In our current game still in progress as Japan I had one transport in sea zone 41 and one infantry in Sumatra. The U.K. player launched an amphibious attack on Sumatra supported by one cruiser and one battleship. The sea battle must be decided first. The transport is destroyed as it cannot defend. Does the U.K. player still get to bombard for one round or does the sea battle with the transport block the bombardment?
OK, I have answered my own question. I finally found the answer in the rule book. “Air or sea units (other than transports) ending their combat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy transports automatically destroy those transports. This counts as a sea combat for those sea units.” This comes from page 31 under Unit Characteristics. So in the example above the cruiser and the battleship do not bombard.