Okay, don’t have the rules in front of me so I have another question. US attacks a Jap fleet with only subs. Since the Jap fleet has a destroyer and the US doesn’t, do the Japanese subs in her fleet get a first strike attack and at what die roll. Totally confused with this rule.
My reading of the rules is that yes, the Japanese subs get first strike as the US doesn’t not have ASW provided by a destroyer. Subs roll at a 1 for defense. Roll for your sub stack, US removes hits (rolls of 1) from the board immediately. Then US can roll for his remaining subs at 2 (for attack).