• I have a question about strategic bombing and scrambling to defend a sea zone.
    Kreig, I have a question that came up in our last game and we were so stumped that we had to flip a coin to decide.

    If I’m attacking an island the has 5 fighters on an airbase, what happens if I send in an amphibious assault and strategically bomb the airfield at the same time?  For example, I send in 2 fighters to escort the bomber on the raid and “x” number of transports and warships to assault that same island.  2 fighters scramble to defend vs the strategic bombing and 2 fighters scramble to defend the sea zone leaving one fighter to defend vs the land units.  The dogfight kills no fighters on either side and the bomber does 3+ points of damage to the airbase, meaning no air units can scramble to defend the sea zone.  What happens to the 2 fighters that were assigned to scramble to the sea zone now that the airbase is too damaged to let them do that?  Do they do nothing that round since they were assigned to scramble before the bombing raid, or do they get to defend in the land battle (which also doesn’t seem right since dogfighting planes don’t get to do two things and that gives less incentive to scramble to defend the airfield since you have a safety net of “if the bombing is successful, at least I can still automatically fight in the actual island defence”)?

    Thanks in advance

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Well, the rulebook says scrambling occurs at the beginning of the conduct combat phase.  Then SBR’s occur.  So your scrambled aircraft left the undamaged airbase to arrive at the sea zone, and then the airbase got bombed.  So it appears to me that the fighters are indeed scrambled, and the bombing of the airbase doesn’t prevent that, as it occurred at a later time.

  • Official Q&A

    Gamerman01 is correct.

  • '22 '19 '18

    Along those same lines if the scrambled fighters defeat the naval armada, would they be able to land on the damaged
    airfields or would they crash?


  • @cond1024:

    Along those same lines if the scrambled fighters defeat the naval armada, would they be able to land on the damaged
    airfields or would they crash?

    Air units don’t require air bases to land; they can land on any territory they or an ally controls.

  • Official Q&A

    Yup.

  • '20 '18 '17 '15

    Scrambling question:

    Scramble: Defending fighters and tactical bombers (strategic
    bombers cannot scramble) located on islands that have
    operative airbases can be scrambled to defend against attacks
    in the sea zones surrounding those islands.

    Is it considered an attack if you move through an unoccupied SZ that contains an enemy island w/air base enroute to attack another?

    Say an American force wishes to sail past the Carolines, Fighters on the island but not enemy ships in the SZ, and attack Paulau?  Could the Japanese Caroline fighters scramble and fight the American navy as it passes?  Or is it not considered an attack in the SZ because its empty?

  • Official Q&A

    If you’re just passing through a sea zone, you’re not making an attack in it.  Scrambling is done after all combat moves are completed.


  • The Alaska sea zone 1 is blocked from sea zone 2. The space between the Aluetian islands force you to make an extra movement. Is this just an error in the way it was drawn. If you are on the far west end of sea zone 1, can you move one space to sea zone 2. If you can that would mean you are traveling between islands and are traveling along the territory line, kind of crossing it.

  • Official Q&A

    Sea zones 1 and 2 are adjacent to each other.  Movement between them is passing between Alaska and Aleutian Islands.


  • Questions:
    Where is it written in the rules that a transport must move with an escorting boat?

    Would that not contradict the un-escorted transport being shot at by subs?

    AC

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @Axis:

    Questions:
    Where is it written in the rules that a transport must move with an escorting boat?

    Would that not contradict the un-escorted transport being shot at by subs?

    AC

    Transports do not have to be escorted.  Yes, that’s why there’s a rule about subs being able to fire on transports unescorted by surface warships.


  • Kreighund, a China rule question.

    AAP40 Rule page 9

    “Kwangtung and Burma are special
    cases. While they are not Chinese
    territories and cannot be controlled
    by China, Chinese forces can attack
    Axis units there and occupy them, but
    the IPCs generated go to the United
    Kingdom (unless India is under Axis
    control). These are the only non-
    Chinese territories that Chinese units
    can occupy.”

    The “…IPCs generated go to the United Kingdom (unless India is under Axis control).” part is my question.

    **Q:**May China get receive the IPC’s from Kwangtung and/or Burma if India has fallen?
    (It does not say China may get the IPCs, only that IPCs go to the UK. Nor does it state that China does not receive IPCs either(If India is under Axis control).


