AAG40 FAQ


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Time to set up a stickied thread for AAG40 FAQ?

    I have one to kick off (will probably have the rulebook tomorrow, so bear with me a moment) -

    Jet fighters - What about Tacs?  Do they get to attack at 4 with the jet fighters technology?

    Tech purchases - are there researcher tokens like AA50, or is it back to “no sixes, money flushed down the toilet”?


  • Official Answers

    @gamerman01:

    Jet fighters - What about Tacs?  Do they get to attack at 4 with the jet fighters technology?

    No.

    @gamerman01:

    Tech purchases - are there researcher tokens like AA50, or is it back to “no sixes, money flushed down the toilet”?

    No research tokens this time.  Feel free to use them as a house rule, though.



  • OK, so a crusier and 3 transports from the USA move into sea zone outside of North Africa to do a Amphibious assault.  There is a destroyer and transport from Italy in the seazone.  So in the sea battle both the crusier and destroyer hit each other.  Now all that is left are the USA’s transports, and the Italian transport.  Does the Italian transport prevent the US from dropping off the men to attack?


  • Official Answers

    No.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Krieghund:

    @gamerman01:

    Jet fighters - What about Tacs?  Do they get to attack at 4 with the jet fighters technology?

    No.
    @gamerman01:

    Tech purchases - are there researcher tokens like AA50, or is it back to “no sixes, money flushed down the toilet”?

    No research tokens this time.  Feel free to use them as a house rule, though.

    Kevin, thank you thank you thank you.  I appreciate your fast, accurate, in-the-know answers to all of our questions so much.  It’s awesome that you provide these services to us.



  • Is the island of Newfoundland considered a part of Newfoundland and Labrador despite being in a different sea zone than the one adjacent to Labrador, or is it considered a part of of New Brunswick Nova Scotia, which it shares a sea zone with? If Newfoundland is indeed part of Newfoundland and Labrador, would a naval base on Labrador work for both z106 and 116? Finally, is Newfoundland considered an island for the purposes of scrambling? i.e. Should a airbase be placed on it or its shared mainland territory, can planes on it scramble?


  • Official Answers

    @hewhoisnickel:

    Is the island of Newfoundland considered a part of Newfoundland and Labrador despite being in a different sea zone than the one adjacent to Labrador, or is it considered a part of of New Brunswick Nova Scotia, which it shares a sea zone with?

    It’s part of New Brunswick/Nova Scotia.  This is one of those instances when accurate geography takes a back seat to game play.

    @hewhoisnickel:

    Finally, is Newfoundland considered an island for the purposes of scrambling? i.e. Should a airbase be placed on it or its shared mainland territory, can planes on it scramble?

    No, it’s not an island, as it’s only a part of a territory.



  • Here is another Question:

    If England is captured by Germany, can the UK Pacific player (AKA India) collect the IPCs for the other UK territories on the Europe map(meaning Canada, Africa, etc.)?



  • I don’t believe so.  UK India only collects income from the Pacific board.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @shohoku201:

    I don’t believe so.  UK India only collects income from the Pacific board.

    Yes, I’m sure of this.  If London is in Axis hands, no income to the UK from the two European boards (and UK territories on those two boards could be captured by other Allies if taken away from the Axis, I presume).


  • Official Answers

    That’s right.



  • That is what I was thinking, but I wanted to make sure with this new split economy for the UK.  I suppose it would be true the other way around as well.  Meaning Japan controls the Indian Complex.  The UK Europe power could not get the IPCs from the Pacific Map UK territories.  It would have to go there and actually take the territories.



  • Hey Krieghund; was there ever an answer to my question weeks ago about the appearance of having to go through Eastern US to go form Nova Scotia, Canada to Quebec, Canada by land, due to the St. Laurence touching a very pointy Maine?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @johnnyseinfeld:

    That is what I was thinking, but I wanted to make sure with this new split economy for the UK.  I suppose it would be true the other way around as well.  Meaning Japan controls the Indian Complex.  The UK Europe power could not get the IPCs from the Pacific Map UK territories.  It would have to go there and actually take the territories.

    Interesting concept there, johnny.  Yes, it would be entirely possible for London to collect income from the DEI, for example, if the British empire takes them when India is under Axis control.

    Which brings up an interesting question.  Since UK units all move together, I would think that when India is under Axis control, and the UK takes over a territory on the Pacific side of the board, the income would go to London, even if it was infantry that was produced originally out of India.  I assume no differentiation is needed.  So in other words, it’s not possible for the UK (with either capital still controlled by UK) to take back UK territory from the Axis and fail to get the income from it, just because it’s on the wrong side of the board.

    In other words, whenever the UK takes Borneo, London will get the 4 IPC’s when India is under Axis control, no matter which UK units took Borneo (UK units from Europe may have never even entered the Pacific theater).

    Would this be correct, Krieg?  Or is the liberating of Borneo worth no IPC’s to London because it’s on the wrong side of the board (world)?  Interesting stuff……

    I apologize if this is already clear in the rulebook that I don’t have yet.


  • Official Answers

    @johnnyseinfeld:

    That is what I was thinking, but I wanted to make sure with this new split economy for the UK.  I suppose it would be true the other way around as well.  Meaning Japan controls the Indian Complex.  The UK Europe power could not get the IPCs from the Pacific Map UK territories.  It would have to go there and actually take the territories.

    The UK economies will never benefit from each others’ original territories.  If India is Axis-controlled and one of its territories is recaptured from the Axis, the IPCs will be in limbo, just as with any power whose capital is in enemy hands.

