Defending subs doubt



  • can a defending submarine retreat (one adjacent sea zone) instead of submerge in a combat situation?

    thanks.



  • Indeed they can. Refer to pages 10 and 26 in the rules for more details.



  • subs can only return fire or submerge
    they cannot retreat in anyway other units can’t



  • I’m afraid you’re wrong, lnxduk. p. 10: “Note: Submarines are the only defending units in the game that may withdraw from battle.”
    p. 26: “Submarines are the only defending units in the game that may retreat and withdraw from battle.”



  • i have read the online pdf book. It says clearly on page 10 “defender fires back and/or submerges”

    then on page 10: “note: Submarines are the only defending units in the game that may withdraw from battle”

    it does say retreat and withdraw on page 26 but this is not refering to the same thing

    look at the example:

    A if the sub was hit, it may still take a “parting shot” at the allied ships present.

    B. if the sub was not hit, it may either submerge again, or fire back.

    subs cannot retreat from battle as defenders like they can in world.

    perhaps by your rules destroyers still bombard at 3 not 2?



  • Hi all,

    so let me give this specific example as a question.

    If a sub is hit by a defending destroyer; is the sub out of the game, or can it save itself for the next turn by submerging?

    i think the rule book is a bit vague on this.

    Thanks,

    Hans



  • It is dead then.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 15
  • 15
  • 3
  • 7
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

78
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts