AAP40 FAQ


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Battling:

    @gamerman01:

    Krieghund has asked me to sub in for him while he’s gone this week.

    Those are some big shoes to fill. I know you’ll be up to the task. 🙂

    Thank you.  🙂  I’ve been a FAQ junkie for long enough that I do know the answer to most questions (not all, like Krieg, of course).  Very big shoes, yes.



  • Hi there,

    Newbie to AA so this will be a dumb question (and probably a poorly worded one also.)

    If I move naval craft into a postion to bombard a territory and there are enemy vessels in the same SZ, is the battle with the enemy ships/fighters from CV the only option, or can I also bombard land after winning the sea/air battle?

    Only played two games and am addicted already!

    Cheers



  • you can only fight the air/sea battle


  • 2019 2018

    @flyingkiwi:

    Hi there,

    Newbie to AA so this will be a dumb question (and probably a poorly worded one also.)

    If I move naval craft into a postion to bombard a territory and there are enemy vessels in the same SZ, is the battle with the enemy ships/fighters from CV the only option, or can I also bombard land after winning the sea/air battle?

    Only played two games and am addicted already!

    Cheers

    Any naval battle that preceeds the amphibious landings will make it so that the navy cannot bombard the land.  Also you cannot say ships A and B will do the naval battle and ship C will bombard, all naval units in the hostile seazone participate in the sea battle.  That is why a single scrambled fighter can stop an entire navy from doing a shore bombard because a naval combat must take place to destroy the fighter.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @cond1024:

    @flyingkiwi:

    Hi there,

    Newbie to AA so this will be a dumb question (and probably a poorly worded one also.)

    If I move naval craft into a postion to bombard a territory and there are enemy vessels in the same SZ, is the battle with the enemy ships/fighters from CV the only option, or can I also bombard land after winning the sea/air battle?

    Only played two games and am addicted already!

    Cheers

    Any naval battle that preceeds the amphibious landings will make it so that the navy cannot bombard the land.  Also you cannot say ships A and B will do the naval battle and ship C will bombard, all naval units in the hostile seazone participate in the sea battle.  That is why a single scrambled fighter can stop an entire navy from doing a shore bombard because a naval combat must take place to destroy the fighter.

    Single kamikaze does the same thing.  So you should try to save a kamikaze or 2, to keep them honest.



  • Thanks for that guys.



  • Hi all, I have a couple of questions to ask.
    1- Can Anzac/Uk land fighters in Hawaii or on American carriers BEFORE USA is at war with Japan?

    2- When fighters are on an island that has an airbase and the ships in that sea zone are attacked, do those fighters scramble for one round of rolling or until the sea battle is resolved? I read in the book that the fighters scramble, but if the country is captured by the enemy the fighters have one more space to move. How can a transport land units to capture a territory if the scrambled fighters are still alive?

    3- If the Dutch East Indies are captured by Anzac/UK, do they recieve the IPC’s the island offers? I wasn’t sure since the Dutch and UK are allies.

    4- If the Canadian territories are taken over by Japan, are those IPC’s deducted from UK’s total income?

    5- Can US Ships in the Philipinnes move to or thru Anzac/UK waters before war has been declared on USA?

    6- Can US place the two men from the Philipinnes into the Dutch colonies before control has been made by any of the other powers? If it can, does it recieves the IPCs the island has to offer?

    Thanks!



  • I want to clarify my second question.
    For example:
    Japan wants to invade Hawaii. They send in a battleship and a transport with a inf/tank.
    The Hawaiian sz has a destroyer on it and two fighters on the airbase.
    The two fighters scramble to defend the destroyer, so it’s 2 fighters and destroyer vs a Battleship.
    The Japanese battleship and American destroyer are both destroyed leaving only the two scrambled fighters.
    Where does that leave the Japanese transport? Is it destroyed by the two remaining fighters? If not, do the two remaining fighters land on the island for defense against the amphibious assault?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @rpv173:

    Hi all, I have a couple of questions to ask.
    1- Can Anzac/Uk land fighters in Hawaii or on American carriers BEFORE USA is at war with Japan?

