Does Sub protect Transport?



  • 1942 situation

    Russian Fighter and Bomber attack Z5 with German Cru, Des, sub and Transport

    Russia scores 2 hits, Germany scores 1 hit

    Planes cannot hit sub and sub cannot hit planes

    So, Germany loses Cru and Des. Russia loses bomber.

    This leaves Russia with Fighter plane and Germany with Sub and Transport.

    Does Transport die?

    If (in another situation) a Sub submerges, does this change the answer. In otherwords, would the transport die if the sub submerged?

    Thanks!!!

    (game in play….quick answer is VERY appreaciated!!!)



  • The transport dies, the sub lives. If a sub submerges, then it cannot be protecting the transports - they would die if they are unescorted.


  • Official Q&A

    Welcome, Wileyone!

    The transport dies, whether or not the sub submerges.

    The important thing to understand about the defenseless transport rule is that it’s basically there to keep you from having to roll round after round of dice when the outcome is inevitable. The Soviet fighter would eventually hit the transport if the battle continued. It’s just a matter of time.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 14
  • 12
  • 16
  • 41
  • 4
  • 3
  • 8
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

36
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts