Transport loading question


  • 2019

    Here is the situation.

    transport in zone 1 (along with other surface warships including destroyers)
    island with inf in zone 2
    hostile submarine in zone 2

    Combat move 1
    1 dd and several warships move from zone 1 into zone 2 to engage submarine in zone 2.

    Combat move 2
    escorted transport moves into zone 2 to load 2 infantry and then leaves zone 2 to unload infantry to perform amphibious assault at some other location.

    Question 1:  Is combat move 2 legal?  Can the transport and ships involved in combat move 2 ignore the submarine while at the same time other ships are engaging it.  I would think yes as a transport is able to load in any non hostile sea zone and the presence of a sub doesnt make it hostile even though there will also be a battle there with other ships.

    Question 2:  If said transport is unescorted does the sub get to fire a pot shot?  My guess is again yes as the pot shot takes place in combat movement and the transport is unescorted so the fact that the sub will be involved in a battle in the next phase shouldnt make a difference.  And if the answer is yes does the sub take its pot shot before or after the troops are loaded?

    Anyone can feel free to respond but justified responses always work better as we all have opinions.  Didnt see any other threads that addressed this question but there are alot of threads so perhaps someone else has.

    Thanks


  • 2019

    Ok, well from some of the errata discussion it looks like that question 1 is definitely a yes.  And question 2 it looks like the sub def gets to fire but not sure if that is before or after loading.  My guess is before as the pot shot would occur when it enters not when it leaves.



  • there aren’t any islands in sz2, only in sz8 if that’s what you mean. you can’t load units from a hostile zone even if you bring warships along with it, you must resolve combat first, then on non-combat you can load units and unload in friendly territories. 😃


  • Official Q&A

    @ksmckay:

    Question 1:  Is combat move 2 legal?  Can the transport and ships involved in combat move 2 ignore the submarine while at the same time other ships are engaging it.  I would think yes as a transport is able to load in any non hostile sea zone and the presence of a sub doesnt make it hostile even though there will also be a battle there with other ships.

    Yes, it’s legal.

    @ksmckay:

    Question 2:  If said transport is unescorted does the sub get to fire a pot shot?  My guess is again yes as the pot shot takes place in combat movement and the transport is unescorted so the fact that the sub will be involved in a battle in the next phase shouldnt make a difference.  And if the answer is yes does the sub take its pot shot before or after the troops are loaded?

    Yes, the sub gets a shot, before the troops are loaded.



  • Krieghund, I’m confused. Do I have this right? If a transport accompanied by a cruiser, moves into a seazone w/an enemy sub, the cruiser stays in the seazone w/the enemy sub & asks if the enemy sub wants to fight or submerge but the transport moves out of the seazone(b/cuz it picked up an inf in the seazone & is on it’s way to invade an island in another seazone). The sub would get a “pot shot” at the transport? What is the cruiser accompanied the transport on the whole journey?

    Can the sub submerge(i.e. not fighting the cruiser) and still get the “pot shot” at the transport?

    Also, have another question, this applies to A&A Pacific 1940. Let’s say the US has 1 BB, 1 AC, 1 CC, 1 DD & 2 Subs in SZ6 surrounding Japan. Japan attacks w/a whole bunch of air, 1 AC(brought along to absorb hits) & is also invading w/2 Transports loaded w/troops. The Jap players asks the US player if he wants his subs to fight or submerge. The US player says obviously fight b/cuz his subs can only hit the AC. At some point in the battle, all the US surface ships are gone, due to the Jap air, the Jap AC is gone but the US subs remain b/cuz no one could hit them. What happens next?

    Can the Jap Trans ignore the subs?

    Do the Jap Trans automatically die?

    Do the US Subs get one shot at the Jap Trans. I’m confused as to exactly what happens.

    Thanks!


  • Official Q&A

    @Commando:

    Krieghund, I’m confused. Do I have this right? If a transport accompanied by a cruiser, moves into a seazone w/an enemy sub, the cruiser stays in the seazone w/the enemy sub & asks if the enemy sub wants to fight or submerge but the transport moves out of the seazone(b/cuz it picked up an inf in the seazone & is on it’s way to invade an island in another seazone). The sub would get a “pot shot” at the transport?

    Yes, because the transport is not escorted for its entire move.

    @Commando:

    What is the cruiser accompanied the transport on the whole journey?

    Then the sub doesn’t get to fire.

    @Commando:

    Can the sub submerge(i.e. not fighting the cruiser) and still get the “pot shot” at the transport?

    Yes.  The sub’s firing happens in the Combat Move phase, then the submerging happens in the Conduct Combat phase.

    @Commando:

    Also, have another question, this applies to A&A Pacific 1940. Let’s say the US has 1 BB, 1 AC, 1 CC, 1 DD & 2 Subs in SZ6 surrounding Japan. Japan attacks w/a whole bunch of air, 1 AC(brought along to absorb hits) & is also invading w/2 Transports loaded w/troops. The Jap players asks the US player if he wants his subs to fight or submerge. The US player says obviously fight b/cuz his subs can only hit the AC. At some point in the battle, all the US surface ships are gone, due to the Jap air, the Jap AC is gone but the US subs remain b/cuz no one could hit them. What happens next?

    Can the Jap Trans ignore the subs?

    No.  Subs can only be ingored during movement.  Once you attack them, you give up that option.

    @Commando:

    Do the Jap Trans automatically die?

    Not unless they can’t retreat.  If they are able to retreat, they may do so.

    @Commando:

    Do the US Subs get one shot at the Jap Trans. I’m confused as to exactly what happens.

    No.  Sub shots only occur during movement phases.  Retreats happen during the Conduct Combat phase.  The subs already had their chance during combat.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 5
  • 2
  • 9
  • 3
  • 21
  • 4
  • 11
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

50
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts