Fighter Interceptors



  • I didn’t see this question asked in the SBR thread so here goes.

    Before any other combat the attacking player has to announce which fighters and bombers are participating in a Strategic Bombing Raid.  Those units would not be involved with an attack on the other forces within the zone.  It says nothing about defenders.  Can intercepting fighters actually defend against the SBR and then defend the zone in the same combat?  Or does the defender have to state which fighters are defending the forces there and which are intercepting the bombers?

    Thanks



  • The defending fighters either intercept the SBR raid or participate in the fight for the territory, not both. Since the SBR combat goes before anything else any fighters not used as interceptors will automatically participate afterwards on the defense (assuming the territory is being both SBRed and attacked).

    Always keep in mind that for game proposes all combats occur at the same time during the Combat round, even though you roll for each combat seperately and in a sequence. Thus, it is impossible for units to participate in 2 different fights during a Combat round.



  • Most likely they can not participate in both.

    The rules make it very clear attackers can not, but there are no clear statements for defenders, that I could find. Clearly stating something for attackers and not for defenders, when it is supposed to also apply to defenders, makes for a sloppy rule.

    I also can’t find a general rule about a unit being limited to participating in only one combat per turn.



  • It isn’t clearly stated but on page 19 it mentions that stranded air units (such as fighter interceptors) whose original territory is now under enemy control will land during the non-combat phase. Thus, this states that the interceptors were airborne during the combat to take the territory and didn’t participate on that battle.

    On the AA50 FAQ it clearly states: “Fighters participating as either an escort or a defender cannot participate in other battles during that turn.” Most likely that part was dropped when they transcribed the rules to the Pacific rulebook.



  • @moompix:

    I also can’t find a general rule about a unit being limited to participating in only one combat per turn.

    Page 11: “All combat movement is considered to take place at the same time. Thus you cannot move a unit, then conduct combat, then move that unit again during this phase”

    Page 16: “Combat on each space takes place at the same time”

    If follow those rules are followed it is not possible for a unit to participate in more than 1 combat per turn (other than a house rule allowing to disregard the law of physics that states than an object cannot be at 2 different locations at the same time 😉 ).



  • (other than a house rule allowing to disregard the law of physics that states than an object cannot be at 2 different locations at the same time 😉 ).

    That should be like a research or something. Or possibly a national advantage.  😄



  • @The:

    That should be like a research or something. Or possibly a national advantage.  😄

    "Tech - Wormholes

    You may choose 1 unit to be present on every combat that you perform this round. At the end of the combat round return the unit to its original location"



  • @Hobbes:

    If follow those rules are followed it is not possible for a unit to participate in more than 1 combat per turn (other than a house rule allowing to disregard the law of physics that states than an object cannot be at 2 different locations at the same time 😉 ).

    Considering a turn represents a few months …


    There’s no general rule that says a unit can’t participate in more than one combat per turn. There is just no situation in which it is possible.



  • I think that you shouldn’t have to separate out your defending fighters from the SBR.  The entire escort rule is there to make it harder to SBR someone.
    The only reason that I could see to NOT send your fighters up to intercept would be that you don’t want them getting shot down… but realistically they’d get shot down on the airfields anyways.
    My point is that in order to SBR somebody you should really need to be in a perfect position to do so (i.e. have fighter cover) but having to select which fighters intercept the bombers and which defend the zone i think detracts from that alot.  Just because you can bring some ground forces with you to attack shouldnt mean that you can SBR at will.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 4
  • 12
  • 5
  • 11
  • 8
  • 5
  • 8
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

56
Online

13.9k
Users

34.2k
Topics

1.3m
Posts