• Ok. Thanks for the answer.
    Btw. why are you calling yourself Die Flottenmoerderin? You are not German are you?

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @ViribusUnitis:

    Ok. Thanks for the answer.
    Btw. why are you calling yourself Die Flottenmoerderin? You are not German are you?

    Earned it getting above average dice rolls in a majority of my naval campaigns while playing the Germans.  Back in the AARe days.

  • Official Q&A

    @Cmdr:

    @ViribusUnitis:

    I think i read somewhere that a transport conducting an amphibious assault needs a surface warship to do so. Is this correct? For Alpha2.
    Thanks.

    Only if there are defending ships or planes that might scramble.

    If you’re using the Alpha rules, you also need at least one of your warships (surface or otherwise) if there is an enemy sub in the sea zone.


  • What excatly happens to strict neutral territories when attacked?

    1. Strict neutrals become pro-axis/allies global
      • are these new Troops activated for the opposing side immediatley and may they leave the territory next round?
           - or are they activated when the pro-axis/allies force then takes control of the country only?
           - if yes, do these activated troops stay neutral then (may not leave the country) or do they become troops of the country which took contol when moving in, able to leave the territory next round?
  • Sponsor

    @Andi:

    Thank you, Gamerman.

    Dido


  • @Andi:

    What excatly happens to strict neutral territories when attacked?

    1. Strict neutrals become pro-axis/allies global
      • are these new Troops activated for the opposing side immediatley and may they leave the territory next round?
           - or are they activated when the pro-axis/allies force then takes control of the country only?
           - if yes, do these activated troops stay neutral then (may not leave the country) or do they become troops of the country which took contol when moving in, able to leave the territory next round?

    the number of units shown is the number of units player violating neutrality has to fight. in any case all strict neutrals become pro-your enemy.


  • @Cmdr:

    Earned it getting above average dice rolls in a majority of my naval campaigns while playing the Germans.  Back in the AARe days.

    You should call yourself “Die Flottenvernichterin” as you can “murder” persons only in german language. “Vernichten” means to annihilate, to destroy. Would sound better, at least in german 😉


  • @Global-commander:

    the number of units shown is the number of units player violating neutrality has to fight. in any case all strict neutrals become pro-your enemy.

    Clear to me. But not all these new “pro-enemy-units” are activated at once globally, right?


  • @gamerman01:

    @TheDefinitiveS:

    In this example you would remove 1 UK fighter and then  fire @2 with the remaining 5 fighters. The bombers then also get to fire at the interceptors @ 1. Remove casualties. Any surviving bombers get fired at by AAGuns then any surviving bombers after that get to roll to bomb IC NB or AB.
    Note: the bombers and interceptors fire at the same time like any other battle. Escorts are like subs they get that first strike before anyone else. Also if UK got say 5 hits with their interceptors you would remove the 3 bombers  first and the remaining 2 would be taken on the escorts.

    Grasshopper, this all looks exactly correct to me.  See #8 of the Alpha2 rules.

    can allied fighters intercept? I don’t have alpha rules, so I’m new to these changes.


  • @Andi:

    @Global-commander:

    the number of units shown is the number of units player violating neutrality has to fight. in any case all strict neutrals become pro-your enemy.

    Clear to me. But not all these new “pro-enemy-units” are activated at once globally, right?

    activated when whichever country it is pro to enters it on there non combat move.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Global-commander:

    @gamerman01:

    @TheDefinitiveS:

    In this example you would remove 1 UK fighter and then  fire @2 with the remaining 5 fighters. The bombers then also get to fire at the interceptors @ 1. Remove casualties. Any surviving bombers get fired at by AAGuns then any surviving bombers after that get to roll to bomb IC NB or AB.
    Note: the bombers and interceptors fire at the same time like any other battle. Escorts are like subs they get that first strike before anyone else. Also if UK got say 5 hits with their interceptors you would remove the 3 bombers  first and the remaining 2 would be taken on the escorts.

    Grasshopper, this all looks exactly correct to me.  See #8 of the Alpha2 rules.

    can allied fighters intercept? I don’t have alpha rules, so I’m new to these changes.

    YES, always.


  • @saint1012:

    “Can you fly over the Turkey straight while they are neutral? sz 100 to sz 99?”

    You may not.

    you may not, however, fly over Turkey.


  • Is a Destroyer allowed to ignore a Sub when passing through a SZ?


  • Yes.  Any warship can pass over a sub, or stop on top of a sub.
    Also, in Alpha rules, a transport that’s alone can pass over a sub as well.
    A lone transport cannot, however, ignore a sub in a seazone that the transport is trying to invade a territory from.  That transport need some sort of warship with it, in which case the sub can be ignored.

  • '16

    We had situation arise in a game where a destroyer and cruiser were together in the same SZ.  An enemy sub was in an adjacent SZ. And adjacent to the sub’s SZ was an enemy transport all alone.  Question was can the cruiser sail past the sub to kill the undefended transport as the destroyer stays and fights the sub with air support?  Our conclusion was that if you chose to fight the sub then you couldn’t also choose to ignore it.  Was this correct?

