1. Must the US go to war at the beginning of its third turn or can it wait till whenever it wants to declare war if not already done so?
2. When nations are not at war (such as the US) can they share spaces on the board with other nations such as szs w/ Japan?
These were not clarified in the rules and I was just wondering.
Actually it is in the rules:
However, if the United States is still not at war with
Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may
declare war on Japan at the beginning of that phase.
So they don’t have to declare war.
A sea unit can move through any friendly sea
zone. It can’t move into or through a hostile sea zone.
Unlike other sea units, submarines can move through and
even into hostile sea zones in the Noncombat Move phase.
However, a submarine must end its movement when it enters
a sea zone containing one or more enemy destroyers.
So they can share seazones, as the seazone is friendly when the US is not at war.
Only allied nations can share land territories.