POLL Malta: Naval Base or Air Base or Both or None

• How do you feel about MALTA in Europe/Global 1940?

• Just an air base, that would let it scramble to hit passing ships.

• I say it should be whatever it was historically. I’m no expert, but I definitely know that Malta was a historical air fortress. Not sure about naval, but whatever they had, I think it should be represented that way.

• Malta had both a naval base and an air base.

• I think they should definitely do both if that was the case historically. If they’re expanding theaters like North Africa and the Middle East, I think the Mediterranean should be expanded as well. I hope to see an increasing importance of the UK possessions in the Med. Cyprus, Malta, and Gibraltar should all be territories with bases. IMHO, they should be linked to a national objective, seeing as they were all critical UK naval outposts. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think Larry said something about having a smaller number of NO’s to keep the game from getting too complex, so I suppose this is all wishful thinking for now. :cry:

• I said both. You can’t have a fortress w/o air scramble, the UK/US will need somewhere to protect their  super fleets. They’ll also need extra mobility and a place to repair ships besides Gib.

• Does malta need an airbase? It’s in the middle of the med, which will probably be 3 spaces wide.

• @calvinhobbesliker:

Does malta need an airbase? It’s in the middle of the med, which will probably be 3 spaces wide.

It needs it for scrambling, that’s pretty much a given.

• @SAS:

@calvinhobbesliker:

Does malta need an airbase? It’s in the middle of the med, which will probably be 3 spaces wide.

Sorry, I meant naval base

• @calvinhobbesliker:

@SAS:

@calvinhobbesliker:

Sorry, I meant naval base

Ah, that makes sense.  Perhaps the Med will be wider now also since the Baltic is going from 1 seazone to 3 and the Mediterranean is about twice as big…

• Customizer