When playing our latest game of AAP40 we came up with following situation:
The US attacked SZ surrounding Japan and he brought in 2 fighters (came from GUAM) which had one point of movement left for landing during NCM.
From older versions of A&A i know that those fighters can land on CV which can be moved during ncm in order to allow those fighters to land.
But when i read through the rulebook from AAP40 it states that the fighters must do their ncm before all other ncm is executed. Did i just got it wrong or has this rule been changed?
That rule is specifically for stranded defending air units. Stranded planes are those whose carrier was sunk or damaged, or launched to intercept strategic bombing/scrambled from an airbase to defend an adjacent seazone and the territory, in the last 2 cases they can’t land anymore on their territories/islands because they were captured by the enemy. In those 3 situations the defending player needs to land the planes before the attacking player conducts NCM movement (or lose them if they can’t reach a friendly landing area moving 1 space).
Since your opponent was attacking he doesn’t have to follow this rule. If you had scrambled planes from Japan’s airbase to participate on the sea battle AND if he had made a successful amphibious attack on Japan then the rule would have applied to you, as the defending player.