    No.

    2- When fighters are on an island that has an airbase and the ships in that sea zone are attacked, do those fighters scramble for one round of rolling or until the sea battle is resolved? I read in the book that the fighters scramble, but if the country is captured by the enemy the fighters have one more space to move. How can a transport land units to capture a territory if the scrambled fighters are still alive?

    Until resolved.  Transport can’t land the units - they would be dead.  Paratroopers are the only other explanation.

    3- If the Dutch East Indies are captured by Anzac/UK, do they recieve the IPC’s the island offers? I wasn’t sure since the Dutch and UK are allies.

    Yes.  And they take control.  And then if they’re lost to the Japs the Americans could take control after that.

    4- If the Canadian territories are taken over by Japan, are those IPC’s deducted from UK’s total income?

    Yes.  UK is getting income from West Canada, so it can also be lost (and convoy can be raided).

    5- Can US Ships in the Philipinnes move to or thru Anzac/UK waters before war has been declared on USA?

    Yes.  They can go to any seazone on the map.

    6- Can US place the two men from the Philipinnes into the Dutch colonies before control has been made by any of the other powers? If it can, does it recieves the IPCs the island has to offer?

    Thanks!

    No.  See above. yw


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @rpv173:

    I want to clarify my second question.
    For example:
    Japan wants to invade Hawaii. They send in a battleship and a transport with a inf/tank.
    The Hawaiian sz has a destroyer on it and two fighters on the airbase.
    The two fighters scramble to defend the destroyer, so it’s 2 fighters and destroyer vs a Battleship.
    The Japanese battleship and American destroyer are both destroyed leaving only the two scrambled fighters.
    Where does that leave the Japanese transport? Is it destroyed by the two remaining fighters? If not, do the two remaining fighters land on the island for defense against the amphibious assault?

    Any unit with a combat value would destroy all the transports, yes.  But at the end of each round the attacker has an opportunity to retreat the transports before they are destroyed.  If you don’t understand, I can give examples.



  • About the US ships moving to any sea zone, does that mean I can move to a japanese sz whlile not at war?

    I didnt know transports can retreat battle. Does the load retreat with it, since it’s commited to the amphib assault prior to the naval battle being resolved?
    Thanks for answering my questions.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @rpv173:

    About the US ships moving to any sea zone, does that mean I can move to a japanese sz whlile not at war?

    Yes.

    I didnt know transports can retreat battle. Does the load retreat with it, since it’s commited to the amphib assault prior to the naval battle being resolved?
    Thanks for answering my questions.

    Yes, load retreats with it, that’s right.  But only one zone back, from whence it came (along the path).


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Page 8 - “Sea zones are either friendly or hostile.  Friendly sea zones contain no surface warships belonging to a power with which you are at war.”

    So all sea zones on the map are friendly to the USA before being at war with Japan.  Warships of the Japs and Americans can peacefully coexist in the same sea zone before the time that the USA is at war.



  • Ìîæíî ëè òóò ðàçìåùàòü ññûëêè íà ñàéòû ñ ïîäáîðêàìè ñîôòà?   
    íå çàïðåùåííî ëè ýòî ïðàâèëàìè?


  • Customizer

    Hi Krieg,

    2 clarifications required:

    First) I am little bit confused about movement allowed before war is declared.  Please tell me if the below is true or not:
    **Japan and UK/ANZAC may move AIR units over land owned by each other, even when they are not at war.  The exception is that UK/ANZAC may not move air units over “originally” Chinese territories (any territory with a chinese flag).  They may not however move land units over land owned by each other.  UK/ANZAC may not move any units into China or USA, including air units.
    So for example, the UK could move fighters over Siam, but not over Kwangsi. **

    Second) Dutch territories have been clarified to death, but not French territories.
    My understanding:
    UK/ANZAC may take over dutch territories from the dutch by moving land units into them during combat move phase.
    UK/ANZAC may move into without taking over dutch territories from the dutch by moving air or land units into them during non-combat move phase.
    If UK/ANZAC moved a land unit into them during non-combat move phase, then during their next turn, during combat move, that unit would take over the territory?  Or would it have to move out, then move back in?  Please clarify.
    USA and move take over dutch territories from the dutch at any time (can only take them from the Japanese).
    USA can not move land or air units into them during noncombat move, even if they are at war with the Japanese and allied to UK/ANZAC.  USA can fly over, but not land on them.  Please clarify.

