my first question is: when exactly does scrambling happen? As far as I understand it, the choice to scramble and where to scramble occurs after all combat moves have taken place. Basically scrambling happens in between combat move and combat rolling.
so according to the rule book, strategic bombing happens before all other combat
lets say i combat move to strat bomb an air base on in island, and also combat move some ships to the the sz around the island for an amphibious assault. the defender decides to scramble his fighters to the sz.
i bomb the air base dealing 6 damage
does this mean the scrambling no longer works? and his fighters can not scramble to that sz anymore?
i would assume no, the fighters have already scrambled… but i want to make sure
scrambling says you can scramble to defend in a sz where there is a an attack taking place.
this means you can scramble to a SZ where you would help defend some friendly allied naval units from the enemy
this means you could scramble to a sz to defend against some transports that would be conducting an amphibious assault (even tho there are no friendly units in the sz)
this means you can NOT scramble to a sz where the enemy is just moving into the sz, no naval battles or amphibious battles…