• I understand India can never collect income from Europe side even if London is under axis control, am I corrected?
    Even if UK’s units retake territories from axis (say Egypt or Ethiopia) while London still under occupation. Right?

    And the other way around, London can never collect from territories in Pacific map. Right?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @BigBadBruce:

    I understand India can never collect income from Europe side even if London is under axis control, am I corrected?
    Even if UK’s units retake territories from axis (say Egypt or Ethiopia) while London still under occupation. Right?

    And the other way around, London can never collect from territories in Pacific map. Right?

    That’s right.
    The other Allies (even ANZAC) can take control of these territories and collect income, but Calcutta can never collect income from the UK territories on the Europe board and London can never collect income from UK territories on the Pacific board.

    This is consistent with rulebook language on page 32 that says “UK units purchased and placed on the Pacific map can only be bought with IPCs generated on the Pacific map.  Likewise, UK units purchased and placed on the Europe map can only be bought with IPCs generated on the Europe map”

    This is a special rule under “Global United Kingdom Rules”, and since there is no such rule for other powers, ANZAC could potentially collect IPC’s from Scotland (London under Axis control), but Calcutta can not ever collect income from Scotland or even Central Persia, which is just 2 territories to the West of West India.

    Russia could possibly collect income from controlling New Zealand and all of Australia except NSW (if New South Wales under Axis control), but London can never collect from West India or India  😮

  • 2020 '19 '18 '15 '13

    My question relates to when the US declares war in AAGlobal Alpha +2. After London is taken on G2, can the US declare war on Japan / Germany in the Conduct Combat phase of their next turn (the same round)? Or, must it be just before the Collect Income Phase? Thanks!


  • When London is captured, America may declare war at the beginning of the combat move phase.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    That’s right.  USA has to wait until the collect income phase of turn 3 only when none of the conditions have been met.  All other DOW’s in the game are done at the beginning of the turn.

    I just looked at my copy of Alpha2 rules.  Do you have them?  #9 clearly states that the US declares war on any or all Axis powers at the beginning of the Combat Move phase of its next turn if London and/or any territory in North America is captured by an Axis power.  I’m not asking this to criticize, I’m wondering if you need us to direct you to Larry’s Alpha2 rules, if you don’t have a copy.


  • @gamerman01:

    @BigBadBruce:

    And the other way around, London can never collect from territories in Pacific map. Right?

    That’s right.
    The other Allies (even ANZAC) can take control of these territories and collect income, but Calcutta can never collect income from the UK territories on the Europe board and London can never collect income from UK territories on the Pacific board.

    Other than the exceptions in Alpha 2 that London collects for British Colombia and Calcutta collects for West India.

  • 2007 AAR League

    Ok, here’s one out of left field.  G40 Alpha+2 with Tech.

    UK want’s to roll for Tech, what are the rules?
    Can you allocate money from each Theater for the common goal, say 5 from London, 5 from India?
    If you get tech does it apply throughout the empire?

    Gamer, feel free to chime in but I’m looking for an Official Ruling, so if you have a position please site the relevant passage.


  • @Emperor:

    Ok, here’s one out of left field.  G40 Alpha+2 with Tech.

    UK want’s to roll for Tech, what are the rules?
    Can you allocate money from each Theater for the common goal, say 5 from London, 5 from India?
    If you get tech does it apply throughout the empire?

    Gamer, feel free to chime in but I’m looking for an Official Ruling, so if you have a position please site the relevant passage.

    From the Official Rule Clarifications (as it’s not specifically stated in the rulebook so there is no page number):

    @Krieghund:

    If the United Kingdom does Research and Development, either or both economies can pay for it, and both will share in the results.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Mollari, I’ve been promoted.  🙂
    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=24408.30
    Look at the first post of this new rules discussion thread (this FAQ thread is now passe).  I’ve been deputized and you can stop saying my rules posts are not official  🙂

    I would add to kcdzim’s excellent answer, that it has been pointed out by Krieghund in the past that you can actually spend non-multiples of 5 from each economy.  You could, for example, spend 1 IPC from UK and 4 from India to buy a research die.

  • 2007 AAR League

    @kcdzim:

    @Emperor:

    Ok, here’s one out of left field.  G40 Alpha+2 with Tech.

    UK want’s to roll for Tech, what are the rules?
    Can you allocate money from each Theater for the common goal, say 5 from London, 5 from India?
    If you get tech does it apply throughout the empire?

    Gamer, feel free to chime in but I’m looking for an Official Ruling, so if you have a position please site the relevant passage.

    From the Official Rule Clarifications (as it’s not specifically stated in the rulebook so there is no page number):

    @Krieghund:

    If the United Kingdom does Research and Development, either or both economies can pay for it, and both will share in the results.

    @gamerman01:

    Mollari, I’ve been promoted.  🙂
    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=24408.30
    Look at the first post of this new rules discussion thread (this FAQ thread is now passe).  I’ve been deputized and you can stop saying my rules posts are not official  🙂

    I would add to kcdzim’s excellent answer, that it has been pointed out by Krieghund in the past that you can actually spend non-multiples of 5 from each economy.  You could, for example, spend 1 IPC from UK and 4 from India to buy a research die.

    Thanks guys…now for the bonus question.  UK got War Bonds, does each capital (London\Calcutta) roll separate WB dice or is it one roll split the money how every you want?