    What about French territories?
    Can UK/ANZAC conquer French territories from the French, by moving land units during combat move?
    Can UK/ANZAC noncombat move into French territories that are french, including landing aircraft there?
    If at war with Japan, can USA take over French territories from the French?  Can USA noncombat move and land air in French territories?  Can USA fly over french territories?

    Thanks,
    Veqryn


  • Official Q&A

    @Veqryn:

    Japan and UK/ANZAC may move AIR units over land owned by each other, even when they are not at war.   The exception is that UK/ANZAC may not move air units over “originally” Chinese territories (any territory with a chinese flag).  They may not however move land units over land owned by each other.

    True.

    @Veqryn:

    **UK/ANZAC may not move any units into China or USA, including air units.
    So for example, the UK could move fighters over Siam, but not over Kwangsi. **

    True.  However, the prohibition against moving units into US territories is due to US neutrality, and has nothing to do with the relations between UK/ANZAC and Japan.

    @Veqryn:

    UK/ANZAC may take over dutch territories from the dutch by moving land units into them during combat move phase.

    True.

    @Veqryn:

    UK/ANZAC may move into without taking over dutch territories from the dutch by moving air or land units into them during non-combat move phase.

    Air units, yes, but not land units.  If land units move in, the territory is claimed.  If only air units move in, it is not.

    @Veqryn:

    If UK/ANZAC moved a land unit into them during non-combat move phase, then during their next turn, during combat move, that unit would take over the territory?  Or would it have to move out, then move back in?  Please clarify.

    It would be taken over when the land unit moved in initially.

    @Veqryn:

    USA and move take over dutch territories from the dutch at any time (can only take them from the Japanese).

    Powers other than UK/ANZAC may only control Dutch territories by taking them from the Axis.

    @Veqryn:

    USA can not move land or air units into them during noncombat move, even if they are at war with the Japanese and allied to UK/ANZAC.  USA can fly over, but not land on them.  Please clarify.

    US may move into Dutch territories freely, but only if the US is at war.

    @Veqryn:

    Can UK/ANZAC conquer French territories from the French, by moving land units during combat move?

    No.

    @Veqryn:

    Can UK/ANZAC noncombat move into French territories that are french, including landing aircraft there?

    Yes, but it may not take control of them.

    @Veqryn:

    If at war with Japan, can USA take over French territories from the French?

    No, only from the Axis.

    @Veqryn:

    Can USA noncombat move and land air in French territories?  Can USA fly over french territories?

    Yes, but only if US is at war.


  • Customizer

    Ok, so ANZAC/UK can noncombat move takeover dutch territories?

    Also, let if i do take over a dutch territory, can I land my aircraft there Same turn?  or do i have to wait a turn to do so?

    And USA, once at war, can move into, and land air, in Dutch owned Dutch territories, but may not take them over from the Dutch (they stay under Dutch control).

    And it seems ANZAC/UK/USA can not take over French territories FROM France, (but of course may take them from Japan).


  • Official Q&A

    @Veqryn:

    Ok, so ANZAC/UK can noncombat move takeover dutch territories?

    Yes, with land units only.

    @Veqryn:

    Also, let if i do take over a dutch territory, can I land my aircraft there Same turn?  or do i have to wait a turn to do so?

    They may land in the same turn, as the territory was friendly (Dutch) at the beginning of the turn.

    @Veqryn:

    And USA, once at war, can move into, and land air, in Dutch owned Dutch territories, but may not take them over from the Dutch (they stay under Dutch control).

    And it seems ANZAC/UK/USA can not take over French territories FROM France, (but of course may take them from Japan).

