• Are aircraft carriers considered a surface warship? If a transport with an aircraft carrier moves through a SZ with an enemy submarine, does the submarine fire on the transport?


  • @shohoku201:

    Are aircraft carriers considered a surface warship? If a transport with an aircraft carrier moves through a SZ with an enemy submarine, does the submarine fire on the transport?

    Unless something has changed, it is a surface warship with an attack value of “0”.  A carrier can also do convoy disruption.  And it counts as an escort ship, so it prevents enemy subs from firing.

    This was all much simpler when it had an attack of 1.

  • '10

    @kcdzim:

    @shohoku201:

    Are aircraft carriers considered a surface warship? If a transport with an aircraft carrier moves through a SZ with an enemy submarine, does the submarine fire on the transport?

    Unless something has changed, it is a surface warship with an attack value of “0”.  A carrier can also do convoy disruption.  And it counts as an escort ship, so it prevents enemy subs from firing.

    This was all much simpler when it had an attack of 1.

    What are you talking about? Escort ship?

  • Official Q&A

    @shohoku201:

    Are aircraft carriers considered a surface warship?

    Yes.

    @shohoku201:

    If a transport with an aircraft carrier moves through a SZ with an enemy submarine, does the submarine fire on the transport?

    No.


  • @Fishmoto37:

    @kcdzim:

    @shohoku201:

    Are aircraft carriers considered a surface warship? If a transport with an aircraft carrier moves through a SZ with an enemy submarine, does the submarine fire on the transport?

    Unless something has changed, it is a surface warship with an attack value of “0”.  A carrier can also do convoy disruption.  And it counts as an escort ship, so it prevents enemy subs from firing.

    This was all much simpler when it had an attack of 1.

    What are you talking about? Escort ship?

    transports get fired upon by subs if they don’t have a single escort ship with them for their entire move.

  • '19 '18

    What are you talking about? Escort ship?
    transports get fired upon by subs if they don’t have a single escort ship with them for their entire move.

    That is if they pass through a sea zone containing an enemy sub

  • Customizer

    I have a question about aircraft carriers.  Since their attack value is 0 now, can they still attack and destroy transports by themselves?

    I recently played a game where the Japanese took NSW.  They only had a transport in the adjacent sea zone and were planning on taking land units over to attack New Zealand.  ANZAC still had a carrier with no planes on it.  Since I wasn’t sure about carriers destroying transports, I ended up sending it to the New Zealand sea zone to prevent the Japanese invasion.

    Also, this may have been covered but is Japan considered an island for purposes of scrambling aircraft from the air base?  I know it’s all within one sea zone, but it also has a major IC on it and you can’t build ICs on islands.  Does it having an IC negate scrambling capabilities?  Or is Japan just a special case that gets both an IC and the ability to scramble?

  • Official Q&A

    @knp7765:

    I have a question about aircraft carriers.  Since their attack value is 0 now, can they still attack and destroy transports by themselves?

    No.  They may not attack anything by themselves.

    @knp7765:

    Also, this may have been covered but is Japan considered an island for purposes of scrambling aircraft from the air base?  I know it’s all within one sea zone, but it also has a major IC on it and you can’t build ICs on islands.  Does it having an IC negate scrambling capabilities?  Or is Japan just a special case that gets both an IC and the ability to scramble?

    Japan is an island for all purposes.  Its IC is a special exception.

  • Customizer

    Thanks Krieghund.  I was pretty sure that Japan was considered an island.  However, the aircraft carrier problem really stymied me.  After all, how often does that happen where you have a lone aircraft carrier with no planes roaring off to attack?  This is the first time I can remember in all the times I have played A&A in all it’s versions.  I almost always have either an escort or at least 1 fighter with my carriers.


  • So why was the NZ IC removed for the sake of keeping with this rule when Japan already breaks the rule?


  • @Wilson2:

    So why was the NZ IC removed for the sake of keeping with this rule when Japan already breaks the rule?

    What makes you think the NZ IC was removed for the sake of keeping with the rule?  I believe the official story was that the setup revisions were do to errors made by the publisher (similar to the typos on the map and throughout the rulebook).


  • @knp7765:

    However, the aircraft carrier problem really stymied me.  After all, how often does that happen where you have a lone aircraft carrier with no planes roaring off to attack?

    This was a concern that I had immediately when I saw carriers had an attack value of zero.  They become incapable of killing even lone transports.

    It would probably be best to give them an attack value of 1 again.  Afterall, the fleet carriers being modeled were not exactly lightly armed, they typically had more 5" guns than a WWII destroyer.  (I assume that the game is modeling a destroyer screen.)

  • TripleA '12

    I bring this to the attention of Krieg (if it hasn’t already been noted).

    Please could it be possible for the rulebook for the upcoming reprint to undergo the following amendment:

    The 2nd sentence of the 2nd paragraph under ‘Transports’ on page 31 should read: “Air or sea units (other than Aircraft Carriers or Transports) ending their Combat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy transports automatically destroy those transports.”

    Also, on page 28 of the rulebook under ‘Aircraft Carriers’, it should specifically state that these units have no attack value and therefore cannot fire in the attacking units’ fire steps. It may also be of value to reiterate that they also do not have the capability to destroy lone/defenceless Transports.

    Thank you for reading.

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 5
  • 8
  • 5
  • 8
  • 8
  • 3
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

46
Online

15.4k
Users

36.6k
Topics

1.5m
Posts