• I’m sure this has been asked a lot but I was wondering if this version of the game is worth it? I mean, obviously this is the anniversary edition which makes it special, but the hefty price tag makes me think twice because I’m a college student lol. I have the revised edition and am in love with it, but I’m thinking about branching out and am curious about this game. Thanks in advance for the input!

• Well, on one hand, I think Anniversary is the best of the non-theatre games. (Our group has played Classic, Revised, AA: Europe, AA: Pacific, and AA: Pacific 1940). In particular, I enjoy the national objectives, as I feel they have led to our play group constantly coming up with new strategies, even after 50+ games.

On the other hand: there is a new global game that will be finished when AA: Europe 1940 comes out in a few months (when added to Pacific 1940). Might cost $200 to buy both games from a hobby shop, but only $140-150 online, as I purchased the new Pacific for $65. This is probably cheaper than what Anniversary would cost at this point.

On the third hand (what?  :?) there are ways to get the Anniversary experience for cheaper. It is possible (I think) to print out the AA50 map, and use AA: Spring 1942 ($15 at target) for the pieces.

So, being a starving student myself, I’d probably make my own Anniversary and save my money for Global 1940.

EDIT: (Link to AA1942 @ Target)
    www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/509616/target-axis-allies-spring-1942-for-s15

• '16 '15 '10

It’s my favorite version (so far, haven’t had a look at global yet) but whether it’s worth 200+ to you is totally subjective and depends on you.

They should definitely reprint so more people could get the sculpts at less than 100$…