  • Official Q&A

    Subs and transports can always be ignored during movement (with one exception regarding amphibious assaults).  The cruiser can pass through, as you don’t stop ignoring the sub until the Conduct Combat phase.


  • Hi guys - This is my first post.  I know I’m not doing this right, but can’t see how to post yet.  Maybe one of you can help me.
    Here’s my question.  I’m still confused about aircraft movement out to sea.  Dos the SZ surrounding the Island Group count?  ICan I attack units On the Carolines from  the Philippines?
    Thank you!!
    ~ Chris

  • Sponsor

    @friendc:

    Hi guys - This is my first post.  I know I’m not doing this right, but can’t see how to post yet.  Maybe one of you can help me.
    Here’s my question.  I’m still confused about aircraft movement out to sea.  Dos the SZ surrounding the Island Group count?  ICan I attack units On the Carolines from  the Philippines?
    Thank you!!
    ~ Chris

    Every space, territory, island and sea zone will cost 1 movement point. Therefore, a fighter or tactical bomber that takes off from the Philippines and moves into the adjacent sea zone #35 is 1 movement point (island to sea zone). From that sea zone into the next sea zone #34, is another movement point. So, from the Philippines island to the Caroline islands is a total of 4 movement points, so unless you have a carrier to land on in sea zone #33, you can’t do it (4+1 for air base). However, a strategic bomber can reach the Caroline islands and land in Paulau Island which would require all 7 of it movement points. (6+1 for air base).


  • Japan declares war.
    A Japan transport with 2 fighters and a battleship attack Guam, which is defended by 1 American fighter.

    The American fighter decides to scramble.

    Can the Japanese fighters sent to fight on the island choose to attack at sea supporting the battleship in fighting against the American fighter?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @ULTIMO:

    Japan declares war.
    A Japan transport with 2 fighters and a battleship attack Guam, which is defended by 1 American fighter.

    The American fighter decides to scramble.

    Can the Japanese fighters sent to fight on the island choose to attack at sea supporting the battleship in fighting against the American fighter?

    NO.  The attacker (Japan) must commit air during the combat movement phase.  After that, the defender (America) decides whether or not to scramble.  After the defender makes the scrambling decision, the attacker cannot change where the aircraft are.  If 2 fighters are sent to Guam and the American fighter is scrambled, the 2 fighters have nothing to attack.  It’s a battleship against a fighter.  If the fighter wins, you can at least retreat the transport to safety.


  • @gamerman01:

    @ULTIMO:

    Japan declares war.
    A Japan transport with 2 fighters and a battleship attack Guam, which is defended by 1 American fighter.

    The American fighter decides to scramble.

    Can the Japanese fighters sent to fight on the island choose to attack at sea supporting the battleship in fighting against the American fighter?

    NO.  The attacker (Japan) must commit air during the combat movement phase.  After that, the defender (America) decides whether or not to scramble.  After the defender makes the scrambling decision, the attacker cannot change where the aircraft are.  If 2 fighters are sent to Guam and the American fighter is scrambled, the 2 fighters have nothing to attack.  It’s a battleship against a fighter.  If the fighter wins, you can at least retreat the transport to safety.

    Thanks for your quick answer.
    Can Japan send 2 fighters in open water around Guam just in case the American decides to scramble?


  • @ULTIMO:

    @gamerman01:

    @ULTIMO:

    Japan declares war.
    A Japan transport with 2 fighters and a battleship attack Guam, which is defended by 1 American fighter.

    The American fighter decides to scramble.

    Can the Japanese fighters sent to fight on the island choose to attack at sea supporting the battleship in fighting against the American fighter?

    NO.  The attacker (Japan) must commit air during the combat movement phase.  After that, the defender (America) decides whether or not to scramble.  After the defender makes the scrambling decision, the attacker cannot change where the aircraft are.  If 2 fighters are sent to Guam and the American fighter is scrambled, the 2 fighters have nothing to attack.  It’s a battleship against a fighter.  If the fighter wins, you can at least retreat the transport to safety.

    Thanks for your quick answer.
    Can Japan send 2 fighters in open water around Guam just in case the American decides to scramble?

    Yes, a simple way to look at it. Any zone able to scramble is a potential combat therefor pieces can be moved to address that combat in the combat move…This allows you to use dd’s and carriers during your combat move by planning on a fight in that scramble zone.


  • I’m sure this has been asked before, but I can’t seem to find the answer anywhere - I’ve tried a hundred different search terms…  😛

    Can a naval base that has just been captured on a turn be used that turn during the non-combat movement phase?

  • Official Q&A

    No.


  • Question regarding Convoy Disruptions:

    Great Britain has 4 submarines located in Sea Zone 97.  Will Italy therefore suffer a loss of 8 IPC’s (4 for NItaly, 3 for SItaly, 1 for Albania) during the collect income step?

    I am relatively new to the game and just want to make sure this is the correct application of the Convoy Disruption rule.

    Thank you.

Suggested Topics

  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
  • 22
  • 5
  • 4
  • 10
  • 8
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

24
Online

15.6k
Users

37.0k
Topics

1.6m
Posts