AAG40 FAQ


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @kcdzim:

    all combat is effectively done at the exact same time.  While you can choose which battle to run first, they’re all simultaneous,

    There is one constraint.  The player is to conduct all SBR’s first, then all amphibious assaults and necessary requisite sea battles, and finally, all other battles after that.

    See the 1, 2, 3 at the top of page 16

    (I was oblivious to this oft-overlooked rule until a game with Funcioneta where he promptly pointed out that I was rolling my battles out of order)



  • if there are two ships in a seazone, and one of them is not at war with japan, then does japan have to attack all of the ships in the sz, or do you just ignore some??? and also, if france declares war on japan, to use the destroyer, does that mean japan can take FIC and still get the bonus.?



  • if there are two ships in a seazone, and one of them is not at war with japan, then does japan have to attack all of the ships in the sz, or do you just ignore some? and also, if france declares war on japan, to use the destroyer, does that mean japan can take FIC and still get the bonus.?



  • why was my post immeadiatly flagged as spam……?  😮



  • lets see if it works on this topic……

    if there are two ships in a seazone, and one of them is not at war with japan, then does japan have to attack all of the ships in the sz, or do you just ignore some? and also, if france declares war on japan, to use the destroyer, does that mean japan can take FIC and still get the bonus.?



  • This is not a question about Global 40 but I’m just gonna ask it here so I can get an answer as fast as possible (we are planning to play this evening)…

    It’s about the 50th Edition, is there any balance fixes we can do, (like the Alpha+ editions) or anything you guys suggest in order to make the game more balanced?

    Once again, i’m talking about the 50th Anniversary Edition



  • @MightyPol:

    This is not a question about Global 40 but I’m just gonna ask it here so I can get an answer as fast as possible (we are planning to play this evening)…

    It’s about the 50th Edition, is there any balance fixes we can do, (like the Alpha+ editions) or anything you guys suggest in order to make the game more balanced?

    Once again, i’m talking about the 50th Anniversary Edition

    You’ll get a better answer, probably quicker, if you post this in the AA50 thread, especially since AA50 was a limited release and many players here didn’t have the opportunity to get it.

    Off the top of my head, there are optional rules in the errata that can be used if you feel there are balance problems - Closing the Dardanelles, for example, is a pretty common one that prevents Italy and Germany from doing amphibs from the Black Sea.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @MightyPol:

    This is not a question about Global 40 but I’m just gonna ask it here so I can get an answer as fast as possible (we are planning to play this evening)…

    It’s about the 50th Edition, is there any balance fixes we can do, (like the Alpha+ editions) or anything you guys suggest in order to make the game more balanced?

    Once again, i’m talking about the 50th Anniversary Edition

    You can close the Dardanelles, as kcd suggested.
    I used to close the Dardanalles and also disallow new island complexes (hampers Japan by not allowing 4 production IC’s in the South Pacific).  This is a favorite variation of Mr. Harris himself, and he carried this forward into 1940.

    Usually what people here do is give the Allies 6-12 IPC’s worth of stuff to add to the setup (for 1941 scenario).  My opinion is they need more like 18 or 20.  You should not use the 2 optional rules above along with the Allied extra units.  It’s either/or.

    Another idea is to just give China about 4-6 more infantry, and/or move the flying tigers back, out of J1 striking distance.



  • When a sub is convoy raiding a zone does it do ipc damage to all powers with eritories touches the sea zone. Ie zone 82 Italy has gold coast and fwa German has fea do both of them lose ipcs?



  • @i:

    When a sub is convoy raiding a zone does it do ipc damage to all powers with eritories touches the sea zone. Ie zone 82 Italy has gold coast and fwa German has fea do both of them lose ipcs?

    Yes.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @i:

    When a sub is convoy raiding a zone does it do ipc damage to all powers with eritories touches the sea zone. Ie zone 82 Italy has gold coast and fwa German has fea do both of them lose ipcs?