    @GrayBlaZe:

    Hey Krieghund; was there ever an answer to my question weeks ago about the appearance of having to go through Eastern US to go form Nova Scotia, Canada to Quebec, Canada by land, due to the St. Laurence touching a very pointy Maine?

    I don’t have an official answer yet.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Krieghund:

    The UK economies will never benefit from each others’ original territories.  If India is Axis-controlled and one of its territories is recaptured from the Axis, the IPCs will be in limbo, just as with any power whose capital is in enemy hands.

    Ahhhhh, so in limbo as far as London is concerned.  But the USA or ANZAC could collect income from Borneo (or Burma, Malaya, Kwangtung, etc) if they take it from the Axis after India falls, correct?  But if the UK takes Borneo and India is under Axis control, then no money to London.  Weird.



  • @gamerman01:

    Which brings up an interesting question.  Since UK units all move together, I would think that when India is under Axis control, and the UK [Europe] takes over a territory on the Pacific side of the board, the income would go to London, even if it was infantry that was produced originally out of India.

    interesting concept, could UK Europe take over the DEI or French Indochina? Or Japanese territories? Or even ANZAC territories if ANZAC capital was Japan controlled?


  • Official Answers

    UK Europe can never control territories on the Pacific board, and UK Pacific can never control territories on the Europe board.  Think of it as an administrative issue.  The territories are too far away from the opposite regional capitals to be managed and controlled properly.



  • Krieghund, can subs pass through the Bosporus Straight while Turkey is a strict neutral?


  • Official Answers

    No.



  • In Global, does the 5 ipc’s Russia gets for being at war, controlling Archangel, Z125(is it actually 127?) being friendly, and no allies in Russia apply when Russia is just at war with japan?



  • Kreighund, some questions and suggestions

    1. Is New Brunswick/Nova Scotia adjacent to Quebec??

    2. For territories like Egypt and Novgorod that have a Naval Base- that naval base can be used for in either sea zone they touch right???  They each touch two different sea zones.

    3. Suggestion- a Larry Endorsed House Rule hopefully- Bring back the “tech token” rules from AA50 to be used in Global Game for tech.

    4. Why do you only need to control only Gibraltar for passage into Gibraltar Strait- why not control Both Gibraltar and Morrocco??  Same with Denmark- why not Denmark AND Norway controlled territories to pass through.

    Thanks in advance 🙂



  • I may be reading the rules incorrectly, but I don’t see any means for The Soviet Union to declare war on Japan.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Holden:

    I may be reading the rules incorrectly, but I don’t see any means for The Soviet Union to declare war on Japan.

    Look under Japan and Russia on page 33.  It says the Jap and Soviet players are supposed to work out the details of any nonagression pact with the Soviet Union.  So it appears it is actually up to the players to make the rules on this front.  I guess this explains Larry’s cryptic remarks on this subject.

    Under the Soviet Union, it only addresses its ability to declare war on European Axis and says nothing about Japan (like you noted).  It doesn’t say they can’t declare war on Japan before Japan declares war on the Soviet Union, however.

    Remember how it goes in Risk! where you agree with another player you won’t attack them?  It looks like it’s kind of like that.  Mutual distrust - you never know when the other one’s gonna knife ya.

    Krieg - can you confirm whether the USSR can indeed declare war on Japan at any time (including round 1) according to the rulebook?  It doesn’t appear to say whether they can or can’t.



  • @gamerman01:

    Look under Japan and Russia on page 33.  It says the Jap and Soviet players are supposed to work out the details of any nonagression pact with the Soviet Union.  So it appears it is actually up to the players to make the rules on this front.

    I kind of assumed the italicized text was flavour text and not actual rules. If we are to treat these sections as actual rules then take a look at the italicized text in the United States section.

    It reads “…only with the outrage felt by its people by a sudden and deliberate attack by an Axis power will the United States end its neutrality and go to war.”

    Hmmm, so according to the rules if the Axis don’t make any sudden and deliberate attacks after turn 2 the US cannot enter the war. And how exactly do you decide whether an attack was sudden and deliberate?

    Even though the rulebook says for the Japanese and Russian players to work out the details of the non-aggression pact it then goes on to provide rules for how and when Japan can attack Russia (as was mentioned there are no such rules provided for the Soviet player). Do the “rules” invented by the players overide the printed rules in the book. Example: Japan and Russia decide that they cannot attack one another for 3 turns. Does this now become a rule and overide the section below that states Japan can attack Russia on any turn?

    Also, what happens if the Japanese and Russian players cannot agree to the terms of the non-agression pact? Do they start the game at war?

    @gamerman01:

    Under the Soviet Union, it only addresses its ability to declare war on European Axis and says nothing about Japan (like you noted).  It doesn’t say they can’t declare war on Japan before Japan declares war on the Soviet Union, however.

    Rules for boardgames generally need to be permissive in nature and not restrictive. That is the rulebook tells you what you are allowed to do and not what you are not allowed to do. For example: the rulebook doesn’t say that the UK cannot declare war on the US. You have to assume its illegal because it is not explicitly stated in the rules.

    Once again, the rules tell you what you are allowed to do. And no where in the rules does it tell you how or when the Soviet Union may declare war on Japan.

    This entire issue is a trainwreck and has a major impact on the flow of the game. I assume most people will game it that the Soviets can declare war on Japan at the beggining of any of their combat move phases (just like Japan can do to Russia).


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games

30
Online

13.4k
Users

33.8k
Topics

1.3m
Posts