• @Cmdr:

    Both 119 and 118 are adjacent to SZ 109 on the west coast of England

    Dankeschön!


  • Probably answered several times before, apologies if so. If I buy surface ships in a country whereby the sea zone is occupied with enemy ships, can I still build there and do the ships have to fight when placed or in the other’s turn? Many thanks

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Admiral:

    Probably answered several times before, apologies if so. If I buy surface ships in a country whereby the sea zone is occupied with enemy ships, can I still build there and do the ships have to fight when placed or in the other’s turn? Many thanks

    You can always place in sea zones adjacent to your operable complexes, no matter what enemy units are in them.  You do not have a battle at that time - it is the mobilize units phase.

    During your enemy’s turn, they must decide to either leave or fight during their combat move phase.  This is one of the times when you may move during the combat move phase and the move does not result in combat - to move out of a zone with enemy surface warships.

    So yes you can build there, and no the ships do not have to fight when placed (nor can they).

  • Sponsor

    What happens to Japanese factories that China capures?


  • That is earlier in this thread or here in the FAQ;

    http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=4278


  • Please specify the NO you are referring too, and if you are playing OOB or Alpha 2.  If Alpha 2 here is the link to all you need to know….pssst, print it out.

    http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=4167&sid=2274c8ba2597d94cf21b3a4e5784a842

  • '19 '18

    @Trisdin:

    What happens to Japanese factories that China capures?

    They are destroyed.


  • Regarding sub vs. sub combat: The rulebook doesnt seem to be clear on the procedure for these kinds of battles. If my lone sub is attacked by another lone sub, does the defending sub get to choose to submerge before the attacker can conduct the surprise attack? Or do they both roll for the surprise attack, and then the defender can choose to submerge afterwards?

    Thanks!

  • Official Q&A

    The defender may submerge immediately, before any shots are fired.

  • '10

    Sorry guys, but i can’t remember it :

    can a destroyer NCM into a seazone where there is an ennemy ss ?

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Axisplaya:

    Sorry guys, but i can’t remember it :

    can a destroyer NCM into a seazone where there is an ennemy ss ?

    Yes.  It takes an enemy surface warship to make a seazone hostile.

  • '10

    thank you.
    🙂


  • Hi there, first post here, I hope this meets protocol.
    I have some Global Alpha +2 questions. Here goes:

    • Does SZ 125 affect exclusively Russia (can only be “attacked” by the Axis), or does it also affect Germany (through Norway) if “attacked” by the Allies. (Are convoys in general open to attack only by Axis?)

    • If Germany captures France (and therefore Paris) on G1, do they take France’s 19 starting IPCs?

    • In the Europe rules, when Russia is at war with Germany, they receive a bonus of 2 infantry in Novgorod during the Mobilize New Units phase. Does this bonus still apply in the Global Alpha 2+ ruleset, or has that been overwritten by the National Objectives?

    Thanks for any help.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @firepower:

    Hi there, first post here, I hope this meets protocol.
    I have some Global Alpha +2 questions. Here goes:

    • Does SZ 125 affect exclusively Russia (can only be “attacked” by the Axis), or does it also affect Germany (through Norway) if “attacked” by the Allies. (Are convoys in general open to attack only by Axis?)

    • If Germany captures France (and therefore Paris) on G1, do they take France’s 19 starting IPCs?

    • In the Europe rules, when Russia is at war with Germany, they receive a bonus of 2 infantry in Novgorod during the Mobilize New Units phase. Does this bonus still apply in the Global Alpha 2+ ruleset, or has that been overwritten by the National Objectives?

    Thanks for any help.

    Firepower!  Welcome to the boards.
    Convoys can be raided by anyone, including all Allies.  Z125 is special because any German warship in Z125 prevents the collection of the 5 IPC NO by Russia.