    You do the check at the end of each power’s turn (see page 22).  Enemy warships in convoy zones adjoining your territories?  Then you lose the IPC’s.

    A single sub could potentially disrupt 9 IPC’s per game round.  If, for crazy example, the Axis had a sub in Z97 and Russia controls Greece, UK controls Yugo, USA controls South Italy, France controls North Italy, and ANZAC controls Albania.  Each and every allied power would lose 2 IPC’s of income (ANZAC only 1, because Albania is only worth 1) on their turn.  🙂



  • Wow that’s a lot.P


  • Official Answers

    Alpha 3 is now posted.  The Official Rules Clarifications still apply.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @i:

    Wow that’s a lot.P

    😄 Wouldn’t it be great to do that to somebody?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Krieghund:

    Alpha 3 is now posted.  The Official Rules Clarifications still apply.

    I have a question already.  The rules say Mongolia becomes Russian if Japan attacks Amur.  So Japan can attack any other Russian territory at any time without any penalty?

    I’m sure there will be more as I read these rules for the first time.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    No more questions after reading through, but an observation:

    Yay, AA guns have been “fixed”!  At last, a single AA gun cannot shoot at unlimited fighters and bombers.  What a huge improvement.  Also note that AA guns can be taken as casualties  😮 and that several AA guns have been added to setup (London gets 4)



  • Alpha + 3 question. Does ANZAC’s capitol not count if the allies hold all axis capitols?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @gamerman01:

    No more questions after reading through, but an observation:

    Yay, AA guns have been “fixed”!  At last, a single AA gun cannot shoot at unlimited fighters and bombers.  What a huge improvement.  Also note that AA guns can be taken as casualties  😮 and that several AA guns have been added to setup (London gets 4)

    Since posting this, I realize what ramifications this has on Sealion.  4 more casualties in London at game start.  Boo.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Mino1124:

    Alpha + 3 question. Does ANZAC’s capitol not count if the allies hold all axis capitols?

    No, it doesn’t appear to count, as only the 4 more major world power centers of Washington, Paris, London and Moscow were listed.

    However, it seems quite bizarre that the Allies could win, holding Tokyo, Berlin, Rome, and Paris, but not Washington, London, Moscow, or Sydney….

    And how would it EVER happen that Allies would control Tokyo, Berlin, Rome, and Sydney, but none of the other 4?



  • @Mino1124:

    Alpha + 3 question. Does ANZAC’s capitol not count if the allies hold all axis capitols?

    In the RARE case that the Allies hold Rome, Berlin, and Tokyo, but have lost Paris, London, Moscow AND Washington?

    no, it wouldn’t count.  niether would Calcutta.


  • '10

    Has a Tac in Wger been removed or not in Alpha 3 ?



  • Is the Italian NO for Caucasus gone?



  • @Axisplaya:

    Has a Tac in Wger been removed or not in Alpha 3 ?

    W. Germany still has 3 tacs.  I too saw that it was 2 tacs for a while.  However, if you go back to the official thread now, it states 3 tactical bombers for W. Germany again.


  • Official Answers

    @gamerman01:

    The rules say Mongolia becomes Russian if Japan attacks Amur.  So Japan can attack any other Russian territory at any time without any penalty?

    Yes.  Only an attack from Manchuria and/or Korea into Amur will trigger Mongolia.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Krieghund:

    @gamerman01:

    The rules say Mongolia becomes Russian if Japan attacks Amur.  So Japan can attack any other Russian territory at any time without any penalty?

    Yes.  Only an attack from Manchuria and/or Korea into Amur will trigger Mongolia.

    A good question came up on another thread.  What about aircraft in Manchuria/Korea?  Could they accompany an amphibious assault, without incurring the wrath of the Mongolians?  Do they have to follow a flight plan that goes out to sea and back so they’re not crossing the Amu/Kor or Amu/Man borders??


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

39
Online

13.6k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts