• My opponent and I are having a disagreement in the Alpha +.2 rule set.  It is concerning how war is declared.  Specifically, Japan was not at war with ANZAC and the UK on its turn 4.  Therefore, I wanted to verbally declare war with on UK4 so that UK Pacific and ANZAC could gain their “at war” NOs.  The disagreement was that he thought war was declared by actual combat movement, not just  a verbal declaration.  Hence, no combat movement meant we were still not at war.

    We both looked in the rulebook, and it doesn’t specifically state whether a declaration of war is verbal or specifically requires combat movement.

    Thank you for an answer in advance.


  • @gsh34:

    My opponent and I are having a disagreement in the Alpha +.2 rule set.  It is concerning how war is declared.  Specifically, Japan was not at war with ANZAC and the UK on its turn 4.  Therefore, I wanted to verbally declare war with on UK4 so that UK Pacific and ANZAC could gain their “at war” NOs.  The disagreement was that he thought war was declared by actual combat movement, not just  a verbal declaration.  Hence, no combat movement meant we were still not at war.

    We both looked in the rulebook, and it doesn’t specifically state whether a declaration of war is verbal or specifically requires combat movement.

    Thank you for an answer in advance.

    You’re right, and he’s wrong.  The DOW is made at the beginning of the combat move phase, but does not require combat movements that turn.


  • Some silly questions:

    1. If the US makes an amphibious assault on for instance Southern Italy, and the sz is occupied only by a cruiser belonging to the UK. If Italy decides to scramble, do they have to fight the UK cruiser in addition to the US fleet?

    2. When you are making an amphibious assault, can you always send planes into the same sz in case the defender scrambles?

    3. If Moscow has fallen to Germany and the UK moves into a Sovjet territory in NCM, can they claim the IPCs? Or can they just claim the IPCs from territories that are liberated? Can the UK make use of the ICs or AAs in the Sovjet territories they move into/ liberate?

    Thanks!

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @General:

    Some silly questions:

    1. If the US makes an amphibious assault on for instance Southern Italy, and the sz is occupied only by a cruiser belonging to the UK. If Italy decides to scramble, do they have to fight the UK cruiser in addition to the US fleet?

    No!  The only units that can attack on any given power’s turn, are their own units.  The US is on attack, not the UK.

    2. When you are making an amphibious assault, can you always send planes into the same sz in case the defender scrambles?

    Yes, always.

    3. If Moscow has fallen to Germany and the UK moves into a Sovjet territory in NCM, can they claim the IPCs? Or can they just claim the IPCs from territories that are liberated? Can the UK make use of the ICs or AAs in the Sovjet territories they move into/ liberate?

    Thanks!

    Can only take over the territories that are under Axis control (liberated).  No, the UK cannot take any income from Russian territories - they are still under Russian control.  UK can use factories of any territory it controls, which includes the Russian territories seized from the Axis.  “Liberated” is the wrong term probably, because the territories are not returned to Russian control as the capital is down.  Under Alpha2 rules, captured AA guns are always destroyed.  OOB AA guns normally change control with territories.  So you could have Russian AA guns roaming around that move only on the Russian turn and are controlled by the Russians.  If not playing Alpha2 and Moscow is down and the UK captures a German AA gun on original Russian territory, UK would take control of the territory and the AA gun.

    Note that the UK could build and use new complexes or bases on original Russian territories that UK controls because Moscow has fallen.

    Note that these rules are all the same as AA50 (other than demolition of AA guns).

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Thinking you can always send planes to escort your transports, regardless of if there are any defending ships or possible planes to scramble.  They just don’t actually do anything.  Of course, been playing online so long, sometimes the lines between combat moves and non-combat moves get blurred…happens after a decade of play (and I refuse to admit to more than a decade!)


  • Thanks Gamerman! Keep up the good work!

    I think A&A has reached its limit when it comes to complexity. This global version is FAR more complex than the original A&A, but either way I really like it. The problem is getting new people to play A&A, especially since its HUGELY time consuming. Oops, sorry, off topic. Thanks again for the help 🙂

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @General:

    I think A&A has reached its limit when it comes to complexity. This global version is FAR more complex than the original A&A, but either way I really like it. The problem is getting new people to play A&A, especially since its HUGELY time consuming. Oops, sorry, off topic. Thanks again for the help 🙂

    I agree.  That’s why it’s awesome that we can play on-line with other addicted loonies like ourselves.  (I prefer to play by forum on this site, btw)

    Challenge me sometime!  🙂

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @gamerman01:

    @General:

    I think A&A has reached its limit when it comes to complexity. This global version is FAR more complex than the original A&A, but either way I really like it. The problem is getting new people to play A&A, especially since its HUGELY time consuming. Oops, sorry, off topic. Thanks again for the help 🙂

    I agree.  That’s why it’s awesome that we can play on-line with other addicted loonies like ourselves.  (I prefer to play by forum on this site, btw)

    Challenge me sometime!  🙂

    finish our game first!

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Cmdr:

    finish our game first!

    Today is the last day of school!!  I can finish our game, and take on about 5 new ones and keep up with all of them!  🙂


  • Somebody told me that with UK/ANZAC, you cannot take the DEI Islands if you are not at war with Japan.

    Is that true? I never played like that.


  • @MightyPol:

    Somebody told me that with UK/ANZAC, you cannot take the DEI Islands if you are not at war with Japan.

    Is that true? I never played like that.

    someone lied to you.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Read page 8 of the Pacific rulebook.

    This rule was not changed by the May 10, 2010 Pacific FAQ.

  • 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @MightyPol:

    Somebody told me that with UK/ANZAC, you cannot take the DEI Islands if you are not at war with Japan.