    Correct.


  • Customizer

    thx for your answers krieg,

    I’m just going to post all the little things and clarifications i collected so far from this faq thread, in the hopes of answering people’s questions without having to read through all 13+ pages.

    Pacific 1940:
    ANZAC and UK can take over Dutch territories from the Dutch, but USA can not.  The USA can only capture them from Japan.  USA may move into Dutch territories, including landing air, ONCE it is at war with Japan, however the USA may never take them over. 
    ANZAC/UK/USA may never take French territories FROM France.  They can however, move units into French owned French territories, and land air there. 
    ANZAC and UK can noncombat move into Dutch territories without taking them over, including with Air units.  If ANZAC or UK noncombat moves land units into Dutch territories, they take them over.  If air units, they may land there without dying, but ANZAC/UK does not take the territory over.  If taken over by ANZAC/UK, you may land air there same turn. 
    Japan and UK/ANZAC may move air units over land owned by each other, even when they are not at war.  The exception is that UK/ANZAC may not move air units over “originally” Chinese territories.  They may not however move land units over land owned by each other.  UK/ANZAC may not move any units into China or USA, including air units. 
    After being at war, transports that began that turn in a now hostile sea zone may be loaded.  Unlike transports beginning in hostile sea zones where you have been at war for sometime, which may not be loaded.
    In order to not be fired on by a surprise strike, transports must make their entire move accompanied by at least one surface warship. 
    Scrambling is considered a defensive action, and it is activated by an attack, not by movement or presence alone.  Only occurs if your sea units are attacked or there is an amphibious assault. 
    Only industrial complexes are destroyed by China, aa guns and naval and air bases are not destroyed. 
    Kamikaze attacks will prevent bombardment.  So will Scrambling attacks.
    Kamikazes can only target surface warships, not airplanes, not transports, not subs.
    Captured naval and air bases can not be used until next round.  In other words, you can’t somehow use the naval base for bonus movement during noncombat. 
    Scrambled fighters must land on the island they started on, unless the island is captured (then they get 1 movement to land somewhere else).
    ANZAC’s national objective for “occupying” and originally Japanese island applies only to have the presence of units on that island, not to actually owning it or capturing it.  So if USA captures the island from Japan, ANZAC can reinforce USA there and get its objective. 
    If you are upgrading a minor complex to a major one, you can only mobilize 3 units in that territory this turn.

    How Pacific 1940 scrambling works:
    Scrambling must be completed before any combat, including kamikaze strikes, occurs.
    Scrambling may only occur from islands with air units and operating air bases (an island is a land territory with only 1 connection, which is to a sea territory).  The scrambled air may join other friendly units in the sea zone, or be the only units there.  Scrambled units are considered to be defending, and take part in combat as usual.  They can not participate in any other battles during that turn (they are not moved back to their home territory til after all battles are done).  Scrambling removes any bombardment.
    Scrambling occurs when either the island where the air units are comes under amphibious assault, and/or the sea zone surrounding that island contains friendly sea units which come under attack.

    How Pacific 1940 Kamikaze strikes work:
    After conditions have been met (that Japan has lost Okinawa or Iwo Jima), Japan is allowed to make 6 kamikaze strikes in sea zones containing the Kamikaze symbol. 
    If the Allied players move ships into one of these sea zones during Combat Move phase, then after before any battles are resolved, Japan announces if they are going to do any kamikaze strikes. 
    Japan then declares how many strikes and in what sea zones.  Each strike must target a specific surface warship, and more than one strike may target a ship.  Kamikaze strikes hit on a 2 out of 6, and any casualties are immediately removed with no chance to fire back.  These strikes prevent bombardment from happening.

