• Well, I have been playing Classic A&A for nearly 20 years.  Now I get to learn a new version.  I just received the new Avalon Hill version (revised) as a Christmas Gift.  Get to learn the new version with my wife :-)

OK, for those who play both, should I basically forget my old strategies for Classic (since there are several new pieces and lots of new territories and some “blocked” areas, or do most of the old strats just need tweeked a bit?

And what are going to be the toughest things for me to get used to in the new version compared to Classic?

• Here’s a couple of helpful links:

http://dicey.net/revised/index.php?sid=6958f87ef38160f8b2a8d574ce308701

This contains the most recent official rules revisions to A&A revised. Some of the wording in the box rules allows for ridiculous strategies that make the game lame to play.

http://www.morrisongames.com/

This guy wrote a bunch of articles talking about what has changed in the revised version and such; it even has videos of him lecturing on it o_O  I would completely disregard his writings/talk on heavy bombers since the rules revisions has diminished their abusiveness, but everything else he talks about is extremely solid.

Just my own few quick opinions:

Many old strategies need to be tweaked to work now. For instance, Karelia no longer contains a complex and the whole german/russian front is cut up a lot more. Also, you can no longer dump troops into western europe in one turn from the US because of the sea zone changes. Also, Germany is in a strong position to contest Africa if he does so quickly. But still the basics of the game remain basically the same: infantry are the foundation of land battles, techs generally aren’t worth the risk, Russia is playing defense, etc. The addition of artillery and upgrade of tanks gives you some leeway to purchase offensive units whereas before it was always infantry and nothing else.