  • Official Q&A

    Roll one die, and split the IPCs between the two economies in any way that you like, including all of them to one economy.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Looks like all’s quiet on the Western front!


  • In Alpha +2 it says:

    “The United States Navy, while being neutral, has the following movement restrictions. […] In the Pacific it can only end naval movements in sea zones that are not adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories and islands.”

    Does this mean:

    Sea zones that are adjacent to sea zones “containing” the Japanese-controlles territory? For example SZ 23, 24 or 16…

    or

    Sea zones that  “contain” the Japanese-controlles territory? For example SZ 6, 17 or 34…

    Thank you!


  • @Andi:

    In Alpha +2 it says:

    “The United States Navy, while being neutral, has the following movement restrictions. […] In the Pacific it can only end naval movements in sea zones that are not adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories and islands.”

    Does this mean:

    Sea zones that are adjacent to sea zones “containing” the Japanese-controlles territory? For example SZ 23, 24 or 16…

    or

    Sea zones that  “contain” the Japanese-controlles territory? For example SZ 6, 17 or 34…

    Thank you!

    Pretty sure its containing…meaning if there is Japanese territory in that sea zone, not next to the sea zone.

    Example:

    z26, z22, z6 all have Japanese in that sea zone…

    z18, z24, z54 are all empty of Japanese areas.

    Just a quick non-official answer if you need one.


  • Excellent find Andi.  Hopefully they update the language so it is not so ambiguous.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    You can end movement in any sea zone that does not contain a Jap controlled island nor adjacent to a Jap controlled territory.
    “Adjacent” means a territory touches the zone you’re in (like Z37), it is not meaning adjacent sea zones.

    For example, Z37 is off-limits if Japan controls Siam.
    Z34 is off-limits if Japan controls Paulau.
    Empty sea zones like Z23 or sea zones next to only Allied controlled territory like Z54 are permissible.


  • Ok.  this friday I was going to try with the US to capture a potential major IC that I supsect Japan will build in Asia in our upcoming game.

    I know majors that are captured become minors in capitols.  but does it apply to all.  Just doublechecking  since it isn’t in a capitol.  Since US couldn’t build a major under A2+ rules in a non original territory is it possible for the US to capture one that isn’t in a Capitol built by an Axis power.

    It would be cool if you could.


  • @AllyAxis:

    Ok.  this friday I was going to try with the US to capture a potential major IC that I supsect Japan will build in Asia in our upcoming game.

    I know majors that are captured become minors in capitols.  but does it apply to all.  Just doublechecking  since it isn’t in a capitol.   Since US couldn’t build a major under A2+ rules in a non original territory is it possible for the US to capture one that isn’t in a Capitol built by an Axis power.

    It would be cool if you could.

    Any major IC captured gets downgraded to a minor IC.  Basically, if the nation can’t build its own major IC there then it can’t have a major IC there even if it captures it.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Ruanek:

    Any major IC captured gets downgraded to a minor IC.  Basically, if the nation can’t build its own major IC there then it can’t have a major IC there even if it captures it.

    I agree with Ruanek.
    All majors get knocked down to minors when captured.  There is no distinction between Capitols or non-Capitols.
    Since you can’t build or upgrade to a major in non-original territories, no power can ever control a major complex in a non original territory.
    Alpha2 rules #2 has all the details you need on this issue.


  • So here is my question.  Since all factories and bases have AA capability, when you send in air units, do all units fire for each plane?  I tried to find it in the rules and I can’t.  I know its probably in there and I am just not reading well enough.  Anyways whats the verdict?


  • @ahensley85:

    So here is my question.  Since all factories and bases have AA capability, when you send in air units, do all units fire for each plane?  I tried to find it in the rules and I can’t.  I know its probably in there and I am just not reading well enough.   Anyways whats the verdict?

    Only the AA gun involved fires.  If the planes are attacking land forces, then the generic AA gun fires at them.  If they’re attacking a factory/airbase/whatever then only that AA gun fires at them.  If they split up and attack different targets then each AA gun fires only at the planes attacking it as described above.  Basically, no plane can be fired on by more than one AA gun per turn.


  • Can US move ground or air units onto Anzac or UK-India territories when NOT at war?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @lamdan:

    Can US move ground or air units onto Anzac or UK-India territories when NOT at war?

    No.  The US can never move ground or air units to any allied territory (even Canada) when not at war.


  • Amphibious Assualt Question:

    When doing an amphibious assault can a transport load from a friendly territory in a sea zone that was just cleared of enemy ships during that turn and then offload those units during an amphibious assualt?

    i.e.  clear german waters of norway then load from norway to attack germany as an amphibious assualt in the same turn?


  • @Geoscal:

    Amphibious Assualt Question:

    When doing an amphibious assault can a transport load from a friendly territory in a sea zone that was just cleared of enemy ships during that turn and then offload those units during an amphibious assualt?

    i.e.  clear german waters of norway then load from norway to attack germany as an amphibious assualt in the same turn?

    No.  All loading is done prior to combat rolls, and all combat is effectively done at the exact same time.  While you can choose which battle to run first, they’re all simultaneous, so you cannot leapfrog a hostile zone to attack beyond, and you cannot clear a hostile zone and then load to perform a combat move.

    You can attack the hostile seazone, clear it, and then move a transport as a noncombat move and load, and move again, but it’s a noncombat move only, and cannot unload into an unfriendly territory.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

75
Online

15.7k
Users

37.2k
Topics

1.6m
Posts