    (If Russia controls Norway, Russia would not only lose the 5 IPC NO but would lose up to 3 IPC’s to convoy raiding as well.  Note that the 3 IPC’s collected for the NO for controlling original German territories would NOT be disrupted.  NO’s are never disrupted by convoy raiding per se, although a ship in Z125 does stop an NO (think of this as distinct from the convoy.  It interrupts the NO whether there was a convoy symbol there or not).  Likewise, Allied surface warships in the Med disrupt the Italian NO, and German subs on the Europe boards outside of the Baltic, Caspian, or Mediterranean seas disrupt a UK NO.

    Germany does collect France’s starting 19 IPC’s.  Anytime you take a capital, you get all the cash on hand.  Note that China does not have a capital, and never loses their money.

    In Global, Russia does NOT get the 2 infantry.  That is indeed Europe only.


  • Good morning all.
    Quick question regarding Sea Bases and repairing.
    Could a 1 point of damage battleship in SZ 111 be repaired by a sea base in London without moving? The SZ is adjacent to the immediate SZ that the base is in.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Naval bases are in effect for ALL sea zones adjacent to the territory the base is located on.  Naval bases cannot be built in the ocean/sea.  So yes, the Battleship in SZs 110 and 109 may be repaired by the London naval base.  SZ 111 is adjacent to Scotland only, not England, therefore, the naval base in England cannot be used to repair a battleship in SZ 111.

    Note, sometimes sea zones effected can be completely non-adjacent too!  For instance, the naval base in Leningrad (Novgorod) applies to friendly ships in both SZ 115 and SZ 127!

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @firepower:

    Good morning all.
    Quick question regarding Sea Bases and repairing.
    Could a 1 point of damage battleship in SZ 111 be repaired by a sea base in London without moving? The SZ is adjacent to the immediate SZ that the base is in.

    No, you have to be in a seazone serviced by a naval base.  A naval base services all adjacent sea zones.

    Examples: Naval base in Novgorod services 115 and 127.
    Naval base in England services 110 and 109

    You would have to build a naval base in Scotland to service Z111 on the subsequent turns.

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Cmdr:

    Note, sometimes sea zones effected can be completely non-adjacent too!  For instance, the naval base in Leningrad (Novgorod) applies to friendly ships in both SZ 115 and SZ 127!

    The sea zone has to be adjacent to the territory with the naval base.  Jenn means that 115 and 127 are not adjacent to each other, yet both are serviced by the base in Novgorod.  That is because 115 and 127 are each adjacent to Novgorod, where the base is.

  • Sponsor

    Can Chinese forces move into the neutral territories north of China?


  • @Trisdin:

    Can Chinese forces move into the neutral territories north of China?

    No.


  • Hello!

    I think someone else asked this question somewhere in here, but anyway Id really like an official answer from say Krieghund or Gamerman:

    On G1: If I attack the UK dd & trn in sz 109 with only subs, and the UK scrambles a couple of fighters, can the planes hit the subs even if the subs take out the ships in the first round of battle? (Since the dd technically is not yet sunk, and can fire back before removed from play).

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Yes.  Casualties are removed at the end of each combat round.  Defending casualties are selected first, but they still remain for the completion of that round of combat, therefore, the destroyer would still be ‘present’ and able to locate the submarines for the fighters.


  • @Cmdr:

    Yes.  Casualties are removed at the end of each combat round.  Defending casualties are selected first, but they still remain for the completion of that round of combat, therefore, the destroyer would still be ‘present’ and able to locate the submarines for the fighters.

    Ok, thanks Jennifer, Im sure your right with your experience and all, but If I could get a 100% confirmation on this from Krieg it would be GREAT :lol:

  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @General:

    @Cmdr:

    Yes.  Casualties are removed at the end of each combat round.  Defending casualties are selected first, but they still remain for the completion of that round of combat, therefore, the destroyer would still be ‘present’ and able to locate the submarines for the fighters.

    Ok, thanks Jennifer, Im sure your right with your experience and all, but If I could get a 100% confirmation on this from Krieg it would be GREAT :lol:

    Jennifer is right on this.  Not sure if my confirmation will satisfy you, and Krieghund authority is much > Gamerman, but I am 100% sure on this, if that helps.

  • Official Q&A

    Confirmed.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

42
Online

15.6k
Users

36.9k
Topics

1.5m
Posts