    How Pacific 1940 Strategic Bombing Raids with Escorts and Interceptors work:
    Escorting fighters can originate from any territory, and join the bombers at the target.  Both the bombers and the escorting fighters may not participate in any other battles this turn, and this applies whether or not the defender commits any interceptors.  Any number of defending fighters based in the territory being targeted may be committed to intercept the attackers. 
    If interceptors are committed, an air battle takes place with these rules (all before aa guns fire):

    1. The attacking bombers and fighter escorts and the defending fighter interceptors will be the only units paricipating in the air battle.
    2. The attacking strategic bombers will not fire, but can be taken casualty.
    3. The fighters have an escort (attack) value of 1, and an interceptor (defense) value of 2.
    4. The battle lasts for only 1 round.
      After the battle is over, the fighters are considered to retreat and do not participate in the raid or get attacked by aa guns.  The surviving bombers are then split up and assigned to their targets (industrial complexes and/or air/naval bases).  The AA guns then fire against each group of bombers (not the fighter escorts).

    How Pacific 1940 submarine attack on un-escorted transports works:
    In both the combat and noncombat movement phases, a transport must make its entire move accompanied by a surface warship (no handoffs allowed), otherwise if a unescorted transport moves into or through a sea zone containing an enemy submarine, each submarine may fire on a 2 out of 6 each group of transports moving into or through that sea zone.


  • TripleA '12

    Hey guys,

    I was wondering: I see that many of the territories along the coast of mainland China have orange tinted borders (which would indicate Japanese ownership) but still have Chinese control markers on them? Forgive me, I don’t own the game but am I right in assuming that the AAP40 set dictates that Japan currently controls these territories at the start of the game? And if this is the case, do players normally place a Japanese control marker over the Chinese ones printed on the board?

    The reason I wish to know is because I am currently making a copy of map (for no particular reason) and I’m doing it in block-colour as opposed to the standard ‘terrain’ style imagery of the recent A&A Games. I got to this point in the map and I thought ‘Hmm, should I colour these territories orange or green?’

    Anyway, thank you for helping to clear this up.  🙂


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Color them green.
    The orange border is only to show that Japan starts the game controlling those territories.  They are Chinese territories, conquered by the Japanese.  Yes they have Jap control markers on them at the beginning of the game - because they are considered Chinese territories.



  • I’m a tad confused about the Kwangtung/Burma exception for the Chinese. I understand that they are able to attack and occupy these territories, never allowed to build infantry/artillery in them, and only receive an IPC income boost for as long as Calcutta is under Axis control. My question is this: is there anything prohibiting Chinese units from moving into these two territories during noncombat movement to reinforce them? Stated another way, can I move Chinese units into them regardless of whether they are under China’s temporary control or under their original British ownership? Thank you!


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @oklahomasailor52:

    I’m a tad confused about the Kwangtung/Burma exception for the Chinese. I understand that they are able to attack and occupy these territories, never allowed to build infantry/artillery in them, and only receive an IPC income boost for as long as Calcutta is under Axis control. My question is this: is there anything prohibiting Chinese units from moving into these two territories during noncombat movement to reinforce them? Stated another way, can I move Chinese units into them regardless of whether they are under China’s temporary control or under their original British ownership? Thank you!Â

    YES  🙂
    You can always noncom Chinese units into them when they are friendly, regardless of who controls it(them).


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    how do people deal with russia in Pacific only with A3.9? I would like to see the 18 inf on the board and force Japan to garrison both Korea and Manchuria for 2 turns, then remove Russians and release Japanese forces. Perhaps Air units could fight and return in non combat.


  • TripleA '12

    Calvinhobbesliker is correct.  China can control these territories if it captures them while India is under Axis control, but they are not “Chinese territories”.

    Krieghund, can this ambiguity please be clarified and put into the official Pacific 1940 FAQ/Errata? And if still possible, into the rulebook for the upcoming Pacific 1940 reprint? I think the paragraph should read:

    "Kwangtung and Burma are special cases. While they are not Chinese territories and cannot be controlled by China, Chinese forces can attack Axis units there and occupy them, but the IPCs generated go to the United Kingdom. However, if India is under Axis control then the IPCs generated go to China. These are the only non-Chinese territories that Chinese units can occupy."

    Is that okay? Thank you.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

38
Online

14.6k
Users

35.2k
Topics

1.4m
Posts