    Is that true? I never played like that.

    They were probably thinking of Japan.  Japan can not take them until they are at war with the UK or ANZAC.


  • @Entek:

    @MightyPol:

    Somebody told me that with UK/ANZAC, you cannot take the DEI Islands if you are not at war with Japan.

    Is that true? I never played like that.

    They were probably thinking of Japan.  Japan can not take them until they are at war with the UK or ANZAC.

    Japan can take DEI even when not at war.
    It will cause a war though.

  • Official Q&A

    Entek is right.

  • Sponsor

    The UK moves their Med fleet in NC from sz 80 to sz 39, in Calcutta’s turn immediately after, can they be moved again in Combat?


  • @Trisdin:

    The UK moves their Med fleet in NC from sz 80 to sz 39, in Calcutta’s turn immediately after, can they be moved again in Combat?

    ???  No, all UK units move in the same phase, both maps.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    MAN they confused a lot of people with the quirky UK rules.

    It is very confusing until you get used to it.

    Only the cash on hand, incomes, capitols, and building of units are separated.  All units move together in concert, as one big menacing Empire.  The UK, USA, and USSR are all very mighty!  Even ANZ and China are forces to be reckoned with.  Look out, Axis!

    Tech is not even separated.  You can pay 1 IPC with London and 4 with Calcutta to buy a researcher.  Very nice little benefit for the UK to use odd IPC’s up.  A loophole, if you will.

  • Sponsor

    Thanks, yes it is confusing, but we are getting used to it and it’s best to do it right, as we have been doing it wrong until now.


  • @13thguardsriflediv:

    Imagine 4 seazones, A-B-C-D (from left to right).

    Seazone A has a sub + carrier + fighter of power X.
    Seazone C has 20 battleships of power Y.
    Seazone D has 10 loaded transports of power Y.

    Now X uses the fighter to ‘attack’ the transports in D and says the fighter will land in seazone C with its last movement point. X also attacks the stack of battleships with the sub.

    Is this legal? And must X move the carrier to seazone C in the noncombat phase? After all, a fighter must have a theoretical legal landing spot and the carrier may not be moved elsewhere, right?

    @Krieghund:

    Yes, it’s legal, because the fighter has a possible landing space.  Remember, the rules say that in order to determine a possible landing space, you may assume that all of your rolls will be hits and all of your opponent’s rolls will be misses.

    If by some miracle the sub defeats the battleships, the carrier must move to pick up the fighter.  In the more likely event that the sub loses, the carrier may not move to the sea zone, as the move would be illegal (the sea zone would remain hostile), so the fighter will have no place to land and will be lost.

    And now I can use that carrier for a different purpose, right? Such as moving it somewhere else altogether.

  • Official Q&A

    Of course.


  • I’ve got a question on allied-aircraft-carrier interaction.

    Let’s say I have two German fighters landed on a Italian carrier vessel. In Italy’s turn the carrier moves two spaces, let’s say from SZ98 to SZ94.

    Do the German fighters have their full range from SZ94 or are they limited to their last station in Germany’s turn being SZ98?

    It would seem strange to me that a german plane could travel two spaces more in the same year, just because it is landed on a ITA carrier… :?

    Thanks!


  • @soldaatvanoranje:

    I’ve got a question on allied-aircraft-carrier interaction.

    Let’s say I have two German fighters landed on a Italian carrier vessel. In Italy’s turn the carrier moves two spaces, let’s say from SZ98 to SZ94.

    Do the German fighters have their full range from SZ94 or are they limited to their last station in Germany’s turn being SZ98?

    It would seem strange to me that a german plane could travel two spaces more in the same year, just because it is landed on a ITA carrier… :?

    Thanks!

    They have the full range. In this particular case G lands its fighters and Italy moves the carrier on the same round. When G moves the fighters from the carrier on SZ94 it is already a different round (or a ‘year’ if you prefer).


  • Question on Japan/USA at war/not at war conditions.

    The Japan at peace with USA NO reads:
    “When Japan is NOT at War with the United States
    1. Collect 10 IPCs each turn that Japan is not at war with the United States and has not attacked French Indo-China and has not made an unprovoked declaration of war against United Kingdom/ANZAC. Theme: Strategic resource trade with the United States.”

    If UK/ANZ declare war on Japan on turn 1 and Axis does not declare war on USA in response (ie USA would not be able to declare war on Axis until end of turn 3) if Japan attacks FIC does this:
    a. Act as a DOC on USA?
    b. If not a DOC on USA void the above at peace with USA NO; ie Japan would lose this NO?

    Thanks!


  • @Jmite:

    If UK/ANZ declare war on Japan on turn 1 and Axis does not declare war on USA in response (ie USA would not be able to declare war on Axis until end of turn 3) if Japan attacks FIC does this:
    a. Act as a DOC on USA?
    b. If not a DOC on USA void the above at peace with USA NO; ie Japan would lose this NO?

    A)  Declaring war on France (technically required before combat moving into FIC) has no bearing on US diplomacy.  If UK/Anzac attack Japan first, the US will only be brought into war if the Axis declares war on her or during the collect income phase of US3.  So no.

    B)  If you attack FIC, you lose the NO.  you can declare war on France and not attack FIC and still collect the NO.  There are 3 standards to be met and if one is violated, the NO is lost:

    Japan has not declared war on UK/Anzac first.
    Japan has not attacked FIC.
    Japan has not declared war on the US / US has not declared war on Japan.

    If all of those are true (and they are independent - one does not necessarily cause another), Japan still collects the NO.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

63
Online

15.6k
Users

36.9k
Topics

1.5m
Posts