thx for your answers krieg,
I’m just going to post all the little things and clarifications i collected so far from this faq thread, in the hopes of answering people’s questions without having to read through all 13+ pages.
ANZAC and UK can take over Dutch territories from the Dutch, but USA can not. The USA can only capture them from Japan. USA may move into Dutch territories, including landing air, ONCE it is at war with Japan, however the USA may never take them over.
ANZAC/UK/USA may never take French territories FROM France. They can however, move units into French owned French territories, and land air there.
ANZAC and UK can noncombat move into Dutch territories without taking them over, including with Air units. If ANZAC or UK noncombat moves land units into Dutch territories, they take them over. If air units, they may land there without dying, but ANZAC/UK does not take the territory over. If taken over by ANZAC/UK, you may land air there same turn.
Japan and UK/ANZAC may move air units over land owned by each other, even when they are not at war. The exception is that UK/ANZAC may not move air units over “originally” Chinese territories. They may not however move land units over land owned by each other. UK/ANZAC may not move any units into China or USA, including air units.
After being at war, transports that began that turn in a now hostile sea zone may be loaded. Unlike transports beginning in hostile sea zones where you have been at war for sometime, which may not be loaded.
In order to not be fired on by a surprise strike, transports must make their entire move accompanied by at least one surface warship.
Scrambling is considered a defensive action, and it is activated by an attack, not by movement or presence alone. Only occurs if your sea units are attacked or there is an amphibious assault.
Only industrial complexes are destroyed by China, aa guns and naval and air bases are not destroyed.
Kamikaze attacks will prevent bombardment. So will Scrambling attacks.
Kamikazes can only target surface warships, not airplanes, not transports, not subs.
Captured naval and air bases can not be used until next round. In other words, you can’t somehow use the naval base for bonus movement during noncombat.
Scrambled fighters must land on the island they started on, unless the island is captured (then they get 1 movement to land somewhere else).
ANZAC’s national objective for “occupying” and originally Japanese island applies only to have the presence of units on that island, not to actually owning it or capturing it. So if USA captures the island from Japan, ANZAC can reinforce USA there and get its objective.
If you are upgrading a minor complex to a major one, you can only mobilize 3 units in that territory this turn.
How Pacific 1940 scrambling works:
Scrambling must be completed before any combat, including kamikaze strikes, occurs.
Scrambling may only occur from islands with air units and operating air bases (an island is a land territory with only 1 connection, which is to a sea territory). The scrambled air may join other friendly units in the sea zone, or be the only units there. Scrambled units are considered to be defending, and take part in combat as usual. They can not participate in any other battles during that turn (they are not moved back to their home territory til after all battles are done). Scrambling removes any bombardment.
Scrambling occurs when either the island where the air units are comes under amphibious assault, and/or the sea zone surrounding that island contains friendly sea units which come under attack.
How Pacific 1940 Kamikaze strikes work:
After conditions have been met (that Japan has lost Okinawa or Iwo Jima), Japan is allowed to make 6 kamikaze strikes in sea zones containing the Kamikaze symbol.
If the Allied players move ships into one of these sea zones during Combat Move phase, then after before any battles are resolved, Japan announces if they are going to do any kamikaze strikes.
Japan then declares how many strikes and in what sea zones. Each strike must target a specific surface warship, and more than one strike may target a ship. Kamikaze strikes hit on a 2 out of 6, and any casualties are immediately removed with no chance to fire back. These strikes prevent bombardment from happening.
How Pacific 1940 Strategic Bombing Raids with Escorts and Interceptors work:
Escorting fighters can originate from any territory, and join the bombers at the target. Both the bombers and the escorting fighters may not participate in any other battles this turn, and this applies whether or not the defender commits any interceptors. Any number of defending fighters based in the territory being targeted may be committed to intercept the attackers.
If interceptors are committed, an air battle takes place with these rules (all before aa guns fire):
- The attacking bombers and fighter escorts and the defending fighter interceptors will be the only units paricipating in the air battle.
- The attacking strategic bombers will not fire, but can be taken casualty.
- The fighters have an escort (attack) value of 1, and an interceptor (defense) value of 2.
- The battle lasts for only 1 round.
After the battle is over, the fighters are considered to retreat and do not participate in the raid or get attacked by aa guns. The surviving bombers are then split up and assigned to their targets (industrial complexes and/or air/naval bases). The AA guns then fire against each group of bombers (not the fighter escorts).
How Pacific 1940 submarine attack on un-escorted transports works:
In both the combat and noncombat movement phases, a transport must make its entire move accompanied by a surface warship (no handoffs allowed), otherwise if a unescorted transport moves into or through a sea zone containing an enemy submarine, each submarine may fire on a 2 out of 6 each group of transports moving into or through that sea zone.