase as well.  If they’re being loaded and offloaded in the same turn it has to be within the same phase (you can’t load in the combat phase and offload in that turn’s non-combat phase).

    Edit: It seems that your post may be better answered below, depending on what exactly the question was.

    Does this mean that a transport can hold 2 artillery? or is it 1 infantry and 1 tank/artillery/mech./AA gun/infantry?


  • @Juhlius:

    @Ruanek:

    @garett:

    Can you move 2 (with mech or tanks) onto a transport?

    Can you move 2 (with mech or tanks) off of a transport?

    I’m not really sure what your question is.

    A transport can hold 1 of any land unit, plus one (non-mechanized) infantry.  So it can have a tank/mech. infantry/artillery/AA gun/infantry and an infantry.  It can’t hold both a tank and a mechanized infantry.  If they’re being loaded in the same turn, it has to be in the same phase (both during the combat phase or both during the non-combat phase) and they have to be offloaded in the same phase as well.  If they’re being loaded and offloaded in the same turn it has to be within the same phase (you can’t load in the combat phase and offload in that turn’s non-combat phase).

    Edit: It seems that your post may be better answered below, depending on what exactly the question was.

    Does this mean that a transport can hold 2 artillery? or is it 1 infantry and 1 tank/artillery/mech./AA gun/infantry?

    No.  It can hold one unit of any type plus one infantry.  So it could have 2 infantry, an infantry or an artillery, an infantry and a mech. infantry, an infantry and a tank, or an infantry and an AA gun.

  • '10

    It is proper use of a transport to do the following:

    Load a German on an italian Tnp, then on the Italian turn, the Italian loads in the combat move and unleads in the same combat move with the same tnp, leaving the German on the tnp?

    In other words, is a tnp with a friendly on it able to participate in amphibious combat activity so long as it leaves the friendly on board as cargo?

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @DutchmanD:

    It is proper use of a transport to do the following:

    Load a German on an italian Tnp, then on the Italian turn, the Italian loads in the combat move and unleads in the same combat move with the same tnp, leaving the German on the tnp?

    In other words, is a tnp with a friendly on it able to participate in amphibious combat activity so long as it leaves the friendly on board as cargo?

    Yes


  • I have a question.  On the turn that Japan declares war on UK/Anzac, can they move through zones that have UK or Anzac or US destroyers during the combat movement phase, or do those zones turn hostile the moment the DOW occurs and before the combat move phase?

    Cheers

Suggested Topics

  • 14
  • 25
  • 4
  • 5
  • 7
  • 2
  • 2897
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

40
Online

16.0k
Users

37.6k
Topics

1.6m
Posts