• as the rules state, when china holds (keeps) the burma road open, they get an increase of 6 ipc each round.  the question is if the japanese take a portion of the road, and then afterwards china takes it back (or another allie), does the bonus still apply for the collect phase? I believe that it should only apply if the road is open from the end of chinas turn to the beginning of chinas next turn without it ever falling. and also does the amount go up 6 ipc each round or is it just an extra 6 ipc bonus for china. for example, if the road is open and doesnt fall, chinas income is 12, would next turn it be 18, and then the next turn be 24, or would it just stay at 12 until they either lose land, gain land, or the road is lost whichever comes first.


  • Its a flat 6 ipc bonus for China. It does not increase. China gets the bonus if the road is open as of the collect income phase for China, as any objective. It does not have to stay open the whole round.


  • @Tralis:

    Its a flat 6 ipc bonus for China. It does not increase. China gets the bonus if the road is open as of the collect income phase for China, as any objective. It does not have to stay open the whole round.

    well then what is the difference between a round and a turn because the rule book, although poorly written as we all know, claims that every round china gets a 6 ipc bonus


  • @FlyingTiger:

    @Tralis:

    Its a flat 6 ipc bonus for China. It does not increase. China gets the bonus if the road is open as of the collect income phase for China, as any objective. It does not have to stay open the whole round.

    well then what is the difference between a round and a turn because the rule book, although poorly written as we all know, claims that every round china gets a 6 ipc bonus

    A turn is a single players individual turn: China or US or Japan or UK or Anzac.  A round is a full sequence of turns: Japan, US, China, Uk and finally Anzac.

    Also, there is still a punishment to China if the Burma road is closed at the beginning of their turn: they can’t purchase artillery.


  • @kcdzim:

    @FlyingTiger:

    @Tralis:

    Its a flat 6 ipc bonus for China. It does not increase. China gets the bonus if the road is open as of the collect income phase for China, as any objective. It does not have to stay open the whole round.

    well then what is the difference between a round and a turn because the rule book, although poorly written as we all know, claims that every round china gets a 6 ipc bonus

    A turn is a single players individual turn: China or US or Japan or UK or Anzac.  A round is a full sequence of turns: Japan, US, China, Uk and finally Anzac.

    Also, there is still a punishment to China if the Burma road is closed at the beginning of their turn: they can’t purchase artillery.

    true, but does that mean that the bonus for china is still givin to them at the end of their turn?


  • The collect income phase is at the end of the turn as stated in the rule book.  So China gets an extra 6 IPCs if the Burma road is completely in Allied hands regardless of what happen in the past.  The game is complicated but always try to approach each question/situation with the simplest solution in mind.  Taking that approach has helped me understand the game better.


  • ok thx

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

41

Online

17.1k

Users

39.4k

Topics

1.7m

Posts