  • @BadSpeller:

    Kreighund, a China rule question.

    AAP40 Rule page 9

    “Kwangtung and Burma are special
    cases. While they are not Chinese
    territories and cannot be controlled
    by China, Chinese forces can attack
    Axis units there and occupy them, but
    the IPCs generated go to the United
    Kingdom (unless India is under Axis
    control). These are the only non-
    Chinese territories that Chinese units
    can occupy.”

    The “…IPCs generated go to the United Kingdom (unless India is under Axis control).” part is my question.

    **Q:**May China get receive the IPC’s from Kwangtung and/or Burma if India has fallen?
    (It does not say China may get the IPCs, only that IPCs go to the UK. Nor does it state that China does not receive IPCs either(If India is under Axis control).

    I think China gets the ipc’s, but it can’t build there or destroy a factory there

  • Official Q&A

    Calvinhobbesliker is correct.  China can control these territories if it captures them while India is under Axis control, but they are not “Chinese territories”.


  • @Krieghund:

    Calvinhobbesliker is correct.  China can control these territories if it captures them while India is under Axis control, but they are not “Chinese territories”.

    I disagree. In the rulebook it specifically says that China CANNOT control Kwangtung. Not that China can’t get it most of the time. It says CANNOT. (capitalization added for emphasis)  😛


  • @Wilson2:

    @Krieghund:

    Calvinhobbesliker is correct.  China can control these territories if it captures them while India is under Axis control, but they are not “Chinese territories”.

    I disagree. In the rulebook it specifically says that China CANNOT control Kwangtung. Not that China can’t get it most of the time. It says CANNOT. (capitalization added for emphasis)  😛

    I think it says "China can occupy(move units into) Kwangtung and Buma, but it may not take control of them(UNLESS INDIA IS AXIS-CONTROLLED)

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @Wilson2:

    I disagree. In the rulebook it specifically says that China CANNOT control Kwangtung. Not that China can’t get it most of the time. It says CANNOT. (capitalization added for emphasis)  😛

    Dost thou know with whom thou art disagreeing?  :lol:

    Krieg is the rulebook.  Now you have a point that the rulebook appears a bit ambiguous there.  It’s only like the 50th time that’s happened in an A&A rulebook.  (See heavy bombers - AA50 rulebook)  We ask Krieg to clear up the ambiguities.  Krieg is the rulebook.

    So, apparently the “unless” part is incomplete.  It says the IPC’s don’t go to the UK when India is under Axis control.  It is therefore ambiguous as to whether the IPC’s are collected by no one, or by China.  This is precisely why BadSpeller had the question and posted it.  Krieg cleared up the ambiguity.  Nothing in the rulebook that says unambiguously that China never collects income from these 2 territories.

    And now you know why we have a FAQ thread.  Ambiguities abound in these rulebooks, unfortunately.  Hard to anticipate every possible scenario when writing them, I’m sure.


  • Does an island count as a movement apace for a airplane if it is moving completely through the sea zone?

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @basebalp21:

    Does an island count as a movement apace for a airplane if it is moving completely through the sea zone?

    You only count an island in movement when you are taking off from that island and entering the sea zone surrounding the island, or when you are landing on an island (in which case the movement from the surrounding sea zone to the island counts as one space).

    So if you are asking about flying through a sea zone with an island, without stopping, then no, the island has no effect on your air movement (does not count).


  • Thanks

  • Official Q&A

    An island also counts as a space if the planes are attacking it.


  • Can China place newly purchased units in a territory it captured this turn?
    Can new Chinese artillery units be placed anywhere or are they limited to territories containing the Burma Road? (Yunnan and Szechwan)

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Krieghund has asked me to sub in for him while he’s gone this week.

    @123jimbly:

    Can China place newly purchased units in a territory it captured this turn?Yes.

    Can new Chinese artillery units be placed anywhere or are they limited to territories containing the Burma Road? (Yunnan and Szechwan)

    Any territory controlled by China at the end of the turn - same as infantry.

  • '10

    @gamerman01:

    Krieghund has asked me to sub in for him while he’s gone this week.

    Those are some big shoes to fill. I know you’ll be up to the task. 🙂

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

46
Online

16.4k
Users

38.2k
Topics

1.6m
Posts