AAG40 FAQ


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Sime:

    I have a question relating to the convoy zones.

    If german subs are in seazone 98 (adjacent one French territory worth 1 IPC and two UK territories worth 1 IPC and 2 IPCs), he can use one sub to blockade Egypt (2IPCs), but does he need two more subs to blockade Syria (1IPC) and Trans Jordan (1IPC), or can a single sub blockade both 1IPC territories?

    I’m assuming a single sub can’t blockade two separate territories (similar to transports not being able to drop infantry off in two separate territories) but just want to be sure.

    Actually, the warships disrupt maximum amount each power’s turn.  So yes, if 2 or 3 different powers control territories bordering the convoy zone, they are all disrupted to the maximum by the same warship(s).  The conduct convoy disruption is a part of Phase 6:Collect income and is done each power’s turn. See page 22 in the Europe manual.


  • '10

    Thanks for the clarification, Gamerman


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Sime:

    Thanks for the clarification, Gamerman

    I had the same question, learning this 1940 game.

    Anytime.


  • '10

    Can an AAgun move on its NCM when it has shot a rocket to an IC on the same turn ?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Axisplaya:

    Can an AAgun move on its NCM when it has shot a rocket to an IC on the same turn ?

    NO - absolutely not.  Shoot or move, take your pick.


  • '10

    Thanks. Just wanted to be sure.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Axisplaya:

    Thanks. Just wanted to be sure.

    One of the most annoying glitches at Game-table online was when you had rockets technology, and you had multiple AA’s in the same territory.  If you shot one, it wouldn’t let you move ANY of them, when you should be able to move all but one.  (Just a side note)  That was the “Revised” version of the game, but that rule has never changed since (AA50 or global) (in case you’re starting to doubt).


  • '10

    @gamerman01:

    One of the most annoying glitches at Game-table online was when you had rockets technology, and you had multiple AA’s in the same territory.  If you shot one, it wouldn’t let you move ANY of them, when you should be able to move all but one.  (Just a side note)  That was the “Revised” version of the game, but that rule has never changed since (AA50 or global) (in case you’re starting to doubt).

    Actually, after reading this, i AM starting to doubt…

    G40 alpha +2 : you have 3 AAguns in one territory. just one of them shoot at an IC, can the 2 others move on NCM or not ?  (english is not my 1st language, so i may have missed something in your last post).


  • Official Q&A

    Yes.



  • Krieghund,  while the US is neutral, may the Axis use the Panama Canal?
    (And for the rest of you…yes, this is about to come up in a game.)


  • Official Q&A

    They can, if the US player gives them permission to do so.



  • Are Sicily and Southern Italy connected, or must you take a Transport from each to get to each? Also are Greece and Crete and Greece and Turkey connected? Or do they also require transports? I know they are not connected in real life but I cant tell whether they are assumed to be on the board.


  • Official Q&A

    @De:

    Are Sicily and Southern Italy connected, or must you take a Transport from each to get to each? Also are Greece and Crete and Greece and Turkey connected? Or do they also require transports? I know they are not connected in real life but I cant tell whether they are assumed to be on the board.

    Greece and Turkey are connected by land.  The others are not, and require transports for movement between them.


  • TripleA

    Quick one re: Scrambling.

    UK has a France Fighter.  Can all friendly planes scramble to a Sea Zone?  Or only those associated to the territories controlling country?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @94Canuck:

    Quick one re: Scrambling.

    UK has a France Fighter.  Can all friendly planes scramble to a Sea Zone?  Or only those associated to the territories controlling country?

    All friendlies.  3 maximum per airbase.  Can be split among multiple sea zones, but 3 per airbase.



  • Planes can makes a combat move under the assumption that they have a place to land.

    However, does this count if a carrier has to move into combat to provide that lancing place under the assumption they win combat?

    Better explanation:

    Carrier and Cruiser move 2 spaces to sz 1, engaging a Destroyer. Fighter moves 3 spaces to sz 2 to attack Transport. Its only possible landing zone is if the Carrier survives combat in sz 1.

    Is this a legal move?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @kdfsjljklgjfg:

    Planes can makes a combat move under the assumption that they have a place to land.

    However, does this count if a carrier has to move into combat to provide that lancing place under the assumption they win combat?

    Better explanation:

    Carrier and Cruiser move 2 spaces to sz 1, engaging a Destroyer. Fighter moves 3 spaces to sz 2 to attack Transport. Its only possible landing zone is if the Carrier survives combat in sz 1.

    Is this a legal move?

    It’s legal if z1 is one space from z2.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16

    I’m pretty sure this has been answered somewhere already, but in Alpha 2+ does the Soviet Union still get the 2 free infantry for free in Novosibirsk when at war or has that changed?


  • Official Q&A

    No.  It gets them only in the Europe game in the box rules.



  • The rules state that AA guns shoot once per attacking plane regardless of number of guns in the territory.  If you have 2 guns in a TT, can one gun defend vs. planes and a second fire rockets at enemy IC from the same TT (if you have the tech)?

    I say “yes” and would love to sit in Normandy and Denmark and take pot shots at London and still defend vs. air attacks.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Sid:

    The rules state that AA guns shoot once per attacking plane regardless of number of guns in the territory.  If you have 2 guns in a TT, can one gun defend vs. planes and a second fire rockets at enemy IC from the same TT (if you have the tech)?

    I say “yes” and would love to sit in Normandy and Denmark and take pot shots at London and still defend vs. air attacks.

    Yes, Sid, and you can even do that with ONE AA gun.  You defend on their turns, you attack with rockets on yours.

    You mention Normandy and Denmark.  You can only fire on an IC with one gun per turn.



  • Thanks for the clarification……I had dreams of a phalanx of guns shelling London. 😄

    Still, 1D6 for free each round would help (especially since you can use existing guns without degrading air defenses).



  • Hello, with Alpha 2.+ rules limiting scrambling are multiple airbases allowed on the same territory? I know the unlimited scramble was one of the concerns when re-writing the rules but if the allies are trying to build fortress malta or fortress java, the 3 fig scramble limit reduces defenses greatly over OOB rules. It would still cost 15ipcs for each additional airbase to add 3 more scrambled units but it may be worth it to hold an important island/coast.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @cressman8064:

    Hello, with Alpha 2.+ rules limiting scrambling are multiple airbases allowed on the same territory? I know the unlimited scramble was one of the concerns when re-writing the rules but if the allies are trying to build fortress malta or fortress java, the 3 fig scramble limit reduces defenses greatly over OOB rules. It would still cost 15ipcs for each additional airbase to add 3 more scrambled units but it may be worth it to hold an important island/coast.

    Nope - good thinking, but 1 airbase limit per territory.



  • Can air units fly through the Dardanelles like they could in AA50?


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

53
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts